We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hipster hotel, but somewhat funky location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown
Ranked #28 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hipster hotel, but somewhat funky location”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

All in all I was impressed with this hotel. Modern, reasonably-sized room, with free computer (!), as well as free Wi-Fi. Good convention rate (US$159/night). Quiet (I was on the top (9th) floor), but I could see not being happy if I was below because there were no rugs on the floors and the sound traveled. Nicely appointed room--can even host a colleague in the little seating area with armchairs. The staff is very accommodating and provided me a meeting room for 10 for free for 2 hours one night. A block from the Palais des Congres, where I was attending a convention, so very convenient. The staff changes A LOT. Only problem with the location is that the area is definitely in transition and the hotel sits next to a former Maison Hantee (haunted house)--I call it the purple monstrosity. It was condemned at least 2 years ago and needs to be destroyed NOW. At least for a directionally-challenged person like me, it was always easy to find the hotel. Just look for the purple monstrosity (it's truly painted purple). Still, I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Top floor. I was in 908 and it was very quiet, which is important to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjgarnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    259
    41
    8
    12
See reviews for
156
231
31
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I was extremely pleased with my stay at Hotel Le Dauphin. Staff was very courteous and helpful in orienting me towards local sites of interest; check-in process took just a couple minutes. The room was clean spacious -- almost twice the size of a comparable room in New York City, where I'm from -- with modern amenities, large and comfortable queen size bed, refrigerator, desktop computer with free wireless internet, and excellent view of downtown. Continental breakfast is included with a broad range of yogurts, cheeses, toast, scones, cereal, eggs, and beverages. Location is excellent, as it is just five minutes from the Old Town, Rue Saint Catherine, and Chinatown, while also being great for a good night's sleep since it's far from any high-traffic streets.

Hotel Le Dauphin compared favorably to many other 4-star hotels I have stayed at. I had browsed the listings of over 20 hotels in the area, and was very pleased with choosing Hotel Le Dauphin. It was excellent value for the price, and I would be delighted to stay at the hotel again on my next visit to Montreal.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank panthers1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
206 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the first time on a recommendation from a colleague. It is small and has a bit of a boutique feel. Good customer service. The rooms are modern and the two queen bed rooms are a good size. Very nice walk in shower and modern bathroom. A cold continental breakfast is included and has the basics - eggs, cheese, yogurt, cereals, fruit, juice, toast. Walking distance to metro (between Place-D'Armes and Victoria Square), train station, Chinatown, Old Montreal, Conference centre. The price is good here. It will be my go to hotel in Montreal. Thanks

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaboda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This hotel really stands out from others .. if you like smaller and more personable and tasteful and clean design then this is a great place to be.. the room with accent on pine wood laminate etc has a real modern warmth to it .. refreshingly different than the non committal hotels .. where everything is bland. The staff is super friendly and experienced - the wifi is trouble free all the way on the top floor .. housecleaning is done real well.. one less positive is re the breakfast .. while it is alright ..it is not exciting especially if you stay multiple days .. it is adequate but not adventurous .. the bread/bagels etc are prepacked .. rather than authentically fresh .. cereals the common supermarket variety .. not wholesome .. coffee ok but not splendid, has no real kick to it - same for jams etc .. so that could stand some improvement .. i'd stay here anytime .. unpretentious and very helpful (even could do my laundry free of charge!!

Room Tip: front is noisy - back is good .. some rooms on back do not have a view .. other than onto a concrete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yikes6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
278 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We came to Montreal recently and stayed here for the night. The room was very nice, though it was strange that there was no A/C. The Wi-Fi is somewhat inconsistent, but it still served our purposes. We were surprised to find that there was complimentary breakfast, though it was nothing special. Its location is very convenient for walking around into Old Montreal. Overall, this is a very good place to stay, though you might be wary if it's summertime.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirbyfan1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Clean hardwood floors, free Wi-Fi, free breakfast, and right in downtown. Very stylish modern hotel with lots of amenities. We holiday for Easter in a Group, as soon we walked in , its fresh clean and friendly front staff, kitchen staff and housekeepers. Its not very expensive as per location and hotel amenities, and bathrooms are clean and tidy and more over blinds with shades for window coverings. Less fabric window treatment or no carpet makes it more cleaner and fresher and we all love out stay. Highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prianka G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bannister, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Lots of very modern features - room key needed to activate electricity in room, free wifi (but service was inconsistent and unreliable), fridge, safe, heated floor in bathroom, automated window blinds, desktop computer with free Internet service (which was much more reliable than the wifi!), hair dryer, iron and ironing board, and even laminate wood floor. Also felt very safe and secure because the elevator needed you to scan your room key before it would accept the floor you wanted to go to. Breakfast was a little disappointing...all of the breads and pastries were pre-packaged (was hoping for fresh!), but a decent enough variety for a continental breakfast. Desk staff was bilingual, very friendly, and extremely knowledgeable about the area as well as very accommodating when we needed help with some "extras" (like holding our luggage after we checked out and calling a taxi). Less than a block from the Palais des Congres (convention center), so extremely convenient location if your business is there. Would not hesitate to stay there again!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the building (x01-x04) are much brighter than rooms at the back that face anot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MI_Traveler1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Quartier International
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
#23 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Quartier International
Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#10 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown

Property: Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown
Address: 1025 de Bleury Street, Montreal, Quebec H2Z 1M7, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Dauphin Downtown Montreal is a modern, comfortable, independent boutique hotel. An extraordinary location makes it the city's best kept secret! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing