We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Le Relais Lyonnais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Relais Lyonnais
Ranked #40 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2010

The moment we walked in and met Albert we knew this would be good. The suite was spacious and clean it had great storage and an expresso machine. It was contemporary in a great old building. Our only problem was we were on the third floor and there was no elevator. We probably would have like to be in the rear of the building so it would be quiet but it really wasn.t a problem. Breakfest was included and what a great breakfest it was.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouLou7751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (394)
There are newer reviews for Le Relais Lyonnais
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2010

On arrival we wondered if we had the right address - it didn't look like a hotel. But in the event the staff were extremely helpful, the room was large and modern, location was good, breakfast in the cafe downstairs excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

The rooms in the hotel are lovely and Albert on the front desk was very helpful and gave great recommendations for restaurants in the area. The breakfast in the downstairs cafe was delicious. The one complaint of our stay was when we were leaving, we asked for a taxi to the airport. We were promptly picked up but it was not a taxi as there was no meter on display. We were charged $55 before a tip. On our arrival in montreal we had got a taxi to the hotel from the airport and were charged €25 before a tip.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

We stayed at the Relais Lyonnais during our first visit to Montreal. I wasn't expecting much - the pictures on the website do not do this hotel justice. It is just a really nice, cute, CLEAN little hotel. I love it. The staff is incredibly helpful and unobtrusive. When we checked in, we were provided with maps of the city and tips on where to eat, what to do, what to visit, how to get around (bixi bikes) and they even offered to make a reservation for dinner that night! The hotel also has underground parking (around $25) which is very convenient if you have a car. The room was clean and spacious. We stayed in the suite. We had originally booked a regular room, but our room was unavailable so they upgraded us to a suite. There are robes and slippers, a nespresso machine, and everything is very comfy and cozy. Toiletries provided. Excellent water pressure in the shower. Le Relais is located in the Latin Quarter, and it is close to the subway. We used bixi bikes to get around mostly, and it was about a 20 minute ride to most of the places we wished to visit. It is right next to the university, UQAM and le Grand Bibliotheque. Breakfast was included, you get it at the bistro located right below the hotel. You have your choice of omelette, which comes with fresh fruit, toast, coffee, and orange juice. It was hot and fresh and delicious. It is also walking distance from a ton of good restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superflygirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

I have always used Trip Advisor and normally it is spot on. I have to say with this hotel we were both confused by the incredible ratings it has been given. I dont have anything really bad to say about the hotel but cant see how it has achieved such high ratings. It is small with only 7 rooms which is a plus and a negative. The guys at the front desk were friendly but sometimes not around. The rooms are a little small but quite nicely appointed. I think I would try another place if I return to Montreal.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Notsurehwhattowrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Although there are more than enough glowing reviews of Le Relais, our stay was so wonderful, I feel obligated to add one more! Our room was stunningly beautiful, as it blended modern design with a coziness that I didn't think was possible to find in that style. The bathroom was state of the art as well. The included breakfast in the restaurant downstairs was delicious and more than we had hoped for. Finally, as nice as this small hotel is, the best part of our trip to Montreal was the owner, Albert. From his warm greeting at check-in to his darting out into the street to bid us a fond farewell, Albert is quite possibly the nicest person we've ever met, and is not only the reason we will return to Le Relais, but the reason we will return to Montreal!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davestus44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Loved the room and the location was great. Clean, comfortable bed, wonderful rain shower. Thanks for the dinner reservation/recommendation. Will be back for sure! Breakfast was very good downstairs.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#52 of 165 in Montreal
553 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#44 of 165 in Montreal
686 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
#51 of 165 in Montreal
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#13 of 165 in Montreal
294 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Best Western Plus Hotel Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#50 of 165 in Montreal
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Relais Lyonnais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais Lyonnais

Address: 1595 rue St Denis, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3K3, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#15 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
#26 Family Hotel in Montreal
#46 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £93 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Relais Lyonnais 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the "Quartier Latin" (Latin Quarter) on the world famous Rue St-Denis, Hotel Le Relais Lyonnais is sure to impress the most discerning traveler. Designed with every detail in mind, Le Relais Lyonnais combines the authenticity of 19th-century architecture with the amenities of modern comfort, all to ensure that your stay with us is a memorable one. The building dates back to more than 130 years and every painstaking step has been taken to keep the architecture and design of the period intact. The gleaming maple floors, the polished wood banisters and spectacular wood details, all combined with a chic decor immediately takes you back to elegant 19th-century living... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Relais Lyonnais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Lyonnais Montreal
Le Relais Lyonnais Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing