We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pros and Cons of the Embassy Suites Montreal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal
Ranked #31 of 166 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2010

My wife and I just returned from a 4 night stay at the Embassy Suites in Montreal. It is very highly rate on Tripadvisor, and although we generally enjoyed our stay my wife and I think the Embassy Suites is a bit overrated. I'm going to break this review into sections, as I believe that will be easier to follow and may be more helpful to others.

Location: The location is decent, not great (as others have stated). It's a moderate walk (about 15 minutes) to the main area of Vieux Montreal (Old Montreal) on Rue Saint Paul and a long walk (25+ minutes) to the main area of downtown towards Rue Saint Catherine and Rue Crescent. If you are looking for a hotel close to View Montreal (which is the area we preferred in Montreal), the Saint Sulpice is probably your best bet. If you are looking for a hotel near downtown, look to the Loews. I should note hear that the Embassy Suites is located on the same street as the Westin and InterContinental....and fairly close to the W. The Embassy is better located and less expensive than those three in our opinion.

Front Desk/Concierge: The staff at the Embassy Suites were outstanding. One of the concierge (Frederik?) was particularly helpful. While we're not 100% sure of his name, he definitely resembles Hugh Grant in terms of appearance. All the staff were friendly, helpful, and efficient.

Breakfast/Cocktail Hour/Room Service: The breakfast was complimentary, but was less well organized than other Embassy Suites we have stayed at. There was an omelette station, bacon, sausage, and some croissants, but there were no pastries, pancakes, or other items we're used to seeing at an Embassy Suites (at least the two days we went down for breakfast). I should also note that during the week breakfast ends at 9:30AM, which is early for some people that are on vacation. The cocktail hour was nice and the service was good. You get two drink coupons a day, but many guests that are departing will offer you more. The service was good. Room Service was fast and the food was decent; however the menu is a bit limited. There's no stand alone restaurant at the property, which would have been nice a couple of the days for lunch.

Rooms: We were first placed in a corner King instead of a Custom King (which we had reserved). The staff were completely up front about this and said to come down if we were not satisfied and they would place us in a custom king. We did end up switching to the custom King, as it was much nicer and roomier in our opinion. Our room was on the 3rd floor facing the street. Please do yourself a favor and do not accept a room facing the street; definitely not on on the first five or six floors. The traffic outside was very loud at times and would often wake us. Yes, we could have moved our room. But we had already unpacked everything and didn't want to go through the hassle...which was a mistake. The Embassy Suites could certainly invest in some thicker glass, which would definitely improve its guests experience. The custom king itself looks exactly as pictured on the website. It's a nice room, but for almost $200/night (including all the taxes and fees) we expected it to be a bit more taken care of. There were stains on the carpet and some of the furniture is starting to look a bit worn. The bathroom was also large, but the shower is tiny and the water pressure is not great.

Parking: The fee is about $24/night + tax and the garage is very tight and difficult to navigate in. I'd recommend parking elsewhere.

Overall: It's a mixed review for us. Probably a solid B if we were giving it a grade. I would have no problems recommending the Embassy Suites if the rate is under $200; and would note the actual location and the traffic issues. However, we would probably stay in Old Montreal at the Le Saint-Sulpice or another hotel if our travels take us to Montreal again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLO1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,858 - 1,864 of 2,290 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2010

This hotel is infested with spiders everywhere. I could not believe my eyes. Spiders the size of my fist!!! I was in the gym and a hugggeeee spider fell on my shoulder when I was on the bike and I fell of the bike. If you are a spider lover this is the place for you, if you're not, stay away.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bennyblanco111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

The suites are huge, the staff was great AND you get two free drinks every night (per person) at the Manager's Reception in the bar. Not to mention breakfast (real one with eggs, omlettes and bacon) is included in the price.

Location-wise it is a few blocks from shopping and the main heart of Montreal, but it is close to a metro line, and it is in Old Montreal.

All-in-all, I would live in this hotel if I could. It was modern, friendly and a great deal.

Only downfall are the SLOW elevators. There are only two, and everyone waits forever for them.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinygoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Travelled with my husband while he was doing business. The suite was very spacious and had a jacuzzi in the bathroom. I appreciated the contemporary design. Breakfast was very yummy (made-to-order omelettes) although the line got pretty long at times. Free drinks in the afternoon were a bonus! Having a kitchenette (fridge, microwave, dishwasher) was good but there weren't any glasses, silverware or plates. (We did "borrow" some stuff from the restaurant however... maybe we could have gotten glasses etc if we had asked though). Extremely comfy bed and sheets!

The hotel has a great location for sightseeing in Old Montreal or shopping on Ste Catherine Street, and is right across the road from the conference center. Despite being downtown, it really did not get too loud at night as it was a few blocks away from the party streets. There seemed to be a bix mix in terms of clients - business people , families with kids, and young adults.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LenaCecilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

For just under $200/night including taxes (Orbitz) we had a wonderful four day, three night stay in Montreal and the Embassy Suites helped make it a truly memorable mini-vacation. First, the location was fantastic -- right on the edge of Old Montreal, 2.5 blocks from Notre Dame, across the street from the Convention center and the Place d'Arms metro stop, 5 - 6 blocks from the port and the Science museum.

Our one room suite was both large and comfortable with a nice kitchen with dish washer and microwave oven, a very large bathroom containing a two person jacuzzi tub and a separate shower stall, a living room with pull-out sofa and a bedroom with King bed. All the furnishings were top notch, reasonable new, clean and functional. The two flat panel TVs had a decent amt of HD channels too. The laundry room is on S2. The fitness center had a good assortment of machines.

The service was excellent. Whenever we had a request of the front desk, concierge, or housekeeping maids, we received very prompt service with a smile.

The hotel accepts pets $35 CAN / day.

The breakfast was very good with a lot of choices: cooked to order omelets, fresh fruit, breads & croissants, potatoes, bacon, sausage, cold cereal & juices. It did get very crowded in the peak morning hours as others had mentioned.

To be the perfect hotel, we would have liked the following:
-- far better wireless (we barely got one bar and the speed was very, very slow). We used the business center mostly because of the poor connection in our room (612).
-- cups, plates & utensils in the kitchen (none were available).
-- a swimming pool for the kids
-- the parking was very convenient but cost $22 CAN / day, which is pretty reasonable for a downtown location.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChooChoo4427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

We have stayed in this hotel for two nights and nice and roomy queen bed suite. The room was really big, with large kitchen and living room area and awesome bathroom. Nice Jacuzzi bath tub and very nice shower with good shower head - so it was nice to relax after a long busy day. There were two tv and a fireplace. It is ideal for a larger group or family - it will make a very comfortable and pleasant stay.
Nice touch was the evening reception - were you could have 2 drinks and some snacks. The location was also very good - very close to the old part of Montréal and walking distance to most of the Montréal attractions.
The buffet breakfast was also very good with large selection of food.
Drop me a note if you have any questions.
Thx

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DomTor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Suites are excellent with a modern and warm decoration. Also have small kitchen and jacuzzi. Perfect for all kind of plans. Breakfast buffett is also abundant and manager´s reception in the afternoon is perfect for relax. You can stay in the tables on the street talking in a very nice landscape. All staff is kind and warm. Finally location is fantastic. And of course, Montreal is a very beatiful city.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viajero-Colombiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Quartier International
InterContinental Montreal
InterContinental Montreal
#38 of 166 in Montreal
2,042 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#8 of 166 in Montreal
2,543 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal
Quartier International
Hotel Le Dauphin Montreal Centre-Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal

Address: 208 Saint Antoine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 0A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Montreal
#19 Business Hotel in Montreal
#24 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £100 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites is Montréal's newest downtown "Suite" hotel. With a contemporary style, our uniqueness extends to our "Zen" inspired lobby décor featuring wood paneling and ceilings, black granite floors, and an indoor water display. Offering so much more than ordinary rooms, our 455 square-foot studios and 600 square-foot suites are well equipped; many with full kitchens, fireplaces, and "double" Jacuzzis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing