We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Hotel Kutuma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kutuma
Ranked #56 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Great hotel!!
When we arrived we were told there was a plumbing problem with our room. At first we will a little disappointed. However the hotel staff solved the problem very quickly : we were taken by the hotel owner to another hotel for one night and upgraded to another room for the rest of our stay (3 nights). We were very impressed with the efficiency and friendliness of the staff. The room we had for the rest of our stay was amazing : a huge suite with jacuzzi and bathroom. The room was very clean, superbly furnished and decorated, and well equiped (including the fully equiped kitchen). The hotel is very quiet and relaxing even though the room was on the main street. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant (Le Nil Bleu) and it was delicious! The hotel is also close to the city center (Latin quarter just 5 minutes by foot). We would definitely recommend the hotel and return for a future visit to Montreal!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katiemimie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

Completely redone room had a huge comfortable king size bed, fridge, microwave and lovely sitting area with a couch and coffee table. Bathroom was beautifully appointed with a large bath and shower with overhead and side jets. We were on the 4th floor so wifi was hit and miss. No elevator but hotel staff were happy to carry luggage up and down. Lovely French bakery a few doors south on the same side of the street for coffee and a pastry called Mamie Clafoutis. Delicious eggs benedict breakfast another morning for $5.45 across the street and north of the convent. Make sure to get the valet parking for $17. Parking is impossible to find. We received a $86 ticket for parking on St. Denis between 7 and 9:30 a.m. Ate at the Nil Bleu, the hotel Ethiopian restaurant, one evening. Good vegetarian/vegan fare. Would recommend this hotel for location and well appointed room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CalgaryABCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I booked this hotel as a curiosity on our short stay in Montreal and it worked really well for us. The location between the cool shopping section of St Denis and the Latin quarters made it really convenient for us. The tourist main attractions are 2-3 metro stops away and the nearest station is just 2 block away. City bikes are available one block north and a great bakery is just 50 meters down the street.
The hotel itself looked a bit suspicious from outside, but from inside it was clean and the rooms were quite spacious and quiet (I would ask for a room facing the yard, even though you won't get any views). The only caution is that there is no elevator and the stairs are quite steep.
We had only a quick snack at the restaurant but wished we had had time for a proper meal as the snacks were tasty and the service was good.

Room Tip: St Denis street is quite busy so I would ask a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janne_hki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

our second visit to Hotel Kutuma was exactly as we had hoped, having had an extraordinary experience 5 years ago. Why would we stay anywhere else? Central location on one of the best streets in Montreal, ST. Denis is a hustle and bustle of daytime shopping, eating and walking...an easy walk to Old Montreal or to anywhere via metro, and at night the restaraunts and bars with streetside terraces open up to a lively choice of activities. Inside you are warmly greeted and when shown to your room you will want to dive into the luxurious linens on the king size bed and relax in the air conditioned surroundings while you let the excitement of the day/night sweep away into your dreams. The bathrooms are beautifully appointed with showers that offer massage, bubble bath, candles and deep soaker tubs. The kitchen has everything you need to snack or eat in house including quality dinnerware and a comfortable sitting room. For the price you won't beat it, luxury, location, QUIET, comfort. It is our home while visiting Montreal.

Room Tip: ask for the junior suite, it is everything you will need. No elevator, so stay on lower floors if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spicycabanagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

This trip to Montreal we chose to stay in the Plateau District, which is full of young people, clubs and restaurants. We stayed in a wonderful, boutique hotel, the Ketuma on the Rue St Denís. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable about the city and is always ready to help a guest.
The rooms are newly furnished and attractive with an African motif.
We chose a junior suite with sleeping area, kitchen area, living room and bath. The hotel only has eight rooms and no elevator, so if you have mobility problems this is not the place for you. We arrived by car and the front desk man took out bags up to our room and parked our car. Our car was to us safe and sound at the end of our stay.
The hotel Ketuma is very close to the Sherbrooke Metro Stop. Several doors down the street is a French bakery with fresh croissants, atomic coffee and my favorite sandwich which consists of a quarter of a multi gain baguette with ham and brie cheese.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay for more than a day or so ask for a Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank airbag2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Thanks again to Tripadvisor for helping us find this great place to stay in Montreal! This is a nice, clean, comfortable affordable hotel in a great location. Valet parking was convenient and reasonably priced. There is a lovely park around the corner and lots of nice cafes and shops nearby. We didn't eat at the restaurant downstairs but hear from friends that it is excellent for Northern African food. The room was equiped with a pretty full kitchenette which we didn't use, but appreciated that it was very clean. We will stay here again as we travel to Montreal frequently. I highly recommend the Hotel Kutuma as a very nice practical, but not a luxury, hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TJM0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We were met with a very warm welcome on a very wet and miserable day in Montreal and shown to our amazing room that had been made ready for us. The room was very spacious and could be made warm and cosy or light and bright according to your mood. We enjoyed the African themed decor and recommend the hotel for couples. The restaurant was also very good and we had a very enjoyable dining experience. The hotel is also well located.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Chateau de l'Argoat
Chateau de l'Argoat
#58 of 165 in Montreal
496 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel de l'ITHQ
Hotel de l'ITHQ
#23 of 165 in Montreal
489 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#13 of 165 in Montreal
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Parc Suites Hotel
Parc Suites Hotel
#25 of 165 in Montreal
558 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#59 of 165 in Montreal
572 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#44 of 165 in Montreal
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kutuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kutuma

Address: 3708 St. Denis Street, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3L7, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: £60 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kutuma 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kutuma classified as 4 stars Boutique Hotel, located in the heart of Montreal on St. Denis Street around a historical area of about 15 blocks or so filled with boutiques, cafes, restaurants and bars. Easy walking access to festival sites, Old Montreal, downtown and Mont Royal Park. Ideal Hotel for romantic getaways for the perfect wedding honeymoon, for long and short term. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kutuma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing