We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!!!”
Review of Alexandrie Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alexandrie Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great!!!”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I had a great time staying here for 3 days, I lashed out and stayed in a private room (such a great price for private) and it was in a apartment at the back of the main hostel with its own kitchen and bathroom shared with only 3 other people. The staff at the hostel are great and so is the free walking tour they have on Wednesdays, great opportunity to see the city and meet others in the hostel. Our tour guide H went above and beyond and took us walking for longer then he needed to and was full of info.
It was quite a trek from the central station and bus terminals however is quite close to the metro that gets you there and downtown.
Construction across the road starts at 7.30am which was a bit sucky however not something anyone can help.
I would absolutely recommend this to my friends and stay again. Thanks!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claaaiiirrreee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    50
    12
    7
    6
See reviews for
4
15
100
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
fancia
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2013

A big thank you to the Montreal Youth Hostel because it is literally the best place I've stayed at including 4 star hotels. If you want a secure, convenient and clean place to stay, this hostel has got it. But it also has its hidden gems: friendships waiting to be developed, interesting stories waiting to be heard, friendly staff eager to help with your questions or demands, and a great atmosphere that will put a smile on your face everyday! I would go again and again with no hesitation just because I love my smiles and I'm addicted to this experience!

Room Tip: If you don't mind other people and would actually like to meet people, the best way is to get cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fancia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This hostel is totally awesome. I stayed here for 4-5 days and I had a great time partying with the people in the hostel. If you want to sleep, the rooms are far from the common room mostly so that no problem. The hostel owners have a little son who is mad cute, he's fun to play with when drunk. Its a 5-10 min walk to the metro.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiron d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luc P, Owner at Alexandrie Hostel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Alexandrie hostel say thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Loved my stay here. The price was fantastic, the staff is friendly and helpful, and it's in a great location. There's free breakfast, free Wi-Fi, AND free laundry. (The catch is, you only have certain hours to use the machine: 5-9pm.) The facility kind of seems like a big warehouse converted into a hostel. I stayed in a section a bit farther away from the main area (where you'd eat breakfast). That section had a few rooms and its own little common area where there was a table, some seats, a television, a dryer, and lockers. One downside is that the beds seemed a bit squeakier than others I've slept in, but the linens I received were very clean. For the price of the hostel, it's really quite a good deal.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agnes C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guilford, ct
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The price was excellent, breakfast was included, you have access to a kitchen and it is in a great location. I took a long my lock and had access to a locker. The common room was full of friendly travelers - it felt very Bohemian. I would stay again.

Room Tip: As long as you are the type of person that can handle hostels, you can't go wrong here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalmation999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

With creatively spraypainted walls and a maze of staircases and hallways, this place feels like a restored haunted house. The staff are wonderful, the breakfast is simple, and the location is not too far from the middle of town. Recommended to anyone on a budget who likes to stay somewhere a little different.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTravelBites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This is the second time I've stayed there and am even happier with my experience. We got a private room and it as really cheap. We had a kitchen, washer/dryer, and balcony in our suite which we just had to share with one other room. The hostel is in a really convenient location and the staff is awesome.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanin0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#77 of 164 in Montreal
566 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
The Village (Gay Village)
M Montreal
M Montreal
#1 of 95 in Montreal
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Samesun Montreal Central
Samesun Montreal Central
#2 of 95 in Montreal
121 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge Saint-Paul
Auberge Saint-Paul
#5 of 95 in Montreal
132 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Le Gite Plateau Mont-Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandrie Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandrie Hostel

Property: Alexandrie Hostel
Address: 1750 Amherst, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3L6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > The Village (Gay Village)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 95 Speciality Lodging in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Alexandrie Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acces a laveries gratuite! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alexandrie Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandrie Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing