We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Le Relais Lyonnais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Relais Lyonnais
Ranked #41 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We had three nights in Montreal and chose this hotel mainly on location. It is in an excellent location for the subway. It is also in a street with lots of bars, cafés and restaurants.
The hotel itself is small, however, the owner is on hand to answer questions and help with information about Montreal.
The room we had was at the front of the hotel, but it was not noisy.
It was a good sized room, with a comfortable bed and excellent bathroom. The shower was huge, toiletries gorgeous, towels replenished daily.
There was a safe in the room. There was a TV but we did not watch it...remote didn't work from the bed.
There was a coffee machine....we prefer tea so water not hot enough....but not an issue.
The room had ac which was very efficient.
We had a lovely time. At this hotel and it was perfect for our city break in Montreal.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

The location of this hotel is pretty decent for getting around, we never needed a car. Took the 747 bus from the airport and were set for the long weekend. Staff was very nice and they cleaned the rooms perfectly. We were on the 2nd floor. Wi-Fi was a little spotty but worked well enough. Our room was also facing the back so not sure on the street noise as at night it can get pretty crowed on the main street. The café downstairs is great for breakfast/lunch. Beds are comfortable. The coffee/cappuccino maker in room was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swingerhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The good:
Nicely decorated in a contemporary style. Location is excellent... simply walk out the door and there are bars, restaurant, and shopping. Also, a Tim Hortons and Second Cup right nearby for that morning jolt of caffeine. Shower was a good size, and water pressure was fantastic (nothing worse than a weak shower). The room was spotless. Nespresso machine was great, and the room also had robes and very nice soaps and showel gel.

The not-so-great:
It was very small. I wasn't expecting a huge room, but it was smaller than I was expecting. The bed was a bit hard and stiff for my taste, but I suppose that's subjective. Parking is on the next street over in an underground parking lot, which wasn't awful for us since we were only there for a night, but if you had alot of stuff to lug over, this might be an issue for you.

Would I stay here again? Absolutely. It was a beautiful room, even if it was a bit on the small side. The small touches really are what made this hotel stand out to me.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purple_inferno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We rented this hotel because of the great review and the great price. With the high expectation they certainly deliver.

Pros:
Great location
Great room, huge bathroom and everything clean and nicely laid out
Great stuff included - espresso, water, bath robes

Cons:
The TV should be bigger.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

My wife & I stayed here for 2 nights in suite 101 and we were very pleased! It is on Rue St. Denis which has many restaurants within walking distance. The metro is 1 minute walk away and old Montreal is 15 minutes walk.
The rooms are impeccably clean and after our first night, we returned to even find our hairbrush had been cleaned of our loose hairs! Fantastic!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TripMember024102016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is an instance when I wonder if an entity is somehow gaming the Travelocity system. This hotel is fine. No more, no less. It is certainly not a four-star establishment by French or American standards; I don't know what the star maximum is in Canada, so if it's a wider scale, maybe that explains it.

The positives: The room is spacious, the water pressure is amazing, and the hot water heater did its job. The rooms look like they were redone sometime in the last five years. Hard wood floors, nice tile and fixtures in the bathroom. But it's all in the details, right?

The negatives: The foyer, where no one is on duty--I've seen the proprietor or front desk clerk once in three days and that was at check-in, smells bad. Like old shoes. Fortunately, that smell does not carry over into the rooms. The rooms, as mentioned, are spacious, but if you like reading in bed (and I realize this isn't everyone), you have to get out of bed to turn off the big, glaring overhead lights when you've finished because the recessed lighting by the bed is too dim to read by, even on the high setting. And for those who enjoy watching TV in bed, you're also out of luck, because the remote signal doesn't stretch that far, so you have to stand on the bed or walk closer to the TV to change the channels.

Also, if you have hair longer than past your ears, you're in trouble. The hotel bathroom had one of those cheap, energy-efficient hair driers--the ones with the long plastic tube that connects to a wall unit-- that never really dry your hair and aren't actually energy efficient because you have to spend three times as long completing the task as you would with a normal drier.

And lastly, this is not the hotel's fault, but a word on the neighborhood is in order: the hotel is located very close to the University of Quebec at Montreal, which means lots of students and cheap restaurants, neither of which are bad. It is also very close to several hospitals. What does this mean for you? There are large numbers of homeless panhandlers and indigent individuals asking students and those out on the streets for money. Not threatening, but not a great experience either.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ErinG504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I stayed 5 nights in this hotel and I appreciated very much the location. Many restaurants, cinemas, one minutes walk from a nice tea salon where they have lovely Japanese tea camellia-sinensis.com). 2 minutes walk from the metro and 15 min walk to the old city!
I had a very nice room on the first floor on the back side, (don't take the street side if you have a sensitive sleep!).The owners are so kindly, very helpfull! Thanks Albert and thanks Jose for keeping this hotel so well organized and clean!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LM66Perpignan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Chateau de l'Argoat
Chateau de l'Argoat
#58 of 165 in Montreal
496 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#13 of 165 in Montreal
321 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#59 of 165 in Montreal
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
#55 of 165 in Montreal
443 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#44 of 165 in Montreal
704 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel 10
Hotel 10
#42 of 165 in Montreal
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Relais Lyonnais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais Lyonnais

Address: 1595 rue St Denis, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3K3, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#46 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £74 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Relais Lyonnais 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the "Quartier Latin" (Latin Quarter) on the world famous Rue St-Denis, Hotel Le Relais Lyonnais is sure to impress the most discerning traveler. Designed with every detail in mind, Le Relais Lyonnais combines the authenticity of 19th-century architecture with the amenities of modern comfort, all to ensure that your stay with us is a memorable one. The building dates back to more than 130 years and every painstaking step has been taken to keep the architecture and design of the period intact. The gleaming maple floors, the polished wood banisters and spectacular wood details, all combined with a chic decor immediately takes you back to elegant 19th-century living... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Relais Lyonnais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Lyonnais Montreal
Le Relais Lyonnais Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing