We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal
Ranked #30 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Old and tired”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Really folks this is the Hilton standard? Still using 1960 AC, televisions, and poor electric outlets (when you can find them). The heating cooling systems in the old Hilton's are just unreliable, loud, and useless. And the rates are not cheap either as it sits across the street from the convention center.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank capitaltreasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,039
    698
    205
    71
    51
See reviews for
578
662
86
506
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beacon Falls, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our group of 6 friends had nothing but praise for the quality of the service we received at the front desk ( thank you Rosie ) and her manager. Our entertainment was handled very well by Jacques who did an outstanding job of recommending and making reservations for us for our travel and dining needs. Everything worth seeing is within reasonable walking distance. We all plan to return before the year end holidays and know what we have to look forward to.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel was mostly a great experience. The location is perfect. Very convenient to Vieux (Old) Montreal sites, restaurants, shopping and the metro (subway). The suite was nice size, clean, and with contemporary decor. The staff was attentive to my needs. The only negative with my experience was the "cooked-to-order" breakfast included with the room. The food was not of high quality. The pancakes were the worst I have ever experienced. The buffet selections were never varied day to day and frequently the food items ran out. There was even a 30 minute period where coffee was not available. It was complete chaos! The staff including cooks were not overly friendly either.

However, all in all, I would still recommend this hotel. A horrible breakfast is only a small bump in the road from an otherwise very pleasant experience.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_in_PokNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

All staff went out of their way to make our visit comfortable. The suite rooms are very nice compared to a hotel room. Very close to the subway which made the downtown easily accessible. Very near to " old Montreal " and all it's great streets and restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 21 are slightly larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max8219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
301 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is located across the street from the convention center, a 5 minute walk to Old Montreal and Notre Dame, a 5 minute walk to Chinatown, and about 15 minutes from shopping on St. Catherine's St. and 20 minutes to al fresco dining at the many restaurants on St. Denis. Also, the Place d'Armes(located in the convention center) and Victoria Square metro stops are within 3-4 minutes walking distance. The hotel was immaculate and updated. The service was friendly and efficient. Our room was huge with a kitchen(full fridge, sink,dishwasher but no cutlery or plates), living room with gas fireplace and sofa bed, small office area with desk, private bedroom with 2 closets, and a large bathroom with separate shower and massive spa tub. The bed was very comfortable and the street quiet. The A/C could be adjusted to the half degree but was a little noisy when it kicked in. Luckily I wear earplugs. An English newspaper was delivered to our room every AM(French for French speakers). Embassy suites always provides a wonderful breakfast every morning and this was no exception with bacon, sausage, eggs, potatoes, pancakes, oatmeal, fruit, cereal, pastries(looked fresh made, not from a box), bagels/toast, a made to order omelette bar and coffees, teas, and juices. As well, every evening from 5-7PM there was a manager's reception for which we were given 2 free drink tickets (alcohol included) and some light snacks (chips, veggies) were provided. There is a room with computers for anyone to use as well as a computer/printer by the front desk to print out boarding passes. WiFi was also free at this hotel. My husband was very impressed given that we picked this hotel over going with the list provided for the convention because the location seemed good and the price was cheaper than the others. I am sorry that we did not bring our kids as there was plenty of room for all of us. I would stay here anytime we visit Montreal.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sabena Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The location of this hotel is across the street from the Montreal Convention Center and adjacent to Old Montreal. This is a great hotel is you are attending a convention there. Also, there is a Starbucks down the street!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Norman W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed in May 2014. Nice suite! Elephant-sized jacuzzi, but narrow shower. Excellent breakfast, helpful staff. Unexpected value in downtown Montreal, literally across the street from the conference center.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Narayanan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Quartier International
Le Westin Montreal
Le Westin Montreal
#29 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,725 reviews
Quartier International
InterContinental Montreal
InterContinental Montreal
#33 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal
Address: 208 Saint Antoine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 0A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Montreal
#23 Family Hotel in Montreal
#24 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites is Montréal's newest downtown "Suite" hotel. With a contemporary style, our uniqueness extends to our "Zen" inspired lobby décor featuring wood paneling and ceilings, black granite floors, and an indoor water display. Offering so much more than ordinary rooms, our 455 square-foot studios and 600 square-foot suites are well equipped; many with full kitchens, fireplaces, and "double" Jacuzzis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing