We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem in Montreal”
Review of Hotel Kutuma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Kutuma
Ranked #42 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I found Kutuma by pure chance- it was a popular weekend in Montreal and this was one of the few hotels available that fit the bill. Driving up to the hotel it is completely unassuming, even the check in is simple, however, once you enter the rooms it's like a completely different place. The rooms are spacious, have a small living room, kitchenette, comfortable bed and nice bathroom with tub. Other than the rooms being great and the location being super accessible what sets this place a part is the service. The staff there are extremely accommodating going over and above to ensure guests have a great experience.

The location is perfect, it is very central however not in the usual touristy spot which means it's not noisy. It's up the street from the most fantastic Boulanger which is great for a quick croissant and pain au chocolat to start the day of right.

I would absolutely recommend this boutique hotel for anyone wanting something unique and special.

Room Tip: This hotel does not have an elevator, if you're not physically fit ask to be put near the ground...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amelie-Mellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Kutuma
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2012

I stayed at this hotel based on the reviews of TripAdvisor. This hotel was not bad, far from it, however it also wasn't an amazing hotel either. I stayed in one of their suites with the full kitchen and living room. Bed was comfortable (soft mattress), with a lot of pillows.

It had a very good location being on St. Denis, however it was a couple of blocks away from where a lot of things happen. In the summer, this isn't an issue, in the Montreal winter, you will probably be taking a cab.

Breakfast started at 8am, but as I had to leave before 8am, they were gracious enough to provide me with continental breakfast the night before.

The shower/jacuzzi that they had was nice to look at, but actually left water all over the place.

Valet service was fast and they all the staff were friendly.

The place wasn't dusty per se, but it wasn't the cleanest suite I've stayed in.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toronto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Katuma made our one night trip to Montreal so enjoyable! We booked a delux room with a jacuzi tub and when we got there and saw the room, we were so impressed. The room (rm 301) was spacious, beautifully decorated and had a great view of the populuar St. Denis street below. The service was great too! I forgot my boots in the car and the staff was quick to run out to my car and grab them for me! We started with dinner at the attached Blue Nile restuarant which was delicious. They were even so nice to comp us dessert! Then they gave us excellent recommendations for late night drinks and dancing! Overall this hotel was amazing and we would stay there again!

Room Tip: Room 301 or 401 are very nice but you will pay more.....worth it!!!
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shinaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

My wife and I just returned from a weekend in Montreal. We stayed at the Hotel Kutuma, on Rue St. Denis. It is a warm and beautiful boutique hotel. The room was much bigger than a normal hotel room and the service was warm and helpful. It is quieter and not in the middle of the tourist noise. We hope to be back there soon.

Room Tip: rooms 201/301 & 401 are the biggest, and feel like an apartment
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessie Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

My fiancee and I just got back from a three day trip in Montreal, and had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Kutuma. It's a small, boutique style hotel, but you wouldn't know that by looking at the rooms. They are enormous and have every amenity you could think of. Between the gigantic bathtub, the fully stocked kitchen (microwave, fridge, stove, pots, pans, utensils, etc.) dining nook, and comfy bed, I barely wanted to leave the room at all. It was wonderful waking up and being able to make delicious espresso in the Keruig style espresso machine in the room. Everything we needed was available to us. We forgot toothpaste, but were thrilled to find individually wrapped toothbrushes and toothpastes waiting for us in the bathroom. And enjoying a bottle of wine was easy with a wine opener and set of wine glasses right there in the room. There was even a lovely little balcony, although it was a bit too cold too enjoy this time of year. For a hundred dollars a night, I can't believe how luxurious the room was. I kept telling my fiance, why would anyone want to stay anywhere else?

The hotel is situated on a street full of shops and restaurants, and very close to the metro, so getting around is a breeze and there is plenty to explore. After walking around all day it was a wonderful place to come back to and relax. We didn't get a chance to eat at the restaurant attached to the hotel, but it seemed like a nice place. The valet parking was 15 dollars a day which I thought was pretty reasonable, and the staff was very friendly.

If you're ever in Montreal I couldn't recommend this place more!

Room Tip: The hotel is four floors, with no elevator, but there are no rooms on the first floor. If you have t...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank filmgirl325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We recently flew to Montreal for a long weekend to celebrate our anniversary and to visit our daughter, a student at McGill. The staff at the hotel were fabulous, very courteous and helpful. The hotel is conveniently located near the metro and bus stops, but is also located in a neighborhood perfect for exploring on foot.
Rooms are spacious, comfortable beds. The restaurant next to the hotel offered delicious food.
We would recommend Hotel Kutuma to anyone traveling to Montreal!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are much quieter. No elevator but staff bring your bags up for you.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

We loved the location,the rooms and the food. It is way way better than any of the regular big hotels / chains - which cost approximately the same or more.
The location is very good for tourists. We especially liked the cafes nearby.
Very good service and there is valet parking facility. But please note that there is no elevator.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shobana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel de l'ITHQ
Hotel de l'ITHQ
#23 of 165 in Montreal
471 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#13 of 165 in Montreal
294 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Le Relais Lyonnais
Le Relais Lyonnais
#37 of 165 in Montreal
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Parc Suites Hotel
Parc Suites Hotel
#18 of 165 in Montreal
551 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel 10
Hotel 10
#46 of 165 in Montreal
650 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
#50 of 165 in Montreal
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kutuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kutuma

Address: 3708 St. Denis Street, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3L7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: £94 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kutuma 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kutuma classified as 4 stars Boutique Hotel, located in the heart of Montreal on St. Denis Street around a historical area of about 15 blocks or so filled with boutiques, cafes, restaurants and bars. Easy walking access to festival sites, Old Montreal, downtown and Mont Royal Park. Ideal Hotel for romantic getaways for the perfect wedding honeymoon, for long and short term. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kutuma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing