We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alright.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville
Ranked #78 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed 12 May 2013

The hotel was a little older than the previous Candlewoods I've stayed in, but It was clean and had a seperate bedroom. The TVs were also nice. I would stay here again based o the location and the overall value. The free laundry facility was also a plus. The staff was also helpful and friendly.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank BrainofJEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques M, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Hi BrianofJEB,

Thank you so mcuh for taking the time to share your comments with us!
We are allways happy to hear positive feedback.

We are plaese that you like our rooms, tv's and laundry facitlity. as well as our freindly staff.

We look forward in seeing you again and we will be forwarding your comments your comments to our staff!

Sincerly,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2013

Honestly the room was not that great. An there is no breakfast or housekeeping services. I went for 2 nights and the first night we got in late and ordered food. Some fell on the floor, in the morning the floor was swarmed with ants. We didn't say anything because we thought that they would come take care of it when the housekeeping came. Obviously they didn't come at all because everything was still where it was. And there was no parking available...

Definitely something i wouldn't expect from and IHG hotel.....

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melissa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques M, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Hi Melissa,

We are truly sorry to hear that your stay with us was not great.
We thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your experience at the hotel.
As a long term stay hotel, the Candlewood Suites Hotel brand does not offer breakfast since there is no restaurant on site. We provide guest a room with a full kitchen to enjoy more freedom. As well housekeeping only services the rooms once a week to respect the guest’s privacy.
We are looking into the ant problem since this is an unacceptable. Any time there is a problem, it is very important to advise the reception since they are able to dispatch the proper measure to possibly rectify the situation.
We always appreciate guest feedback and thank you again for your comments.
We hope that you would reconsider staying with us again next time you are in the Montreal area.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

Was able to book this hotel through Hotwire for about $80/taxes in, a night, which is a fair price. I wouldn't pay more than that. Staff is very friendly. The place is a little worn out. Rooms are ok, but furniture, fixtures, carpet, tiles, etc; are in serious need of replacement. Good for a quick overnight stay, if you can get a cheap rate.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zacatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques M, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear Zacatti,

We are please that you enjoyed the low rate and that you found are staff very friendly. We take great pide in our customer service.

Althought we are sorry to hear that you found our property slightly worn out. We are tring slowy to refresh our rooms as well our suites.

We are allways happy to recive feed back from our guests and we thank you for your comments.

We hope that you will choose to stay with us in the future.


Sincerly,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We stayed at this hotel back in October of '12 sorry it took so long to review. We were with another couple and got the double bedroom suite. Suite it is not. Who decorated this place?? It feels more like a second rate hostel than a hotel. Everything about it seems old and dirty. They really need to spruce it up. Sometimes all you need is a fresh coat of paint, some new furnishings and linens and the place would be alot better. Staff is very friendly, but it doesnt really matter if I don't feel comfortable in the room Im staying in. The location is amazing and thats why we chose it but Im not really sure that I would stay there again. Word of advice to management: take pride in how your hotel is percieved by guests and you will get alot more guests booking.

Room Tip: none of the rooms are good.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques M, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Hi Maria J.

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feed back. Better late than never we allways say.
Its with comment like your that we are able to better our selves as a hotel and as a team.

We would like to apologies for for not baing able to feel comfortable durring your stay. We are working hard to invest more time and resources into the apperence of our rooms.
We have already started to recive new linens as part of the brand standard.

We are happy that you enjoyed the location and the friendly staff.

Hopefully one day you may reconsider, and decide to give us another try.

Thank you again for your time and your comments.

Sincerly,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

It isn't often that you walk into a hotel room and see exactly what was pictured on their website. We were blown away when entering our suite at how well maintained and clean it was. We rented a 2 bedroom suite for the same cost of a single room in a hotel with a similar star rating. One bedroom was larger than the other but both had ample space around the bed and in the closet.

Separate heating/cooling controls in all of the rooms allowed everyone to be comfortable wherever they were. There were only 2 remotes for the 3 TVs but they were all the same brand and compatible with one another. It was not a big deal. It's not like we rented a hotel room to sit on our butts and watch TV all day anyway!

The hotel is very close to downtown and within walking distance of major attractions and public transit. The front staff was friendly and jumped in to assist when they overheard our group discussing plans (and the logistics) in the lobby.

Room Tip: Room 1122 (2 bedroom suite) has a nice view of Mont Royal from the living room and smaller bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabrina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques M, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

HI!

We would like to start by saying thank you for your comments regarding the hotel, the location, price and the staff. We are allways happy to get great feed back onn the hotel and the customer service.

We hope that you will stay with us again next time you visit Montreal!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

This is a really good hotel located in downtown Montreal, which is very close to all the restaurants around China Town, and also not very far from the main shopping area of Ste Catherine’s or the old part of the city. I stayed there for 8 weeks, and in all that time I did not have any problems. My suite was cleaned on a weekly basis, which you could not fault on. The reception staff were really excellent and nothing was too much trouble for them, every morning they wished you good morning, and in the evenings they wished you a good evening. I had a 1 bedroom suite, which had a kitchen diner, bathroom which had a really good shower, and a separate bedroom, and had 2 TV’s one in the sitting room, and the other in the bedroom. My room overlooked the main road, but mostly the traffic noise was nonexistent, and the only time I heard anything was when the snow ploughs were clearing the roads during the recent winter snows, but once they swept in front of the hotel all was silent again.

I had reason for extending my stay an extra 2 nights, and this was no problem for them. This was my 3rd business visit to Montreal, but only 1st time at this hotel , and if I return to Montreal either for business or pleasure then I would gladly return to the Candlewood Suites

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kelmci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques M, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Hello!


Thank you so much for all those wonderful comments about the hotel and the staff.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to lets us know about your exprence with us for 8 weeks.

We look foward to seeing you again next time you are in Montreal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We settled on Candlewood Suites in downtown Montreal after searching for a hotel for our extended family visit that was reasonable priced and centrally located and within walking distance to downtown and to Old Montreal. Chinatown and Ste Catherine Street are very close.

Check in was quick and easy with the friendly and very helpful bilingual staff and parking was in the basement of the building. We had two sparsely furnished large rooms for our extended family visit, with two queen sized beds and a pull out couch. Each room had a basically equipped kitchenette, with fridge, stove, toaster, coffee maker and an assortment of dishes. There was nothing "suite" about the rooms and they reminded us of more of a large room in an economy motor lodge than in a suites type hotel. Perhaps that's the "Candlewood" brand?

While the hotel did not appear old, the rooms were poorly maintained, with shoddy workmanship and a lack of attention to detail throughout. The bathrooms in particular were an example of how not to clean or maintain a hotel. There were many mold stains in the bath/shower area, the grout was stained, half of the sink had new caulking, the corners on the floor had not been properly scrubbed, and the ceiling had been repaired most certainly to address mold growth.

This lack of cleanliness marred an otherwise ok room. The beds were comfortable, and the rooms seemed relatively quiet notwithstanding some street noise. There was a business centre and a small gym on the main floor that we did not use. The clientele seemed quite young and we did not see any other families during our stay.

There is a Holiday Inn Express (another IHG hotel) right next door and there is a convenience store right around the corner that is open late.

All in all, this was an average hotel in a great location. I would consider coming back for the helpful staff and the proximity to many of the popular tourist and business destinations in Montreal...but the maintenance program needs to kick it up a couple of notches.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ehviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques M, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Hello,

Let us start off by thanking you for trying our hotel for the first time. Wr are happy that you enjoyed the location, being close to many things. We are greatful that you where please with our very helpful and bilingual staff. We take pride in there work.

Our room are large in comparison to other hotels, sometime you do get the feeling that the room is sparsely furnished. We allways try to make sure that you have eveything in the room tha you will need durring your stay. Since Candlewood Suites are a long term stay hotel, the emphises on the suite is the full kitchen and amenaties that you need for a long term stay to feel at home.

We are sorry to hear that there was maintenence and cleaining issues. We take your comments to heart, since we stive to make every stay a great stay.

We thank you for your feed back and are happy to know that you would consider us for future stays.

Sincerly,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
#72 of 165 in Montreal
906 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Best Western Plus Hotel Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Roberval
Le Roberval
#81 of 165 in Montreal
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#45 of 165 in Montreal
691 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Zero 1
Hotel Zero 1
#58 of 165 in Montreal
1,214 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#53 of 165 in Montreal
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville

Address: 191 Rene-Levesque Blvd E, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3Z9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: £78 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites Extended Stay Apartment Hotel Montreal downtown. The Candlewood Suites Hotel is a member of the IHG family of brands, which includes InterContinental, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, Holiday Inn and Staybridge Suites. The Candlewood Suites Hotel Montreal offers apartment like suites to government, business, relocation, training & extended stay hotel guests requiring long or short term hotel or real estate accommodations. The Candlewood Suites Hotel Montreal is within walking distance to the Old Port of Montreal, Chinatown, Place des Arts, Contemporary Art Museum & St. Catherine Street Shopping. Walk to nearby businesses including Bell Canada BCE, CGI, Bomardier, Hydro Quebec, Desjardins Financial, SNC Lavalin, Complex Guy Favreau, IBM, CBC, Alcoa, Alcan, ING, VIA Systems Standard Life, London Life Power Corporation & CHUM Hospital Project. Enjoy your evening dining on St. Laurent Street before retiring to your spacious suite. Our pet friendly hotel (fee) features studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom apartment like suites featuring fully-equipped kitchens, spacious living and work areas, TV with DVD player, free high-speed wired Internet access, two phone lines with personalized voicemail. Other apartment like conveniences include 24-hour business center offering free Internet access, printing, faxing & copying capabilities, complimentary guest laundry facilities, fitness center, courtyard & lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville Hotel Montreal
Candlewood Montreal
Montreal Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing