We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, great accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown
Ranked #28 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Laurencekirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good location, great accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We spent three nights in this Montreal hotel and found absolutely no problem with it. Our room was large, had a nice bathroom and toiletries and housekeeping was of a very high standard. It was easy to walk everywhere. Underground parking is available at the conference centre. To have breakfast included was a bonus and we would stay here again, even though the surrounding area is not particularly appealing. The staff were pleasant and helpful, recommending restaurants locally. As we have been travelling for some weeks, we really appreciated the use of the guest laundry, which was free of charge.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank POPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    252
    39
    8
    12
See reviews for
153
226
31
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Good hotel, basic but very nice. Good included breakfast, clean, close to old Montreal walking distance, and close to Victoria train station that will take you everywhere. Also walking distance to St Catherine street, about 10-15min walking. Train station offer 24 hour passes for $9.00 and weekend passes from Friday PM to Monday AM for $12.00. Garage parking close by under convention center building for $22 for 24hour period. A cab from the village to the hotel at 2am did cost me $10.00 plus tips
It was a great trip!

Room Tip: rooms need key to keep AC working. AC was not very good, but it was not a deal breaker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asd18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

The good: great location. We could walk everywhere and felt very safe. Public transportation was easy to navigate. Staff were helpful; some staff more friendly than others. Beds are rock hard which was great for me. I loved the fact that we could open the window. They didn't have parking, but, based on another trip advisor review, we parked a block away in the convention center. We didn't touch our car for three days as we could walk everywhere; the parking fee was only $34 to park from about 11 pm Friday to noonish on Monday.

The not-so-good: lighting in bathroom is really bad; water pressure pretty bad; bath fan didn't work. My biggest complaint however, is breakfast. We chose this as it was moderately affordable and included breakfast. The first two mornings (Sat/Sun)I let my 17/20 year old kids sleep in, and we got downstairs around 10 am as breakfast on those days was theoretically served until 11. What we didn't know is that it's only served if they have food! They had run out of most items by 10 a.m. When I mentioned our disappointment to the front desk staff, they genuinely apologized and said it was because the hotel was full! They didn't offer anything by way of a room discount, or voucher for an area restaurant. So, while the hotel itself was fine, be aware that your "included" breakfast is only "included" if you get there first.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cecile4423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

I got my room through Hotwire as one of their top-secret deals, where they don`t tell you the hotel until you`ve paid. I consider myself quite lucky to have gotten such a nice place.
The location is good, mid-way between the old city and the St. Catherine Street area in the new city. It`s about a 10 minute walk to the western part of the old city, and about 15 minutes to Notre-Dame cathedral. The Place d`Armes metro stop is about five minutes. The convention center is very close, so this place is ideal if you are attending a convention.
The rooms are simply furnished but not cheaply so and it`s all in very good repair and clean and modern. Bed is very comfortable, and the bathroom is quite modern. There is even a nightlight in the bathroom, which I highly value!
Each room has a (free) computer with Internet service, which is a great idea. Every hotel should do that. The wifi is also free and works well.
Breakfast is ok, though not remarkable. Bread, bagels, a few cold cereals, yogurt, etc. Very nice cappucino machine. The bagles are real, not Sara Lee frozen. There`s a coffee maker in the room, and a safe, and a mini-fride, and a nice TV.
Staff is very friendly and have no problems with people who don`t speak French.
Parking is at the convention center, about 5 minutes walk, $20 a night.
In summy, for what I paid, it`s hard to imagine doing better than this.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WoodyInMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Our family of 3 stayed here for a total of 4 nights. The staff is very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The room is clean and modern. The bathroom has a night light which is such a brilliant idea! The window in our room actually opens, and the flooring is wood, both of which we liked. In the guest directory binder located in each room, there is a listing of recommended restaurants which we found very helpful in deciding where to eat. There are 2 queen beds in the room, one is comfortably firm while the other is soft and springy. A DVD player and a PC with decent speed can be used for free. The a/c cannot be powered off and hummed most of the night and together with sounds from the minifridge, were enough to hinder fitful sleep some nights. The hotel faced a relatively quiet street, but the room window had to remain close at night to shut out the sounds from downtown traffic, etc.. It is walking distance to the usual tourist spots in the city's core, Chinatown, the Metro subway and bus stops. An IGA supermarket is just a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: PCs on higher floors seem to have faster internet speed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtm1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Stayed here on a family vacation to Montreal and was very pleased. Seems a little out of the way for sightseeing but it turned out to be the perfect location. Within walking distance to just about everywhere. (Not many restaurant options within a block or two but many options just a few more blocks away.) Friendly staff and clean, modern rooms. Not very largebut big enough. (Our family of four had suitcases all around and we couldn't have fit even one more bag into the room!) fabulous bathroom - shower only. Wood floors which I loved (rather than carpeting). Fantastic morning breakfast included. Great options always available. Would DEFINITELY recommend this hotel.

One note - they have a parking garagebut oversized vehicles (such as ours) do not fit. Not to worry - there is a lot across the street (diagonally to the left) that worked out great.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bijeljina, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We couldn't find place at The Delta Centre-Ville Hotel in Montreal, so we took this hotel as a second choice. I am not disappointed.
Modern and very clean hotel with spacious rooms .
Breakfast is included in price.
Be prepared to fight for your breakfast as dinning area is to small for such a big hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Konektor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Quartier International
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
#23 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Quartier International
Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#7 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Quartier International
InterContinental Montreal
InterContinental Montreal
#35 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,819 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown

Property: Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown
Address: 1025 de Bleury Street, Montreal, Quebec H2Z 1M7, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Dauphin Downtown Montreal is a modern, comfortable, independent boutique hotel. An extraordinary location makes it the city's best kept secret! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing