We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Petite auberge parfaite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atmosphere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Atmosphere
Ranked #67 of 144 Montreal B&B and Inns
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Petite auberge parfaite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

A friend and I stayed at Atmosphere the first weekend of October. The host, Patryck, couldn't have been more accommodating, and made sure everything was perfect on our arrival. We had a smallish room, but that's expected in a gorgeous 19th-century renovation. Patryck cooked two tasty breakfasts, both vegetarian, and spent time telling us about the house, the area, and what we could do on a rainy autumn weekend. If either of us returns to Montreal, we'll be certain to stay.

Room Tip: There are three rooms; one has an ensuite bath, the others share a bath. Otherwise they all seem pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LP_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    23
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
9
107
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

This B&B is as great as all the reviews say that it is. My husband and I stayed for a weekend getaway. It was clean, comfortable, and modern. We stayed in the Sensation room. The bathroom is private, but be warned that there is only a thin, sliding wooden door on the bathroom, and there is a little gap in the door even when it is closed all the way, so it is not completely private from your partner sitting in the bedroom. But not a big deal for couples who are comfortable with each other. The bathroom itself is clean and modern.

Patrick is warm, friendly, and accommodating. Some reviewers implied that his English was not up to par, but I didn't find that to be the case at all. His first language is obviously French, as it should be, but his English was more than adequate for conversation.

The breakfast is over the top and great like everyone says. The rooms are somewhat expensive, but when you factor in free on-street parking and the gourmet breakfast, it's actually pretty reasonable.

The area is a bit off the beaten path, just on the outskirts of the Village - but plenty of decent restaurants within walking distance. We had dinner at Bassaro the first night, and the next night at Coo Rouge. Both casual, good meals. If you are looking for more action, it's only about a 10 minute walk to St. Denis St., which is a bustling street full of restaurants and cafes. We felt comfortable and safe walking back to the B&B after a late dinner.

We rented Bixi bikes, conveniently located near the B&B. Very easy to use and reasonably priced - just $5 for 24 hours of use. All in all a great weekend at a wonderful spot.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayjay510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed at Atmosphere for 7 days at the end of July. The host is great. Breakfasts were exquisite. The location couldn't be better.

Room Tip: The shared bath only serves two rooms so we had no issues getting in when we needed to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mozelstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

Patryck is a magnificent host! The location is an easy walk to the excitement of St. Catherine's but quiet enough that you can sleep peacefully. You will climb two flights of stairs-- one side, one inside-- to reach the rooms but they're worth it! We relaxed on super-soft linens, woke to the smell of excellent, strong coffee brewing, and cleaned up in the beautifully decorated bathroom (complete with sky lights!). Breakfast was delicious and decadent: a huge fresh fruit plate followed by a cheese and tappenade omelet and whole grain toast, with a buttery, flaky homemade sweet roll for dessert. Not to mention the fresh-pressed apple juice. Our only regret? We couldn't stay longer!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siobhan_D24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

Atmosphere is in a quaint townhouse a couple of blocks away from the lively Rue St Katherine so it is strategically located if you are planning to go out drinking and eating a lot in that area, in addition, it is a couple of metro stops away from Mont Royal or View Montreal. We stayed in the Sensation room, which is one of the largest with bathroom ensuite, which we found was stylish and tastefully decorated with mood lighting (little stars in the wall) in addition to the normal lights and modern amenities such as Fridge and flat screen TV.
Patrick the owner/manager spares no effort to make you feel at home. In addition to allowing you to choose whatever time you want for breakfast, he had no issue letting us use the stove for cooking if we wanted to (I had my italian coffee pot with me).
Then of course is the breakfast. My Goodness, a 3 course meal consisting of fruit, crepes with apple compote and frozen joghurt with blueberry compote. It was the most incredible breakfast we have had the whole holiday (probably ever) and to use his expression "it would sort you out for the day". It certainly did, although it was 36 degrees outside and I needed a siesta after it!!! (just kidding)
I absolutely recommend it to everyone, it may not be the cheapest stay in Montreal but it is worth every penny.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gianni0567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa barbara,california
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We really enjoyed our two night stay at Atmosphere at the end of May.Our room,'Sensation',
was extremely well appointed,coupled with a very comfortable bed. Our room,plus the beautiful bathroom was as clean a place as we have ever stayed.Our gracious owner and host,Patryck cooked two exceptional organic breakfasts for us.
Thanks,
Ralph and Vicki

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sbcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
186 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

The B&B is conveniently located, being very close to The Village - which makes for a nice walk in to the historic area - and also to the main restaurant area of Rue St Denis; therefore the free parking is a real bonus in such a central spot . Patryck has been very faithful to his green ethics and has created a tasteful, artistic loft space in a converted Victorian terrace. The typical Montreal staircase outside precedes a beautiful (if steep and inaccessible for the less able bodied) wooden staircase. The open plan entrance and dining area also features beautiful wood (you can understand his insistence that you take off your shoes!) The brick-lined 'Passion' room we stayed in featured a bamboo blind for privacy from the balcony, a fridge and a ceiling fan. It was directly off the dining area - and its at times like this that we regretted the weight restrictions of transatlantic crossings, since both at night and in the morning we felt a little exposed accessing the shared bathroom (we wished we had the option of packing dressing gowns, as getting dressed in the middle of the night to go to the toilet was a little awkward, especially as the room was tight for space). Patryck proved to be a very loquacious and engaging host. He provides a beautiful, freshly prepared breakfast of fresh fruit, cooked options (which included cheese and spinach stuffed crepes; waffles with organic maple syrup) and patisserie. A good place to stay to see the city

Room Tip: Make sure you select Sensation to guarantee a private bathroom and a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veggiemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
The Village (Gay Village)
Alexandre Logan (1870)
Alexandre Logan (1870)
#19 of 144 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Maison Des Jardins
Maison Des Jardins
#13 of 144 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Gite Ocoin B&B
Gite Ocoin B&B
#16 of 144 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Village (Gay Village)
Le Chasseur B&B
Le Chasseur B&B
#41 of 144 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
L'Escogriffe B&B
L'Escogriffe B&B
#46 of 144 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
A l'Adresse du Centre-Ville
A l'Adresse du Centre-Ville
#11 of 144 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atmosphere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atmosphere

Property: Atmosphere
Address: 1933 rue Panet, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3A1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > The Village (Gay Village) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Atmosphere 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner for the best B&B in Montreal and Province the Quebec. Winner for the first B&B in )Montreal, Quebec and Canada) for the Sustainable Development. The location is on a quiet street and 6 minute walking (metro Beaudry) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Atmosphere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing