We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing experience!”
Review of Alexandrie Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alexandrie Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Vermont
1 review
“An amazing experience!”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Alexandrie was an awesome place to stay. Everything was neat and clean as far as the rooms go and everyone there was so nice and welcoming. A very friendly atmosphere and an excellent night. We will most definitely be staying at Alexandrie again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily_27_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    50
    12
    7
    6
See reviews for
4
15
100
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I've stayed at Alexandrie-Montréal on two separate occasions. First, as a backpacker staying in a standard dorm with my friend. Second time in the private room (essentially an apartment). Great if you're looking to have a good party and be close to transit.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jordanalicemcneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Hello everybody,
I have recently moved out of the hostel Alexandrie and I would like to say thank you all those friendly staff there, especially to kind Luke, always helpful "H" and genuine Joelle...Although my stay was longer then I expected, I will never regret because I met wonderful people, who had helped me a lot and I had great time with them there. As guys had mentioned in reviews before, the common room is big /not each hostel has it!/ and gives you chance to meet your friends or meet new people any time you want to and have fun. I would highly recommend to any travellers, backpackers or just ordinary people, come and stay at least for over night to experience it, the price is reasonable and the location is fantastic!!!Merci beaucoup:-) Zdena

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zdena8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

This hostel has its own unique twist and vibe which I found really cool! Location is really good, with everything within walking distance. Unfortunately when I was there it rained heavily so could nt go out, however the common area is extremely social which made it easier to meet people, and new friends. There is old school Nintendo and Sega games for you to enjoy, which we turned into drinking games, and it felt like everyone that stayed there was included in all the fun had by everyone.
The staff were very friendly and helpful in all ways possible and arranged laid back activities for guests if they wanted to join in, thoroughly reccomend

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sambo20389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

This is a great hostel in Montreal. The location is really good for getting everywhere, the staff were all really friendly and the main lobby and common areas had a great, fun feel. I was traveling with 3 others and we stayed in a 4 person dorm together which was great, the room was big and it felt safe. The only complaint is the bathrooms - we only had one bathroom (one toilet, one shower) between our room and 2 others, so about 10-12 people sharing one bathroom which was very inconvenient at times! Apart from that it was a great hostel, they have free breakfast in the morning and the staff are very helpful.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank andyislost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

I've been in this hostel 3 times during my trip over Quebec. I've booked a single bed in 8-bed mixed dormitory room in June 2012. Overall I'm very satisfied with my choise. The price is really low 25-28 CAD per nigt for the bed. The location is perfect: 5 min of walk from the central bus station (no need for taxi) and 5 minutes of walk from the nearest subway station (Beaudry Station).
The BIXI rack is by the corner and another one 200 meters away.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. Wifi is ok (only in common area). My room was pretty clean. There were many old towels in the bathroom though for my first stay and then they dissapeared when I came back for the second time. There was no space to put clothes in the bathroom when taking shower.
As for the sleep, I guess it depends on your neighbours. I was lucky, I guess, and slept well.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0rcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed in the shared apartment on the 3rd floor for a couple of nights. The apartment is a 2 bedroom apartment which you occupy 1 of the bedrooms and another guest the other.

The apartment was very nice with a spacious living area (no TV), dining table, and small balcony with views of the street. There was also a kitchen within the apartment with a huge fridge/freezer, sink and even a washer/dryer.

The room was small within the apartment but furnished nicely with a desk comfy bed with nice sheets and duvet.

The hostel itself has good WiFi in the common area on the G floor but doesn't really reach to level 3. The common area is pretty good and the free breakfast is a nice touch.

One of the best features of the hostel is that the BIXI system (bike sharing) is right out the front door. I highly recommend all tourists use the BIXI system which is cheap, fun and readily available throughout the city.

Overall we would stay here again. Just short of 5 stars, with a star deducted due to the WiFi not being available in the rooms, the location being good (but not great) and the common room could be a bit better.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7TroopCutCopyPaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#77 of 164 in Montreal
566 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#40 of 164 in Montreal
527 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
M Montreal
M Montreal
#1 of 95 in Montreal
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Samesun Montreal Central
Samesun Montreal Central
#2 of 95 in Montreal
121 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge Saint-Paul
Auberge Saint-Paul
#4 of 95 in Montreal
134 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Le Gite Plateau Mont-Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandrie Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandrie Hostel

Property: Alexandrie Hostel
Address: 1750 Amherst, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3L6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > The Village (Gay Village)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 95 Speciality Lodging in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Alexandrie Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acces a laveries gratuite! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alexandrie Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandrie Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing