We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Small Hotel”
Review of Hotel Kutuma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Kutuma
Ranked #57 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I have been to Montreal about 10 times in the past few years and each time I have stayed at a different hotel--always looking for just the right mix of quality, price and location. This time I stayed at Hotel Kutuma. It was a short distance from where I needed to be and the price was very good I was absolutely amazed. The staff is the best, no doubt. The room was very well-appointed and comfortable and the breakfast that they served was exceptional. The location was perfect---right on St. Denis, a short walk to the heart of the Latin Quarter and just a block away from the very lovely Saint-Louis Square. And I liked getting away from the large chain hotels. This one is family-owned and operated.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DennisKalob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2013

This is one amazing hotel and hands down the best I've ever stayed in. Think boutique hotel, but very reasonably priced, located in the heart of the very chic and sought after Plateau district of Montreal. This small but very plush, stylish five star hotel is complemented by an Ethiopian restaurant, Le Nil Bleu, on the ground floor that serves up some very tasty and healthy dishes. One could walk by this hotel never realizing the amazing experience to be found inside.

I stayed here in late November and was given room 401. There's no elevator and you'll walk up approximately 51 stairs to the top floor but you'll get all the help you need carrying suitcases and luggage. I believe the rooms here are all suites and this was one of their largest, if not the largest. They are tastefully decorated in an African themed motif. The room faces Rue St. Denis (not all rooms do) and yet there was very little noise at all from the busy street down below. Large windows overlook the street from the bedroom and bath.

My room had a well equipped kitchen with a full sized refrigerator, a small table with two chairs, and a door leading to a very small fire escape/terrace in back. Adjacent to the kitchen is a living room with a love seat, table and oversized chair. The bedroom sported a very comfortable king sized bed and quite adequate closet space. The bed was so comfortable and the room so spacious that I never wanted to leave. For those on business there is also a desk and chair as you enter, just inside the door.

This was impressive enough until I saw the bathroom. Wow! Spacious doesn't adequately describe it, since it was easily the size of most NYC hotel rooms (including their bath). The bathroom is set off from the bedroom by sliding glass doors allowing light from the main room to filter in. As you open the doors you face a large two person hot tub adorned with candles and chic bath products. There's a toilet, bidet, two sinks side by side and a large shower. The area is spotlessly clean with added amenities such as terrycloth bathrobes and an assortment of bath products, towels, a vanity mirror for those applying make-up, etc... including two large leather chairs. Amazing!

All rooms are very well lit. There's lighting everywhere, from overhead to lamps. Most are controlled by dimmers that allow you to set the mood anywhere throughout the spacious apartment.

There are also four, count them ... four, thermostats, all individually controlled by the guests. Want the heat in the bathroom set differently from that in the bedroom or kitchen? You control it all. And it works very well.

Of course there is a large flatscreen TV, which I didn't really watch, but which I tuned to the local music stations, including a terrific jazz channel.

All the staff here, without exception, are courteous, polite, cheerful and very helpful. The hotel provides valet service for far less than what I paid to hotels in the Old Port and it, too, was very efficient. Just call ten minutes in advance and they'll have your car.

The hotel is conveniently located. There are many restaurants, shops and boutiques nearby. It's just a few blocks from the Metro and around the corner is a lovely park. Strolling this neighborhood is like a stroll through Paris. You can't go wrong.

I would definitely stay here again and I highly recommend Hotel Kotuma to anyone staying in Montreal.

Room Tip: Room 401 is amazing! Book it if you can. Make reservations in advance at the restaurant below if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Craig O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Beautiful room, great service, comfortable amenities, huge bathroom with double jacuzzi tub. However, there is a weird smell in the bathroom, no filter for the coffee in the morning, and no elevator..

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Archiv88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This hotel was highly recommende on Trip Advisor and the plaudits are well deserved. It is about a 20 min stroll down into the city and old town and is itself surrounded by cafes and bistros. The room we had was at the back on the first floor and was large and comfortable. The staff were very helpful and to be honest I can't think of anything that wasn't reaaly good. The stairs were no problem (and I was carrying a bad back) so top marks from me...well done Kutuma.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woopin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

It's a small, well-kept property on the plateau. Great location for walking and eating -- be sure to go to the bulle au carré creperie a block away just past Square St Louis! Well-appointed room, great kitchenette and small dining area right in the room. Large and comfortable bathroom, an the ed pillows were amazing! Some sort of deep, formfitting foam. Loved them. The only potential problem could be the lack of an elevator -- not a problem for us but could be for those with limited mobility. The desk clerk happily carried our suitcase up the the 3rd floor.

We come to Montreal at least once or twice a year, and will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSPMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed in the Hotel Kutuma in September 2013 and in 3 different suites. (Returning after visits to Toronto, then Quebec). The top floor suite was very spacious, comfortable and with an attractive African theme. There were high quality fittings, with easy to adjust aircon/heating and lighting. The suites on the lower floors were smaller, but still well appointed.
The staff were welcoming, helpful and friendly. There are good facilities for dining in the rooms but dining in the Ethiopian restaurant was a great experience.
We will certainly try to book again, when next in Montreal. Good location!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have good day light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 768Nica2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The hotel is located in a busy shopping area called the Plateau.
There are only 9 rooms, no elevator.
It is an Ethiopian Hotel with a lot of African taste and a great Ethiopian restaurant on the street level.
The rooms are large and well kept. Great bathrooms, Kitchen with electric burners, fridge and microwave. Our room (403) has a balcony, too.
Valet parking for 17$ a day, no exit fee.
Overall a good experience. I would go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Chateau de l'Argoat
Chateau de l'Argoat
#58 of 165 in Montreal
496 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel de l'ITHQ
Hotel de l'ITHQ
#24 of 165 in Montreal
489 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Parc Suites Hotel
Parc Suites Hotel
#26 of 165 in Montreal
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#13 of 165 in Montreal
321 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#59 of 165 in Montreal
573 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#45 of 165 in Montreal
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kutuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kutuma

Address: 3708 St. Denis Street, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3L7, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: £61 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kutuma 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kutuma classified as 4 stars Boutique Hotel, located in the heart of Montreal on St. Denis Street around a historical area of about 15 blocks or so filled with boutiques, cafes, restaurants and bars. Easy walking access to festival sites, Old Montreal, downtown and Mont Royal Park. Ideal Hotel for romantic getaways for the perfect wedding honeymoon, for long and short term. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kutuma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing