We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Montreal Espace Confort
Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Okay for a short stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2010

Stayed here with one friend for one night while in Montreal. It was within walking distance of Vieux Port and the Jazz Festival. You can park in front of the hotel for 15 minutes and have your luggage stored for the afternoon until check-in. (I wish we had known this earlier). Nearby parking garage had reasonable rates and felt safe enough for one day.

Room 308 was quiet and had one window facing into the alley. We were surprised to find the air conditioner and refrigerator worked really well. Reception was happy to lend us a corkscrew and some wine glasses. Bed and futon were adequate. Not a luxury, by any means, but it was suitable for a night.

If I had one complaint it would be the bathroom we shared with the other guests. When we arrived, reception let us in to use the facilities, but it had no toilet paper. Later, we found out two rolls were provided in each room (do you bring it with you each time??) Shower leaked and nobody cleaned it up the mess. Bathroom had no lock, either.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbyron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresita3232, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Montreal Espace Confort, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you for your review, it will help us improve our service. Room 308 is in our Hostel where bathrooms are shared by 2 Rooms. Our Hotel rooms have private bathrooms. The door has a new lock now, unfortunately it was broken during your stay, apologies for that. We are sorry about the leaking and the water mess, we have fixed the leaking and increased the inspection rounds by 2. Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    81
    38
    15
    22
See reviews for
22
91
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2010

This is a simple, straightforward small hotel with a great staff, clean/simple rooms and decent amenities. The croissants for breakfast are superb. It is located in a great area and has access to all areas of the city from the easy Metro system 2 blocks away. I will stay here again and recommend it to anyone. I was in the mini-Gold room so the single rooms are probably smaller, but it was really a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jkamienski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresita3232, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Montreal Espace Confort, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2010

Located right in the heart of Quartier Latin, this hotel is situated amongst the most hipster cafes, restaurants, bars, and shops. On the strip of St. Denis, on which this cozy and clean hotel boasts its boutique charms, you will find tons of things to look at, to salivate over, and to admire. Strolling up and down this street was the best treat of our visit to Montreal.

The staff were very friendly, charming, and approachable. Definitely will come back again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenbackpack33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresita3232, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Montreal Espace Confort, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you for your review, we loved your description.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2010

First of all, it's truly difficult to fault a place that will let you check in at 6:30am. Truly. I had just come off an overnight bus trip from New York City and was desperate to get an hour's rest before meeting a friend in town. The fact that the fellow who got up especially to check me in was a little grumpy was completely understandable, considering that I wouldn't get smartly dressed up for anyone before midday, let alone at 6:30am. Nonetheless, he was quite efficient in explaining how to get around the hotel and within minutes, I was fast asleep in a remarkably great room.

The Hotel Montreal Espace Confort is an incredible bargain. Not only was my room new, impeccably clean and inviting, but the showers are hot and there's still lots of room for ski gear and bags. Plus, they offer complimentary breakfast (which I didn't get the chance to try), all for around $50 CAD a night for a private 'Gold' room if purchased direct from their website. It's also a short walk from the metro and bus terminal to boot.

I have to admit that I was initially skeptical, given some of the negative reviews on this site. Some of the locals seemed a bit skeptical too when I mentioned that I was staying on Rue Saint-Denis, as apparently the Latin Quarter is the 'red light' or 'sketchy' part of town. Whatever. Montreal's red lights are nowhere as bright as those in New York's, or even Sydney's districts - for one thing, there wasn't a hustler to be seen on the strip, just really good restaurants, clothing stores and a very convenient convenience store near the metro. If that's sketchy, then bind me in cotton wool.

Yes, there are American kids on Spring break and the odd homeless character wandering around on the street, but at no point did I feel edgy or threatened. This is Canada, after all. Back inside the room, it was even more peaceful, in fact, silent - I had a view from my window of the suburb and lots of natural light to wake me in the morning. Despite the rooms being a little on the plain, business side of things, it was more than adequate when on vacation and are spending as little time as possible in the room itself. Perhaps most importantly, the rooms and the building itself use those magnetic security keys to get in and out, meaning that it was very, very safe.

Note that in some parts of the hotel, you can access the open WiFi network from a nearby building, which is a little naughty, but convenient. In my room (403), I could funnily enough, consistently get signal from the bathroom, which was great for getting my daily Facebook fix.

Overall, the private 'Gold' rooms are very good value for up to two guests, with clean, well-maintained furnishings, a kitchenette and ample room to drop your ski gear. Being 5mins from the metro and bus terminal and within close proximity to great restaurants plus bars is pretty hard to beat, so don't turn your nose up at Montreal Espace Confort - it's a 'budget' hotel that simply stretches your dollar further.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosanne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresita3232, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Montreal Espace Confort, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Hello Yarrcat, we are thrilled about your awesome experience at our Hotel. You are right about our "red light" district, it's more artistic and friendly than naughty and sketchy. We look forward to have you again among us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2010

My friends and I stayed here in March when we went to Montreal for Spring Break. We only stayed a few days but it was just what we were looking for and much nicer than we expected. Being college students, we weren't looking for something really expensive or fancy. We basically just wanted a place to sleep but with more privacy that a hostel with people we didn't know in the same room. The hostel was very much like a hotel except that we shared a bathroom with a couple in another room-but we never saw them and it wasn't a problem at all. There were two double beds, a TV and a mini fridge and the room size was decent. There is free breakfast and wifi in the lobby/dining area. Altogether, it was a great trip and a great place to stay. The location was the best part. It's right next to so many fun bars and restaurants. If you stay here be on the look out for a great crepe shop and Absinthe bar right down the road. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat! However, if you're set on something really fancy and not really interested in nightlife this might not be the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwengetsglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresita3232, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Montreal Espace Confort, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We now have available Wifi in ALL rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2009

This hotel was fine - we were put in a VERY basic room that, sure was not a 5 star, but we paid about $50 a night! Bargain! It had a comfy bed, clean and had a GREAT breakfast!

Also best part about the hotel has to be the location - right on Rue St Denis - walking distance to restaurants, cafes etc.

Had a great time!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JordanAndJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresita3232, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Montreal Espace Confort, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we'll be more than just "fine" next time, we are working hard to improve for our visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2009

This was somewhat of a last-minute reservation and I made the mistake of not checking on tripadvisor.com first...big mistake! I was expecting a boutique hotel, but was I ever wrong! For the price we paid here, we could have stayed somewhere in Vieux Montreal for just a few dollars more with FAR more appeal.

The website for this hotel/hostel/college dormitory is a bit deceiving in my opinion...you'll notice very few pictures of the rooms there, and there's a reason for this! Upon entering the room, the first thing that struck us was the horrible, stale smell. Next, the tiny beds were barely full-sized and our feet hung over the end. The bathroom was TINY and very dirty in the corners...we were both afraid to walk around in our socks without shoes. Luckily, this was our last night in Montreal before heading back home and so we spent just the few hours we were asleep there.

On the positive side, the staff was very pleasant and the breakfast was nice. Overall, this is fine if you are accustomed to dormitory or hostel-like accomodations, but for someone wishing for someplace with finer appointments, steer clear!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derekmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresita3232, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Montreal Espace Confort, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Hello Derek, we are sorry you had a bad experience at our Hotel. We are very concerned about the cleanliness of our rooms and have improved a lot at inspecting them after housekeeping is done. We are terribly sorry about your last night in our beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#55 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Roberval
Le Roberval
#76 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#73 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
#36 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Samesun Montreal Central
Samesun Montreal Central
#2 of 94 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montreal Espace Confort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montreal Espace Confort

Property: Hotel Montreal Espace Confort
Address: 2050 St-Denis, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3K7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 94 Speciality Lodging in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Montreal Espace Confort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Montreal's Quartier Latin, surrounded by the UQAM and lower Saint-Denis Street, the area is known for its theatres, artistic atmosphere, cafés, multicultural bars and boutiques. It owes its name as reference to the Quartier Latin in Paris. The National Film Board of Canada's CinéRobotheque facility is based 2 streets away, next to the Cinémathèque québécoise. The Grande Bibliothèque du Québec joined these institutions in 2005. This area falls within the boundaries of the new Quartier des Spectacles entertainment district, now being developed. The revitalization of the Rue Ontario between Rue Saint-Denis and Boulevard Saint-Laurent has been boasted by Montréalers as the New Montréal (Nouveau Montréal). This area, surrounded by the Gay Village, the Plateau, and Quartier des Spectacles, has been a focal point for attracting young professionals, artists and emerging musicians.Auberge - Hotel Montreal Espace Confort provides guests with excellent customer service. Our friendly informality and flexibility, invites families, couples or singles feel equally at home. We meet everyone's needs from cozy bed and breakfasts to those located in the heart of the city life. Our simple but modern style and design, our quiet environment which can reach all of your needs, our convenient location for business travel and the proximity to downtown Montreal, will allow you to easily reach your destination for business, shopping and other pleasures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Montreal Espace Confort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Espace Confort Hotel Montreal
Espace Confort Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing