We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grim!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Plateau Royale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Plateau Royale
Ranked #142 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Grim!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

This place is awful!!! We called in advance and were quoted $65 - however when we got there we were charged $94. The place is filthy and in urgent need of a lick of paint. Someone had punched a hole in the bedroom door and the carpets were filthy. Saying that the beds were fairly clean and the shower was hot. The room was dark,dingy and grim. Avoid like the plague!!

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    21
    26
    16
    38
See reviews for
21
46
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

That's about it, a good deal, beds and towels are clean but the rest is in need of a serious updated and a fresh coat of paint would hurt. The carpet seemed clean,
No parking, noisy if you have the room on the street side or near the stairs and no elevator.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tracklock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

My lady came to Montreal to see me and we had already had a lousy experience with an Old Montreal hotel. The Plateau Royale is located on a main but quieter street (Park Avenue), maybe 20 minutes walk from downtown, very close to buses and subways, and what I thought were extremely good rates. (I agree that if you have a car this is not the hotel you want,. But we do not.) The breakfast is absolutely nothing special and we skipped it most days.
The rooms were basic, but the first one had a working TV, decent space, comfortable bed, free wifi, and only a few stairs to go down. (NONE of which were included at our last hotel.) When we decided to stay a third night, we moved across the hall into a room that frankly was not ready for visitors (no shelf in bathroom, no closet, not even a dresser for our clothes, and a poor view if a parking lot and we should have had a discount for that inconvenience). Still, the staff was courteous, helpful and friendly, lending us a DVD player, helping fix a broken toilet, providing us with extra sheets and towels, and certainly accommodating.
Because of the rates/location, I will very likely stay at this hotel again. I agree that (at least in the second room) the walls were thin enough to hear what was going on in the other rooms but not so distracting as to keep us awake when we went to sleep. And for a couple's getaway, you are either in bed, sleeping or not, or not in your room. For what WE needed, the price and service were just short of excellent (WOULD have been excellent had we been allowed to retain our room). YMMV

Room Tip: Get a room facing Park Avenue and not the parking lot. I am told parking is expensive. Do not come w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lou I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

Parking was a disaster, they have only six spots and charge $25+tax/per night to park in a dark, dingy, secluded, graffiti ridden alley behind the hotel (see pics). You can find cheaper and far safer parking downtown!!!The room itself was fairly clean and VERY basic. Not even an alarm clock. Paper thin walls to which you could hear all activity in/outside the hotel. There are no elevators so if you have lots of luggage you'll have to carry up/down stairs. Lastly, calling their breakfast a continental breakfast is like calling a house cat a lion. It was merely two loaves of bread put on the table with a toaster, and a pot of coffee and a tiny bit of cereal.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelinChimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

I have been traveling to 15 different countries. This is the worst experience ever!!!
First, there is no parking, and street parking is very tricky. They have different rules for parking on each side of the street. Also, the hotel manager knows we parked on the wrong side of the street, but he didn't tell us. (Really confused about this, MAYBE he just didn't know???) So, We got a $145 parking ticket on our first day.
Second, they charge you trickily, we booked the hotel over the phone, and the lady told us $79/per night, but, after staying there 3 nights, they charge us $316 (the amount of money for 4 nights) plus tax, and there is no rate and no detailed information on the receipt. I called them, was told that they will get back to me in 24hrs, but, they never did. I called again next day, as soon as they know it is me, they put me on hold forever.... what a terrible hotel!!!
Third, there is a night club next door, it is very very noisy during weekend nights.
Forth, the breakfast was crap, only few piece of bread, cheerio, coffee, milk. We didn't even eat anything, and there is nobody eat there, since they really have nothing to eat.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank G N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Look, this place isn't fancy but functional. They do themselves a disservice with the general entrance and stairs/hall which is pretty shabby. The room was fairly clean (most importantly the bed and bathroom were spot on, but when trying to find another plug it became clear its been a while since the hoover seen behind the bed/locker). But the staff were great, wifi was perfect, bed was comfortable enough. We didnt get up for breakfast so can't comment on that. We only stayed the one night as a stop gap and it done the job, but prob wouldnt use it as my base for the whole holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amolta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwich Port, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

My niece and I stayed two nights and found the Hotel Plateau Royale to be more than we expected. Staff was generally very pleasant and informative. The complimentary breakfast, while lacking in variety or quality, was filling.

The room, #38, we had was huge. And the beds are excellent. Shower was hot and kept flowing. Room was a bit beat-up (small dents in wall & spots of peeling paint), but basically clean. Actually also had a walk-in closet. Bathroom is small but not impossible.

Location is average for city. Very close to Mont Royal Park and to athletic facilities in the Park. You can walk to downtown Montreal in about 20 minutes. And, of course, every neighborhood in Montreal, including those near the hotel, has its shops and bars.

Some interesting dining options nearby though we did not partake because we are vegetarians.
Street is busy, but our room was quiet, even though we faced the street.

We were on the 3rd floor and I would recommend requesting that floor or the 2nd - otherwise you have quite a climb.

Parking is a problem. The nearby streets are all metered or restricted for use by residents. We spent over $40 during the two days we stayed.

At first we tried to use the pay-as-you-go method using the kiosks they have on the sidewalk (very convenient and easy to use), but having to worry about running out of time proved frustrating. So, for the second night we paid $20 for a 24 hour parking spot off the alley behind the hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and I would recommend requesting that floor or the 2nd - otherwise you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Hotel Viger
Hotel Viger
#109 of 164 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Elegant
Hotel Elegant
#116 of 164 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Anne Ma Soeur Anne
Anne Ma Soeur Anne
#88 of 164 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Casa Bella
Hotel Casa Bella
#114 of 164 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#82 of 164 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Le Saint Andre
Hotel Le Saint Andre
#102 of 164 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plateau Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plateau Royale

Property: Hotel Plateau Royale
Address: 4555 Avenue du Parc, Montreal, Quebec H2V 4E4, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal , Mile-End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Plateau Royale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Plateau Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plateau Royale Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing