We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and Friendly”
Review of Le Relais Lyonnais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Relais Lyonnais
Ranked #40 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2009

My husband and I have stayed at Le Relais Lyonnais a few times and we have always enjoyed our stays there. Albert is very friendly and will help you any way he can. We now request a room at the back since the rooms facing the street can be a little noisy. Besides that everything is great. The rooms are clean and modern, the rain shower, the little extras, e.g. espresso machine. The location is in the middle of everything. A 15 minute walk to Old Montreal, a 10 minute walk to China Town, St-Catherine street is a block away, most festivals are nearby. We park our car and never use it the entire time we are there. I highly recommend staying at this gem of a place.
Merci beaucoup Albert et à la prochaine.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cubata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2009

To preface, I work in tourism. I have been lucky enough to do hotel site inspections on every continent. Honestly, Le Relais is one of the 2 best place I've ever stayed anywhere in the world. My boyfriend and I loved it so much, we asked if we could stay an extra day. I have never done that!

As far as service goes - the innkeeper, Albert and his assistants are always cheerfully at your beck & call. Public amenities include a business center and one of the best French cafes outside of France. Private in room amenities include Nespresso machines with as many cups as you can drink, private fridge stocked with water, satellite flat panel tv, rain showerhead, and down pillows and duvet. Bonus - you get red and white wine glasses as well as corkscrew in your room. It is such a pet peeve of mine to have call down for those at a European style hotel or 4 plus star hotel.

The room itself was modern but very homey and comfortable - it didn't have that awful hotel feel of flame retardant carpet and everything bought in bulk. Dark hardwood floors with beautiful shutters, comfortable linens, and lots of extra towels. It was really like staying at someone's house but having total privacy.

You can purchase coupons for breakfast in La Brioche at a bargain compared to the menu prices. The food is amazing - very fresh, no buffet food, ample portions, outdoor seating. We ended up eating dinner there as well as it was so good.

The location was great - right on the lower end of St Denis, 2 blocks from UQAM metro stop. There's a very posh IGA and Pharmaprix around the corner for snacks and blister bandages. The hotel is right over the restaurant and on a busy street but the windows are super glazed or something. The rooms are quieter than most skyscraper hotels I've been in.

The most amazing thing - the price. It's a bargain for Montreal. You get an incredible local experience at an upscale, modern, comfortable hotel. It's the best of both worlds.

I cannot recommend this Le Relais enough.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michikoandamechan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

This hotel is in a great location and the rooms are very nice. LIke other reviewers, I especially liked the espresso machine in the room. Little touches like that made a "standard" room feel quite deluxe.

Its location on Rue St Denis could not be better UNLESS you're there during the comedy festival. Our room was in the front and it was getting very loud--but then we left.

IF you're there for the Jazz Festival (as we were), this is in an excellent location.

PROS: Upscale everything in the room: sheets, towels, coffee maker. Location. Price. This hotel is very good value for money. Breakfast was included in our room, which I didn't expect. That was a nice touch!

CONS: ALl the other reviewers commented on the customer service. We found this to be true during the week, less so on the weekends. Several times we couldn't find anyone to answer our questions (like, what is the code for the wifi?).

When the owner was there on Monday, he was AMAZING, as the other reviewers have noted.

Either way, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travels_too_muchUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

I stayed at Le Relais Lyonnais with my girlfriend during July 2009. It was a four day trip to Montreal. I truly enjoyed the hotel.

Some comments:
- The hotel is very small. I think there were only six rooms. We stayed in room 102.
- The hotel is perfectly located on Rue St. Denis, in the Latin Quarter. There are many hip bistros, restaurants, bars, and coffee shops along the street. We happened to stay during a comedy festival (Just for Laughs), and there was a nightly parade right outside the hotel.
- The room was immaculate. There were several nice details to the room: recessed lighting, LCD TV, Nespresso coffee machine, leather chair, work desk, free (and fast) wireless Internet, down duvet, hardwood floor, refrigerator (free bottled water), and rain shower. The room was stylish, practical, and comfortable.
- The owner, Albert, was very friendly and willing to help in any way.
- The free breakfast in the downstairs bistro was wonderful. I had an omelette one morning, and a crepe the other. The breakfast also included cafe au lait, orange juice, baguette or croissant, and fruit.
- We took the Metro to most places, and the hotel is right next to the Berri-UQAM metro stop, which is the central hub to nearly all of the different colored metro lines--very convenient.
- There is a free computer and printer on the third floor. It was convenient to print out our boarding passes, and also our confirmation for a Gray Line tour to Quebec City.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank triiiangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

This hotel was very unique, cozy and charming. It was a great location and had all of those great extra touches you look for in a hotel. The only issue was the room was a little small but it was still cozy and the manager was great....a real gem!!!

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank gofar68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2009

What a great place. Upscale at a perfect price. My wife thought the shower was the best she had ever experienced, ever...one of those rain shower'esque deals. The location was great for the Jazz Fest (3 blocks away) and the cafe downstairs was very good for croissants for breakfast (below hotel). Some nice touches in the very clean room were the n'espresso maker, free wifi (good signal in room 203), and comfortable chair at the desk.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paul_F_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2009

We were so thankful to all the truthful reviews. Without repeating, I would just like to add that we found this hotel to be a real gem. Our room may have been a little small but our shower stall was the largest I have ever been in. We have stayed in hotels where the entire bathroom wasn't as big as this shower. LOL
We agree that Albert was very helpful and the restaurant for breakfast was very good, offering many varieties of omlettes. We liked being if such a lively neighborhood.
The parking facility was close enough and affordable.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cobri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Chateau de l'Argoat
Chateau de l'Argoat
#59 of 165 in Montreal
496 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#13 of 165 in Montreal
321 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#58 of 165 in Montreal
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
#55 of 165 in Montreal
443 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#45 of 165 in Montreal
704 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel 10
Hotel 10
#42 of 165 in Montreal
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Relais Lyonnais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais Lyonnais

Address: 1595 rue St Denis, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3K3, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#46 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £73 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Relais Lyonnais 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the "Quartier Latin" (Latin Quarter) on the world famous Rue St-Denis, Hotel Le Relais Lyonnais is sure to impress the most discerning traveler. Designed with every detail in mind, Le Relais Lyonnais combines the authenticity of 19th-century architecture with the amenities of modern comfort, all to ensure that your stay with us is a memorable one. The building dates back to more than 130 years and every painstaking step has been taken to keep the architecture and design of the period intact. The gleaming maple floors, the polished wood banisters and spectacular wood details, all combined with a chic decor immediately takes you back to elegant 19th-century living... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Le Relais Lyonnais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Lyonnais Montreal
Le Relais Lyonnais Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing