We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good deal!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
McGill New Residence Hall
Ranked #120 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Orange County, California
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good deal!”
Reviewed 27 June 2010

Good price for Montreal area. Bus stops near front of hotel and you can easily walk to downtown. Don't expect a king size single bed, since this is a student dorm after summer, and rooms are arranged for 2 room mates. Breakfast is limited to $6 worth of food in the cafeteria, then you pay on top of that.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soverdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    37
    23
    26
    13
See reviews for
24
16
15
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2010

Having stayed in Montreal several times it was a pleasure to stay at
the McGill New Residence Hall. Formerly a hotel this Residence is
now part of McGill University's Residences. It is located close
enough to downtown Montreal yet still a few blocks away to get away
from the noise of the downtown core. The New Residence Hall is
within easy walk of all the major shops and the Metro. The Residence
Hall is also connected to a neighbourhood mall with grocery stores,
restaurants, bars, drug store and most of anything you would need.
The room rate that I had also included a voucher towards breakfast
in the Cafeteria. Depending on what you have this voucher will or
could cover all the value of your breakfast. Lunch and dinner need to
be outside the hall as the cafeteria is only open for breakfast. There
are lots of neat bistros and restaurants in the area. When visiting
Montreal I would recommend obtaining a OPUS card -- it is a
rechargable card (like London's Oyster Card) It is good for travel on
the Metro and bus system. Also if you are arriving in Montreal by air
at Pierre Elliott Trudeau airport and do not want to take a taxi to town
try the new 747 Express Bus. Currently the fare is $7.00 one way
(cash only) and includes a 24 hour pass on the rest of the transit
and metro. It operates 24 hours a day 7 days a week.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelRobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2009

Stayed here while at a conference at McGill. The hotel is simply good enough, it's better than the equivalent halls at Imperial in London, and not as good as the Seoul Plaza in Korea: but then one is a five star hotel and the other's a British university halls, so what would you expect.
The room was acceptably warm (Montreal in June was miserable), the bed was comfortable, the breakfast was good but simple (not fancily chopped melon bites and a hundred types of eggs). The staff had a studenty vibe: but then I quite like students.
The metro is about 10 minutes walk at Place-Des-Art, and below the hotel is one of Montreal's mass of underground passageways and malls. Apparently you can navigate a lot of downtown Montreal underground.
The hotel is a couple of hundred metres from the southern edge of Mont Royale, never did find a way onto the park, maybe next time.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wandering_Bukanin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochrane, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2009

I stayed in Bishop Mountain Hall's Molson Hall and I had lots of bed bug like bites each morning I stayed there.

However, I searched the room for all the signs of an infestation or for bugs and I didn't find any evidence. That being said the cinderblock walls leave lots of little places for the bugs to hide out. Since it's hard to say if it's a BB bite for SURE without evidence all I can say was I was getting bites at night and they weren't mosquito bites. There were also smears of blood on the sheets which is another sign of bed bugs.

Upon looking when I got home other McGill residences have confirmed bed bug cases including the most public case in MORE.

Aside from the bugs, the rooms were alright. Price was good. Staff weren't informative but nice. Apparently I got free breakfast (up to $5 each day and wasn't told until the last day after it ended - nice). Lack of knowledge about airport shuttles which ended up in me not getting a pickup shuttle back. No wifi access unless you stay more that 14 nights but free use of computers between 7am and 10 pm. I would prefer wifi personally. The view was great from my room... and since it's on a hill you can see a very lovely cityscape. They call this Bishop Mountain Hall for a reason.... you do have to travel up and down a hill to get there... which is very exausting after a long day of exploring.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pelepassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prato
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2009

I stayed here for over a week as part of a plan to recharge my batteries on a round-the-world trip. I'd been staying in shared hostel rooms and needed some time out on my own.
McGill was just the place, offering single student rooms at a great price.
The location was fantastic, rooms weren't too cramped and the breakfast was generous. The only downside was the lack of air conditioning. Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sorsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranbrook, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2008

I booked this hotel/hostel for the F1 Grand Prix weekend (RIP 1982-2008), it was the most affordable in town!

This hotel was the Renaissance Hotel and was bought by McGill University. The rooms are standard hotel rooms with two queen beds. The difference is there are two desks and two wardrobes in the room(for the Masters students in the winter). There is wireless internet and cable tv. The location is close to subway stops and resturants/shopping/groceries. There is also breakfast served in the hotel everymorning. Under ground parking is available and is attached to the hotel making for an easy in and out.

The Verdict: Though not quite a normal hotel, it is definatly the best spot to stay in Montreal for the budgeted traveler. No need for multi person Hostel rooms!

  • Liked — Price, quality, location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EKTraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, CA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2008

This is an affordable place (use your AAA discount) in a very good location for exploring. Becuase of the varied taxes and higher touristy rates, the $5 free breakfast was welcomed. Be warned. If you get the prepared special (powdered scrambled eggs, bacon or sausage, fried potatoes, coffee or juice and sometimes baked beans, a pancake or a waffle), you will need some serious cholesterol medication. You can do the math up to $5.00 and select healthier choices such as fruit and yogurt. The days we had the prepared breakfast kept us fueled for many hours before we needed to think about food again.

No coffee or tea in the rooms, but ironing board, blow dryer, refirigerator, etc. Not every amenity on every floor. We inquired and found the ice machine on the 5th floor.

The converted hotel rooms offer lots of space and they provide daily maid service. No pool or gym, but you can get your exercise walking. Bus stops are in front and it's only about five blocks to the nearest metro station. Downstairs is a conveniently located post office, two grocery stores, shops to fix your hair or your shoes, and even a Dollorama for extreme budgeting. There is even a cinema with French and English films and some restaurants.

The staff is very friendly but don't mistake them for concierges. They will give you their best guess as to where something is or the time for something, etc., but they gave me some incorrect information and I heard them do that to others, too.

Two free internet stations, one of which works sporadically.
Close to the base of Mount Royal and even fun to walk down Rue Arthur (close by to see the al fresco diners and musicians.)

We bought food from the markets and had several picnic style meals thanks to the refrigerator in the room.

Helpful?
1 Thank 247356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Anne Ma Soeur Anne
Anne Ma Soeur Anne
#88 of 164 in Montreal
120 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Parc Suites Hotel
Parc Suites Hotel
#19 of 164 in Montreal
543 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Casa Bella
Hotel Casa Bella
#118 of 164 in Montreal
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Ville-Marie Montreal Hotel & Suites
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel de l'ITHQ
Hotel de l'ITHQ
#28 of 164 in Montreal
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McGill New Residence Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McGill New Residence Hall

Property: McGill New Residence Hall
Address: 3625 Avenue du Parc, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3P8, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — McGill New Residence Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your McGill New Residence Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcgill New Residence Hall Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing