We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Economy geared for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville
Ranked #78 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Ottawa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Economy geared for families”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

If you're looking at this place, then you must be searching for a budget, roomy, downtown place to stay. The place looks like an apartment converted into hotel rooms. Each room we had sported a kitchen and its own hot-water tank in the closet! We had 4 rooms and 2 of them had something wrong with them (a/c didn't work in one, shower head was broken in another).

The decor is in bad need of updating... it's not the 80's anymore. The rooms are a bit musty, so turn on the a/c asap. The carpet is a bit nasty; it must be original. Bring sandles / flip-flops. Like others have noted, there's no daily cleaning service. So, if you're staying for more than 1 night, save your towels for re-use, or plan to make frequent visits to the front desk. No ice machine anywhere.

Okay, so there is some good to this place besides the price. The suites are very roomy so it's great for families or a group of friends but the regular rooms are not so big. The bed and bathrooms are clean. There's a kitchen! Free internet. And the location is downtown... you can't beat that.

Room Tip: Get rooms on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soccerball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    182
    85
    27
    24
See reviews for
100
94
39
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Havre St. Pierre, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Very well located. We had a top floor suite, with one bedroom. Sofa bed was not comfortable at all for two, but we got a rollaway for one of the kids.

Staff goes all the way to meet guests requests.

Free laudry service and internet is a great plus for us!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chaton2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

Convenient location with a nice, friendly, helpful staff (most of the time). But the facility needs to be updated. Room was dark, drab. Air conditioner was within arms-length of bed and blew directly on bed, which was horrible. Felt like I was staying in a hotel circa 1999.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rossco814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

Only stayed for 2 nights. There were 3 of us in the suite and there was lots of room. The livingroom had a pullout couch. The kitchen was well stocked with all the utensils and dishes that were needed. The suite was very clean. Walking distance to Old Montreal, St. Catherine's St., Chinatown, St. Laurent st. bars were also closeby. Would recommend this hotel. Only downside is that parking is not included. $20/day is expensive.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
737 reviews
204 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

We arrived at the hotel at about midday from the coach station (10 minutes walking) and the room was already ready.
Wat the difference between the hotel we had in Quebec and this one: the room was huge!
The kitchen were fully equipped, there was some confortable armchair and bed qute big too.
The service offered some other facilities: laundry, free rental of dvd and a business room with two PC connected to internet. We took advantage just of using the internet even thogh the connexion was extremely slow.
The location is not bad and good to reach a lot of things on foot. The underground is not too far (5-10 minutes walking).
Another advantage we found is that the hotel has some vending machines and moeover there is a shop "Couche Tard" just at 3-5 minutes walking.
So the stay was really nice. I've paid this hotel with points + dollars (an option available with Priority Club).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosario_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

Stayed at Candlewood Suites Montreal back in August for 8 nights. Found a great rate for $99+ tax a night. Worked out to be around $117 a night inclusive of taxes.
I booked a One bedroom apartment as it was the same price as a Studio.
I arrived very late on the Saturday night, around 11.30pm. The doors were locked, but the great guy behind the desk unlocked the doors with a remote. There was a Securtiy guard onsite, but he just stood there and watched me struggle through the double set of doors.
Daniel checked me in and was very nice. Advised me where everything was etc and welcomed me to Montreal and the Hotel.
I was given Room 1019 and walked in and the room looked as per the website. First thing I did was put the air on. The air-conditioner was loud, but I'm used to them in North America, it didn't bother me.
Had a quick look around, and the kitchen was a full kitchen except for a few things...that will come later.
Bathroom was adequate and clean. No complaints at all.
The bedroom was a decent size with a second TV in there. the bed was a little firm for my liking, but I soon adapted to it. Now I'm one that likes to be cool when I'm asleep. When I walked in, the room was stuffy, but unlike the pictures on the website, there was no air-con in the bedroom. I opened the window, which let in the noise off Rene-Levesque Boulevard.
I never slept under the covers at all because I found it too warm.
I knew the rooms were only serviced once a week, but they had my apartment to be serviced the day before I was meant to leave. Had it changed to Wednesday, but they didn't turn up till Thursday to clean the room.
By the time Thursday came around, the 3 bins in the apartment were full to overflowing. I also managed to use my two sachets for the dishwasher within 3 days and had to ask the front desk for another sachet.
Being Australian, I'm not used to the coffee peculators used in Hotel Rooms in North America. I even managed to stuff that up, and the poor housekeeping lady couldn't even put it back together.
The Laundry was good as it was free to use both the washing machines and dryers. Even though you had to pay for the powder, it was still cheap.
I found the shop downstairs to be reasonably priced, considering there was a supermarket 2 blocks down the road. It worked on an Honesty system, and was open 24/7.
Back to the kitchen: I went to the Supermarket a few blocks down the road, and got a Frozen pizza to eat. Looked around for a tray. No trays to be seen. I rang the front desk. You'll need to come downstairs to the Mart and buy one for $1.75!! It was rectangular, but it had to do.
Location was good. Was a 10-15 minute walk to Old Montreal and a 5 mins walk to the nearest Metro station.
It was a very busy week in Montreal with the Tennis, Gay Pride week and Italian week, so value for money was fantastic.
All in all, it was a good stay. I'd stay again if the price was right, but I can't see myself going back to Montreal anytime soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jazzamcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

This was my first Candlewood Suites stay and I was disappointed. The term "suites" did not match my experiences with other suites hotels where generally the sleeping area is in an other room (eg. Embassy Suites or Hilton Suites). A one bedroom suite at Candlewood means one room that is larger than the average hotel with a full kitchen. My friends and I booked two 1 bedroom suites on the same floor but when we arrived one room is considerably smaller than the other with no pullout couch and a very tiny kitchenette. We called down to the front desk and was told it was the only way we can be on the same floor. We asked to reduce the rate for the smaller room but they refused but was willing to move half of our party to the floor above us to get the larger room. Needless to say it was a bit of an inconvenience. The rooms were clean but very old. The air condition was very loud when it kicked in. They provided minimal toiletries and there was no daily housekeeping. If you needed fresh towels, you would have to bring your used ones down to the front to exchange for clean ones. The staff were friendly and helpful, fluent in English and French. It is located within walking distance to Chinatown and minutes driving to downtown core.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missus_Bossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
#70 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Zero 1
Hotel Zero 1
#52 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#53 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Chinatown
Holiday Inn Montreal Centre-Ville
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#71 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville

Property: Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville
Address: 191 Rene-Levesque Blvd E, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3Z9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites Extended Stay Apartment Hotel Montreal downtown. The Candlewood Suites Hotel is a member of the IHG family of brands, which includes InterContinental, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, Holiday Inn and Staybridge Suites. The Candlewood Suites Hotel Montreal offers apartment like suites to government, business, relocation, training & extended stay hotel guests requiring long or short term hotel or real estate accommodations. The Candlewood Suites Hotel Montreal is within walking distance to the Old Port of Montreal, Chinatown, Place des Arts, Contemporary Art Museum & St. Catherine Street Shopping. Walk to nearby businesses including Bell Canada BCE, CGI, Bomardier, Hydro Quebec, Desjardins Financial, SNC Lavalin, Complex Guy Favreau, IBM, CBC, Alcoa, Alcan, ING, VIA Systems Standard Life, London Life Power Corporation & CHUM Hospital Project. Enjoy your evening dining on St. Laurent Street before retiring to your spacious suite. Our pet friendly hotel (fee) features studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom apartment like suites featuring fully-equipped kitchens, spacious living and work areas, TV with DVD player, free high-speed wired Internet access, two phone lines with personalized voicemail. Other apartment like conveniences include 24-hour business center offering free Internet access, printing, faxing & copying capabilities, complimentary guest laundry facilities, fitness center, courtyard & lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville Hotel Montreal
Candlewood Montreal
Montreal Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing