We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a rip off”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Montreal Espace Confort
Ranked #58 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Montreal
Reviewed 3 October 2011

This place is part hotel and part hostel so I think the reviews are combining the two making the score better. The hostel has private rooms with shared baths, however the place is extremely noisy from both the outside street noise all night long to the inside where the room doors have such big gaps you can hear every noise in the hall and bathrooms (water running, doors slamming). The rooms are dirty and so are the bathrooms (shower stall leaks so floor is always wet). I travel a lot staying in all types of hotels and apartment rentals and this is by far the worst I have experienced. Save your money and more importantly your vacation by staying somewhere else and getting a good nights sleep. I wont even get into the bad attitude of the lady at the front desk or the poor continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresita3232, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Montreal Espace Confort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Hello John, we are sorry about your experience at our Hotel. We are paying extra attention to make sure the rooms are properly cleaned for our guests. We have checked the bathrooms and fixed any details that needed to be repaired. We have also made considerable improvements to our breakfast setup. As per the front desk staff, we have a very nice and friendly girl now and a young man on weekends that have received no complaints so far. Thanks for taking the time to inform us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2011

Overall, this hostel was very nice. I think it's split up into part hostel part hotel. We stayed in the hostel section where there was a shared bathroom between 3 rooms. It was really nice for a hostel. The beds were fairly comfortable and the place was in an awesome location with lots of bars and restaurants close by. We stayed for one night for a concert and the staff was super friendly. The only downfall to the place was the shared bathroom. It would have been nice if there were stalls instead of a single bathroom, and single shower. We were constantly waiting our turn to use the bathroom because people were taking showers or getting ready to go out. A couple times I ended up using the bathroom on the floor below. The shower also seemed to leak, as the floors were constantly wet, or had puddles all over the place from people using it. Other than that I enjoyed our stay. There was a washer and dryer in the bathroom, if that's something you're looking for, and the continental breakfast looked nice, though we left late and didn't get a chance to take advantage of it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank major1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 November 2011

Thank you, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

For $85 per night, my husband and I stayed for five nights in a roomy room with one queen-size bed; the private bathroom with shower included generous supplies of shampoo, conditioner, and body wash; clean towels, two large and one medium, were provided daily. Though not at all luxurious, the room and bath were spotlessly clean; the shower though compact worked beautifully; the bed was firm and quite comfortable; the pillows (three) were fine. The room contained an extra blanket, a refrigerator, a microwave, a hot water heater for coffee or tea, a toaster, plates, cups, wine glasses, silverware for two, a TV, and plenty of closet and drawer space. Despite being right on a main street in the area most frequented by students, with restaurants, cafes, and night spots open until late, the room was quiet and the drapes kept all light out if you liked. Breakfast (included) was cereal, milk, orange juice, a fresh croissant, unlimited butter, jam, and coffee. The staff were wonderful -- Eglantine, Jason, Hector were all extremely helpful and friendly, offering free detailed maps of the city, directions to sights, and any information you might need. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 201, described in detail above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melopurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresita3232, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Montreal Espace Confort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Hi Melopurple! Thanks for your review, we look forward to lodge you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Stayed for 2 nights with 2 adults, 10 year old daughter and large dog. All of the staff were super friendly and was told by more than one to, "treat this like your home."

Traveling with a dog is not always easy - Could leave the dog in the room for a short time (while we went up to the common area to eat) and took herwith us during non-eating hours when we wanted to connect to wifi and hang out in the common area.

Room was small, on the bottom level ( think it used to be doctor's office), but very clean. Bed was vey firm (good for us), and my daughter had a mattress to put down - also comfy!

Tons of restaurants nearby and lots of action in the evening if you are able to join in (not so easy with a dog and a child!). About a 15 min. Walk to Vieux Montreal.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Galmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 November 2011

Thank you, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

I really disagree with those reviewers that treat this hostel as a hotel. There is a big difference and not just an "s". I booked through Priceline, where it's shown as a 2 star hotel and offers some things that are not even close to be given. They offer wifi in the whole property, but they only have it in the lobby. They have only 2 tiny rooms with private bathroom and one bed each (we were 2 adults and 2 children with a booking of a room with 2 beds which they are offered in the website when you book but they can't give since they simply don't have them) and when they showed us the room, it disgusted me and my wife with an old disinfection liquid smell. They don't disclose that in order to get to the rooms you need to go with your luggage upstairs or downstairs (they sent me 2 levels undergound) you don't have an elevator (people with problems to carry heavy luggage, like me, should be informed of that since it's a very important thing to have in mind by the time you decide to make a reservation in that hostel, disguised as hotel). They offer parking at another location for $12 a day which happens to be a public library's parking, 4 blocks away which has nothing to do with the hostel, not an agreement or something like that and it's subject to availability so if they are full you're screwed, and the $12 fee is for each time you park there, not per day (go out 3 times, you have to pay $12 each time you come back).
I think websites like Priceline should be aware of this so they don't offer these hostels as hotels and they should push the hostel owners to clarify everything so the passenger knows in advance what he's going to get. Now, if you accept these conditions (no elevator, no wifi, no parking, no bathroom) you should not complain, but when you're not warned in advance about these conditions, you should have the chance to decide not to go there.

Room Tip: Don't go unless you are looking for a hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank el_saltenio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresita3232, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Montreal Espace Confort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Hello Alvaro, thanks for your review, it will help us improve our service. We have a Hotel and a Hostel, they are located right next to each other. Wifi Internet is available in ALL floors now, guaranteed, - Just stop by the front desk so you can get the password for your floor. We apologize for the smell from the cleaning product, we have changed to a less strong brand. As per the size of the rooms, they are in compliance with the measurements required to be qualified as Hotel bedrooms, but again, we apologize it was not a size that would satisfy you. We look forward to build bigger rooms in the future, we will let you know when this happens. We do not have an elevator yet and we are sorry for that, we will install one in the future as well. As per the Parking issue, we will remove that offering from our description and clarify to our future guests the parking option that they have. As per the conditions you listed, Wifi was available before, just not in every room. Now it is. Bathrooms have always been in every room, except for Guests staying in our Hostel, which have to share the bathroom with 2 other rooms. We have a Hotel and a Hostel located right next to each other as mentioned before. We appreciate your input as it has helped us understand how a guest might perceive our Hotel and Hostel in the Internet and the impact on the same guest when he/she shows up at our Lobby. Thank you for taking the time to write this review, without it, we couldn't have noticed the faults you mentioned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We loved our stay here. It was right in the middle of all the action, so was easy to walk everywhere. Was a decent room that provided everything we needed and was clean. Breakfast was in a nice little lounge, very European spread of breads and fruit and cereal. Actually everything reminded me of Euro guesthouses. What made this stay the best though was the staff. Bertrand is amazing, so friendly and helpful and he saved us from a potentially disastrous situation from booking through priceline (they didn't send through our reservation and it was after hours so had Bert not seen us, we'd be out of a room). The other guys working the front desk were also very friendly. If you want the best value in Montreal with exceptional service, look no further. Also parking at the library on Rue Berri was the best value at $12 a day, and is right around the corner.

Room Tip: Careful if going through priceline, you might call the hotel itself to confirm your reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tstarseminar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 November 2011

Thank you, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We're pleased we found this hotel - great value - it's modern and clean with everything for a comfortable stay. The rooms we've stayed in are perfect (not as big as the major chains but big enough) with mini-kitchen (microwave / fridge) and ensuite. The beds are a bit hard, but fine - the extra bed we've been provided during our stays has been an airbed. It's a simple formula but very effective. That sums up the breakfast too: fresh, continental style and good coffee! The staff are incredibly pleasant and helpful - there are only a few of them and they really do make an effort to provide a good service. The hotel's located a few minutes from Berri-Uqam metro and the main bus station. Rue St Denis is lively with a variety of good and affordable restaurants, and it's about a 30 minute walk from the centre of town.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller_456010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 November 2011

Thank you, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#52 of 165 in Montreal
870 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Roberval
Le Roberval
#81 of 165 in Montreal
545 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
#55 of 165 in Montreal
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Y Montreal
Hotel Y Montreal
#68 of 165 in Montreal
197 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#13 of 165 in Montreal
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montreal Espace Confort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montreal Espace Confort

Address: 2050 St-Denis, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3K7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Montreal
Price Range: £40 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Montreal Espace Confort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Montreal's Quartier Latin, surrounded by the UQAM and lower Saint-Denis Street, the area is known for its theatres, artistic atmosphere, cafés, multicultural bars and boutiques. It owes its name as reference to the Quartier Latin in Paris. The National Film Board of Canada's CinéRobotheque facility is based 2 streets away, next to the Cinémathèque québécoise. The Grande Bibliothèque du Québec joined these institutions in 2005. This area falls within the boundaries of the new Quartier des Spectacles entertainment district, now being developed. The revitalization of the Rue Ontario between Rue Saint-Denis and Boulevard Saint-Laurent has been boasted by Montréalers as the New Montréal (Nouveau Montréal). This area, surrounded by the Gay Village, the Plateau, and Quartier des Spectacles, has been a focal point for attracting young professionals, artists and emerging musicians.Auberge - Hotel Montreal Espace Confort provides guests with excellent customer service. Our friendly informality and flexibility, invites families, couples or singles feel equally at home. We meet everyone's needs from cozy bed and breakfasts to those located in the heart of the city life. Our simple but modern style and design, our quiet environment which can reach all of your needs, our convenient location for business travel and the proximity to downtown Montreal, will allow you to easily reach your destination for business, shopping and other pleasures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Montreal Espace Confort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Espace Confort Hotel Montreal
Espace Confort Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing