We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre price, terrible service, stolen items.”
Review of Hotel Visitel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Visitel
Ranked #102 of 166 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed 25 May 2012

I went here for New Years Eve with some friends and was very disappointed. Upon our arrival when they had us pay for the room, it was WAY more expensive then they had originally said over the phone. The room was decent, at least we had a private bathroom. But it was on the 4th floor and there are no elevators, so we had to take the stairs. Whenever I travel I make sure to hide away all my expensive belongings in my luggage, even in my hotel room. I had forgot to hide my perfume and computer charger one day when I went out and when I came back it was gone. I looked everywhere for them, but they were nowhere. I check out that day and went back the next day to see if they had found anything and they said they didn't. I am positive that my things were stolen. Overall, it was really disappointing. We stayed here because of the cheap price, but that ended up going out the window with all their hidden charges when we arrived.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brittany T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2012

We went as a group of four, and stayed for two nights during new years eve.

Pros:
Our room was nice, it was on the top floor and we had a bathroom ensuite, and that's all I can say I was satisfied with.

Cons:
-When we got there, there was a horribly expensive fee that came out of nowhere. When we reserved our room months in advance he said it would be around $290 but once we got there to check in it was almost $400(?!) and he explained that it "was because of fees"
-Things were stolen from our room (a macbook charger, perfume, ANY money lying around)
-There was no breakfast, at all, even though it's advertised all over the building still to this day.
-The stairs are horrible and loud, I feel bad for whoever gets a room that isn't on he top floor.
- Walls are very thin, you can hear people talking in other rooms easily, and other noises outside.
-They are very unwelcoming for a business that houses people, I can't say a single worker talked to us other than check-in and check-out
-Communal bathrooms that run out of hot water.

I highly recommend spending the extra thirty or so dollars on booking a room in a real hotel, the only reason these people are getting business is their location, which is close to a metro station. The service is terrible and we were really unhappy,

Room Tip: If you do make the mistake of booking a room here, try to get on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaden R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I stayed 4 nights in March 2012 on a romantic trip with my boyfriend. The room was very clean, the staff friendly, and the rooms are all newly renovated. Although it is far from luxury, the cheap price made my week !

Positive : Great location near the metro and quartier latin, friendly staff (they let us use their microwave even if there wasn't one in our room), control over the AC and heating in our room, new bathroom and new decoration in the room, all very clean. Also, if you want a quiet area, room 303 is in the back and you don't hear a single neighbor. We were very surprised to see a "no vacancy" sign on the second night, we hadn't hear a single guest !

Negative : Those are really just details, like no elevators, no breakfast, the rooms being pretty small.... But really, if you want breakfast, you have a nice fridge and kettle in your room, and the stairs are far from bad.

For the price they ask, this place is pretty unbeatable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaryLandry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed in room 102 (ground floor) for 2 nights in Feb 2012. We had a bathroom next door for our own, but not ensuite.

Positive:
- Location (Quartier Latin, 2 min to Metro station)
- Clean (both room and bathroom)
- Towels provided
- Bed OK
- Room service
- Flat Screen TV
- Nice staff
- Price!

Negative:
- Not soundproof! You will hear everything going on outside, plus the air conditioning is pretty loud too. Definitely bring earplugs. I could not sleep even although I did.
- They use absolutely unbearable air freshener. I'm not a sissy, but I could hardly breathe.
- Room pretty small, no wardrobe, rather cold
- On the day of our departure, there was no hot water in the bathroom.

ALL IN ALL:
It's OK if you stay for a weekend and spend most of your time outside. It's clean and has rather reasonable prices and nice staff. For >2 nights, the room size and wafer thin walls might make your stay a rather uncomfortable experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Our group of 8 stayed at the Visitel in the summer of 2011 for several days.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, going out of their way to ensure our comfort.
The location was great, central for "old town". All in all, excellent value !
Ken/Diana

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are quite small, but others are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KenandDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Booked a room for 4 and got a room,301,that had 2 separate rooms,but no door separating the rooms though which wasn't a problem for us at all. We even had our own balcony.we managed to get a free parking spot that could just fit our dodge caravan.
The staff was ok, the room was good considering it was so cheap. The walls are thin and could hear a couple practicing bedroom gymnastics in the middle of the night.
Great location by main bus station and metro and also convenient for walking around.

Stayed: October 2011
2  Thank Shortymaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

I booked a room with private bathroom in September. Upon arrival the first thing that the receptionist did was charging my credit card for the full amount, which seemed suspicious from the beginning. After I walked upstairs to the room I've noticed that it didn't have private bathroom, only the shared one on the floor. The receptionist tried to give us another room for the night then which was in unaaceptable condition, the patio door couldn't be closed and the heating was on (seriously? it is 75F outside!!). And guess what the receptionist answer was: "What do you expect? This is not a 5 star hotel." What a joke! They even refused to refund the charge for the night. One good advise: DON"T LET THEM CHARGE your card before you see your room!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maksym S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Casa Bella
Hotel Casa Bella
#124 of 166 in Montreal
143 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Bon Accueil
Hotel Bon Accueil
#109 of 166 in Montreal
70 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Le Saint Andre
Hotel Le Saint Andre
#111 of 166 in Montreal
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#86 of 166 in Montreal
595 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Elegant
Hotel Elegant
#123 of 166 in Montreal
192 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Y Montreal
Hotel Y Montreal
#70 of 166 in Montreal
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Visitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Visitel

Address: 1617 St Hubert, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3Z1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > The Village (Gay Village) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 166 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: £26 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Visitel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitel Hotel is offering visitors an unforgettable stay at Cozy home like environment and with it's newly renovated rooms we provide visitors with a calm and comfortable stay. Our hotel is located right in the heart of Montreal where our visitors don't have to go too far to be at the center of all on going events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Visitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing