We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a Class of it's own”
Review of Le Relais Lyonnais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Relais Lyonnais
Ranked #47 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“In a Class of it's own”
Reviewed 5 January 2009

Absolutely amazing cost little boutique Hotel. The room (Deluxe) was amazingly contemporary with good size LCD TV, coffee machine, safe etc. Bathroom was a decent size. Rooms were immaculately clean. Location was very good with many many bars and restuarant in St Denis.

10 MIns walk to Old Montreal.

Albert the owner is a gem - very helpful and polite and most of all, Always smiling.

Highly reccomend this Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babolat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    86
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
34
255
27
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin / London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2008

This is a really great hotel in central montreal. The room itself was really beautiful - very tasteful and modern (with an absolutely amazing power shower!).

We stayed in the room at the front of the hotel, which I was expecting to be noisy as it faced the street and the comedy festival was on right outside, but it wasn't at all.

The guy at the front desk was also really friendly and helpful.

The only thing I'd say is avoid the restaurant downstairs for breakfast - the food isn't great, its overpriced, and the staff are grumpy. I'd recommend Eggs Spectation for breakfast / brunch (201 Rue St-jacques) - all things eggs and huge portions!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ruairc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2008

This is a lovely little gem of a hotel. Within walking distance of what seemed like hundreds of restaurants and bars, the Metro and Vieux Montreal. this area has an awesome energy. The room was small, but very lovely. The bathroom was awesome! DVD player was a nice touch, as we brought some movies to watch on our laptop. The gourmet chocolates are another nice touch! As mentioned, there is never anyone at the front desk (Maybe once out of a dozen times we passed the lobby!), but we just went down to the restaurant whenever we needed anything and they called someone to meet us at the front desk.

  • Liked — Location, room, shower
  • Disliked — Lack of front desk staff a little disconcerting
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Swayed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2008

I would recommend this hotel. It´s in a great location and the room is small but really confortable (the bed and the shower are amazing!!).

The lobby is small and the staff usually don´t stay there but it is not necessary.

We stayed at the second floor (at the back) and didn´t heard any noise.

Joanna - Brazil

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Small lobby
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JoannaCSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2008

Mostly great news. The location is very good (particularly for nightlife), the staff were always helpful and the rooms are high quality and well furnished with good bathrooms.

I stayed in a smaller room on the second floor at the back of the hotel on my first of six nights and it was fine. Trying to be thoughful due to the duration of my stay they moved me to a larger room on the ground floor at the front on the second night.

The room was much larger but there was a constant thud thud of music base through the floor that was noticable from about 7.30 am. The basement underneath the bottom floor of the hotel is a restaurant and I figured out that the music was coming from there. I had to go in there once or twice when there was no-one on reception (as they seem to be run by the same people) and the music was certainly very loud. I could hear it in bed in the room with an IPOD on!

I asked to be moved and they did move me back as soon as they could to my first room which was absolutely fine.

I would recommend anyone to stay here but to ask for a room either above the ground floor or at the back unless you aren't at all sensitive to noise.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank StevePSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2008

We loved this place. Its proximity was unparalleled: across the street from eight Film Festival venues. We were there for four nights and three days, and saw five great films, walked all over central Montreal, and biked around a lot farther. The metro was a block away, cafes and restaurants were everywhere, and the cheerful bilingual innkeeper gave us several great tips, including directions to a fine and reasonably-priced French restaurant about 15 minutes away. The Latin Quarter is very youthful, and St. Denis gets fashionable yet remains unpretentious to the north. There's a wonderful sophisticated yet casual quality to Montreal, and Le Relais Lyonnais helps epitomize this.

Cool espresso machine in room and wifi available in the hall.

We'll be back!

  • Liked — Proximity
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TomSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2008

My sister and I stayed here for four nights during a two week trip to Canada. Booked it based on feedback from Trip Advisor and we were not let down.

The location was perfect: right in the heart of the latin quarter, near excellent restaurants, a stone's throw from a metro stop and within walking distance of several key attractions and the main shopping street, Ste Catherine.

The hotel's owner Albert is a legend! He really made us feel welcome and gave us loads of information that only a local could provide. Food in the cafe beneath the hotel is also excellent. We ate breakfast there on three out of the four days.

Top marks all round really. We'd definitely recommend this gem of a hotel to fellow travellers and would stay there ourselves again should we return. And we'd love to return!

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank cb161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#41 of 164 in Montreal
527 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
#53 of 164 in Montreal
404 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#11 of 164 in Montreal
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel Kutuma
Hotel Kutuma
#39 of 164 in Montreal
326 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Parc Suites Hotel
Parc Suites Hotel
#15 of 164 in Montreal
535 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#43 of 164 in Montreal
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Relais Lyonnais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais Lyonnais

Property: Le Relais Lyonnais
Address: 1595 rue St Denis, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3K3, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#26 Family Hotel in Montreal
#46 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Relais Lyonnais 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the "Quartier Latin" (Latin Quarter) on the world famous Rue St-Denis, Hotel Le Relais Lyonnais is sure to impress the most discerning traveler. Designed with every detail in mind, Le Relais Lyonnais combines the authenticity of 19th-century architecture with the amenities of modern comfort, all to ensure that your stay with us is a memorable one. The building dates back to more than 130 years and every painstaking step has been taken to keep the architecture and design of the period intact. The gleaming maple floors, the polished wood banisters and spectacular wood details, all combined with a chic decor immediately takes you back to elegant 19th-century living... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Relais Lyonnais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Lyonnais Montreal
Le Relais Lyonnais Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing