We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Montreal Espace Confort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$252
US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$317
US$295
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$287
US$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$190
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$150
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$210
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$232
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Le Crystal(Montreal)
US$228
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$343
US$286
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$239
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveller rating
52
87
41
20
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
87
41
20
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslatin quarterbus stationno air conditioningdecent breakfastmurphy bedcoffee makersmall hotelthe location is perfectfestivalnightlifecad
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 228 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We stayed in this hostel for 5 nights in total (two nights in between we went to Québec). A very important remark to make and something that everyone should be aware of before booking is that the 'auberge' rooms are hostel quality and have nothing to do with the three star hotel with which it is associated on booking.com.
We stayed in three different rooms. The first room was rather clean and comfortable. The bathroom in the hallway was not and lacked amenities. One day we came back and they had turned the heating up to 90 degrees so our room had turned into a sauna. When we went to complain about this the receptionist told us, well some like it hot and some don't. They did show us how to change the temperature though.
Our second stay of two nights was a worse experience. Our room was full of ants and when we went to complain about this the woman at the front desk didn't apologize and was very difficult about changing rooms. We changed to another room that was really dirty (full of hair and dust). The room was much smaller and when we asked to refund us the difference in price between these two rooms the woman said the difference was only four dollars... Again no apology or understanding for the situation.
The prices are low so if you're really on a tight budget and don't expect too much comfort maybe this might be okay for you, but I can't imagine going there in winter (cold) or summer (heat) and feel comfortable.
The breakfast is okay, but there's no fruit or yoghurt. Just croissants, toast and cereals.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Annelies W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 November 2011

Greetings,

Our priority is customer service we are always open to discuss whatever discomfort you may feel during your stay and make our best for you to enjoy the time spent with us. If you are coming back in the city feel free to book with us and we will offer you a discount and make proper arrangements.

Yours truly,

-The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I (and friend) stayed at Espace Confort for 6 nights (Oct. 11) while attending a course at McGill. The best aspect of the stay were the friendly, helpful staff and the comfortable beds. We were moved more than once due to the juggling of other bookings, etc. The first room was quite cramped and run down (hostel side). However, the next room we were in was nice and spacious (hostel side). Sharing a bathroom wasn't too bad as there are only 3 rooms that share. Ended with one night in hotel side which was newer, but maybe not really worth the higher cost unless you really want your own bathroom. Overall the place was clean and well run. The location was great as it was close to the subway (2 blocks) and the main bus station (3 blocks). St. Denis street was great as there were dozens of restaurants within a couple of blocks. St. Denis street was a bit noisy and probably would be more so in the summer. I wouldn't recommend this as a family hotel but for adults is fine.

Room Tip: Street side rooms can be noisy.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reviewmyview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 November 2011

Thank you, glad you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We stayed for two nights at the Espace Confort in Montreal. The hotel is located in the Quartier Latin which is quite vivid and interesting. When we entered our room the first time we felt like entering a cave. Windows were darkened with a jalousie and curtains and after realising that there are windows we felt much better. On the downside, when opening the jalousie and curtains you are directly vis-a-vis another wall.
Another thing bothering us was the smell of citrus when entering the room, which reminded us of a large toilet.
All that said, the rooms were clean, the bed was fine and the nights quite quiet despite the vivid neighborhood.
Breakfast however was quite a joke, especially the coffee.
Price is okay for Montreal, staff was nice and friendly and the hotel clean enough.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chambelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresita3232, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Montreal Espace Confort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Hello Chambelle, thanks for your review. We have improved what we could from it and the smell of Citrus from the cleaning product is now gone. As per the coffee, we acquired a professional machine that grinds the coffee bean in front of you, so far everyone loves it. We also have croissants, fruit jam, bread, orange juice, butter, milk and a variety of cereals. Merci Beaucoup!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

This place is part hotel and part hostel so I think the reviews are combining the two making the score better. The hostel has private rooms with shared baths, however the place is extremely noisy from both the outside street noise all night long to the inside where the room doors have such big gaps you can hear every noise in the hall and bathrooms (water running, doors slamming). The rooms are dirty and so are the bathrooms (shower stall leaks so floor is always wet). I travel a lot staying in all types of hotels and apartment rentals and this is by far the worst I have experienced. Save your money and more importantly your vacation by staying somewhere else and getting a good nights sleep. I wont even get into the bad attitude of the lady at the front desk or the poor continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresita3232, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Montreal Espace Confort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Hello John, we are sorry about your experience at our Hotel. We are paying extra attention to make sure the rooms are properly cleaned for our guests. We have checked the bathrooms and fixed any details that needed to be repaired. We have also made considerable improvements to our breakfast setup. As per the front desk staff, we have a very nice and friendly girl now and a young man on weekends that have received no complaints so far. Thanks for taking the time to inform us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Overall, this hostel was very nice. I think it's split up into part hostel part hotel. We stayed in the hostel section where there was a shared bathroom between 3 rooms. It was really nice for a hostel. The beds were fairly comfortable and the place was in an awesome location with lots of bars and restaurants close by. We stayed for one night for a concert and the staff was super friendly. The only downfall to the place was the shared bathroom. It would have been nice if there were stalls instead of a single bathroom, and single shower. We were constantly waiting our turn to use the bathroom because people were taking showers or getting ready to go out. A couple times I ended up using the bathroom on the floor below. The shower also seemed to leak, as the floors were constantly wet, or had puddles all over the place from people using it. Other than that I enjoyed our stay. There was a washer and dryer in the bathroom, if that's something you're looking for, and the continental breakfast looked nice, though we left late and didn't get a chance to take advantage of it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank major1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 November 2011

Thank you, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews