We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”
Review of Hotel Kutuma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Kutuma
Ranked #39 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Upstate NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Nice”
Reviewed 19 March 2009

Very nice place. Super comfy bed, huge bathroom with a rainfall shower in the middle of the ceiling (which I missed on first glance!). Lots of stairs but it was good to work off all the food! The only thing I didn't like was the TV...everytime you changed the channel you had to unlock the volume control and you also had to turn on the satelite function if you stayed on on channel for too long....very irritating after awhile. Some mentioned that this is a B&B...it IS NOT a B&B...fyi. I would definetly stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kml84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    80
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
227
26
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2009

This hotel is a perfect find. I used to live in Montreal and didn't want to stay in the "tourist" area. This hotel is in the best neighbourhood in Montreal, close to a subway station, restaurants, cafes, and shopping. The tourist sites are also close by.
The rooms themselves are amazing. The bathroom gave me great ideas for future renovations! All details are taken care of, including having candles by the bathtub (which would easily fit 2), in case there is time for a relaxing bubble bath. The rooms have a mini-kitchen, too, complete with glassware and fine china! I would have loved to stay longer than one night.
Another poster mentioned a smell in the front entrance. You can smell the aroma of the Ethiopian restaurant, but it isn't unpleasant. And you certainly don't smell anything in the rooms themselves.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gottabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2008

The rooms at this place are very large with huge bathrooms. There was a full kitchen, cable tv and powerful AC. The rooms were decked out in a safari theme with leopard and zebra prints everywhere. My guess is that it carries the theme of the Ethiopian restaurant downstairs. Everything was clean and well kept in and outside the rooms.

In the heart of the Plateau, the location is good in relation to the metro and within easy walking distance of Parc LaFontaine and Mont Royal.

The service was also commendable. We required a very early taxi to make our flight, and there was someone there to help with bags at 4 am. With two flights of stairs to navigate at that hour, the help was much appreciated.

  • Liked — Location and staff
  • Disliked — stairs
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank dvaughn971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2008

Staying at this hotel was an awesome experience. Service was exceptional. The hotel itself is very clean, authentic decor and the staff very accommodating. We needed to use the internet due to unexpected events during our stay in Montreal and staff were understanding and helpful. It was all the little things that made the difference, which you would never experience in a large chain hotel.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again and absolutely recommend this place. It is very conveniently located and within walking distance to all attractions.

Sab and Nicky

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonSab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong Victoria
Level Contributor
211 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2008

We are aussies on an US and Canada trip. Arrived in the evening and were promptly checked in and pleasantly surprised with the delivery of 2 complimentary drinks to our room shortly after receiving our luggage.
Room was spotless and has everything you would need, including real cups wine and beer glasses, 2 burner cooktop, microwave, toaster, coffee perculator hair dryer and iron with board. Free wireless internet which is slow on the top floor but soon sorted it by plugging it in to the ethernet connection conveniently located under the desk.
Free bottled water and laundry service!
Nice soft bed and great pillows! Not the rubberised ones normally found in hotels. Great location, 5 minutes walk to the Metro which will get you anywhere in Montreal.
Tried the Ethiopian restaurant downstairs. Great freindly service, food delicious and enjoyed complimentary desserts. Treated as part of the family. Lots of other restaurants in the area that are also well patronised.
About a $15 including tip trip by taxi from Central Station (Amtrak from New York).
Dont procrastinate, just book it!

  • Liked — Bed & pillow quality, kitchen with m/wave, free internet & laundry, Cable TV, location.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bozz56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2008

Having read the reviews on TripAdvisor we booked two nights at Kutuma and can only say: this is value for money and an unforgettable way to experience Montreal!

We had a spacious room with tiger print sheets, sofa and shower curtain and a straw "hat" on the wardrobe closet. Definitely different from "normal" hotels, but very tasteful and consistently decorated.

Our room had a fully equipped kitchenette (fridge, microwave, coffee machine, hot plates and kettle), a safe, a breakfast table set for two and a cozy bathroom (with a tub for two and candles(!) as well as toothpaste and toothbrushes in case you forgot).

On our second night we had dinner in the (Ethiopian) restaurant on the ground floor and had a pleasant surprise: complementary desert.

The hotel is conveniently located between university and downtown Montreal - both within walking distance - and there are plenty shops and restaurants in the direct neighbourhood.

When we checked out the mineral water in the fridge turned out to be complementary as well. We left in rather rainy weather and once again: we were given an umbrella to keep, "on the house".

These hosts understand what makes a guest feel good, even in bad weather!

  • Liked — hospitality
  • Disliked — can't think of anything
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PGMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2008

The hotel itself is beautiful, a little cute boutique hotel, but it smelled a little funny. The rooms are immaculate; ours came equipped with a little cute kitchen and bathroom. The décor is modern and at the same time a little ethnic. We stayed one night because our chosen hotel was full that day.

Took a red eye out of SF and therefore got to Montreal very early in the morning. We knew we couldn't check in yet, the front desk person was nice enough to allow us the use of the restaurant bathroom to change and freshen up a bit before we hit the sights and they took care of our luggage too.

The Ethiopian restaurant on site was supposed to be the best in town but with all the French food to be had we didn't get to try it. And maybe that's way the hallways and stairways leading up to the rooms’ kind of smell. But the room was gorgeous and definitely didn't smell.

  • Liked — The location is definitely convenient - le metro is a block away
  • Disliked — stairs, too many stairs leading up to the room (it's a townhouse) and a kinda smells
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WonderLustrUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel de l'ITHQ
Hotel de l'ITHQ
#31 of 164 in Montreal
445 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#11 of 164 in Montreal
243 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
#53 of 164 in Montreal
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Parc Suites Hotel
Parc Suites Hotel
#15 of 164 in Montreal
535 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Le Relais Lyonnais
Le Relais Lyonnais
#47 of 164 in Montreal
383 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#41 of 164 in Montreal
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kutuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kutuma

Property: Hotel Kutuma
Address: 3708 St. Denis Street, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3L7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kutuma 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kutuma classified as 4 stars Boutique Hotel, located in the heart of Montreal on St. Denis Street around a historical area of about 15 blocks or so filled with boutiques, cafes, restaurants and bars. Easy walking access to festival sites, Old Montreal, downtown and Mont Royal Park. Ideal Hotel for romantic getaways for the perfect wedding honeymoon, for long and short term. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kutuma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing