We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, but keep expectations realistic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Plateau Royale
Ranked #138 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good value, but keep expectations realistic”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I'll start by saying that the two of us got a comfortable king-size bed, centrally located in one of North America's great cities, with breakfast and passable wifi, for $60/night, all-in (prepaid via Expedia; your mileage may vary). I'm going to make some critical observations in coming paragraphs, but I do so in that context.

Our room for the first night smelled strongly of cigarettes (although the entire hotel is nominally non-smoking, as are all hotels in Quebec). We were promptly and cheerfully relocated for the remainder of our stay. The staff seemed responsive and friendly in general.

Furnishings are worn and outdated, but we saw no obvious signs of uncleanliness in our room. Large dresser, closet, decent bathroom. No desk/table, and one rather tattered armchair. Zero ambiance—this is not exactly a romantic getaway—but perfectly liveable.

Walls and floors are quite thin, so light sleepers will need to cross their fingers that they'll be blessed with considerate neighbours. I slept fine, but required earbuds and white noise on my iPhone.

Breakfast is bare-bones (toast, muffins, cereal, tea and coffee). Apples and oranges would be a welcome and affordable addition, but whatever. Enough to get you going in the morning. What, you were expecting fresh-squeezed orange juice, waffles and fresh-baked croissants for $60/night?

Public areas of the hotel are clearly neglected. Stairwell walls are heavily scuffed and gouged by years of luggage (stairway is rather narrow; there is no elevator), and carpeting is worn. Noticed an M&M dropped on one of the stairs, and it's still there several days later, which doesn't exactly suggest attention to detail. A fresh coat of paint, new carpets, and a daily pass with the vacuum would make a world of difference.

A large Provigo (large supermarket) is an easy five-minute walk away, with a Pharmaprix a block beyond that. Bus connections are excellent. There's an excellent patisserie/cafe across the street, and Montreal's best vegetarian restaurant, Lola Rosa, is three doors down. For energetic travellers, Mount Royal Park, a half block away, offers great hiking and excellent city vistas. Lots of non-touristy shopping and dining in the area.

There is no free parking, and parking in the area is scarce and expensive. We did not have our car with us on this trip. (Hotel Le St. Andre is a better option for drivers).

In short, this is NOT a hotel to choose if you have any illusions of pampering yourself. If you're seeking a cheap, central and convenient place to crash at the end of the day, and you're not particularly picky, you could do much worse.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank TallDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    21
    26
    16
    38
See reviews for
21
46
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I was careless not to have read others' reviews when I booked this hotel. They cheat you when it comes to final billing price. Your booking clearly states the price you need to pay for the number of people staying with them. But they bill an extra CAD 15 per day citing no reason. Invariably every guest ends up with a much bigger bill. This defeats reason. I think this needs to be taken up with consumer redressal forum as every single review has mentioned this excess charge during billing.
The hotel being old and filthy adds to your woes. A sense of being stabbed in the back was how I felt when they refused to entertain my complaint on this overcharging of CAD 30 for 2 days. I was later horrified to note that every single guest is being overcharged like this. Please...... beware! Do not book in this hotel unless you have nowhere else to go!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PoornaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montreal hotels

New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I had a very disappointing experience with this hotel. When we tried to book online for 2 people, the rate shown was $58. I changed the number of people to 3 and the rate shown was $67. I compared this rate with other hotels and booked this hotel for 3 adults because of their lower rate. The hotel charged us $15 more per day, saying the rate $67 is for 2 people only. They had no explanation for the rate difference shown in their online booking for 2 people versus 3. The front office clerk refused to note down the complaint. I think honesty and integrity is more important than anything else. I hope others are more careful and are more aware of these deceptive practice.

In addition the rooms were very noisy in the night. Lots of partying people and road noise made it impossible to sleep

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldGoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

August 2013 we booked this via booking.com and the price was clearly stated at CAD 246. We actually had to pay 400 CAD, including 20 CAD for iday parking which is a nightmare there. Breakfast is bad even by North American standards and the floors are dirty.
Think twice before using this place, it was our only bad experience during the entire trip to Canada.

Room Tip: No lift so stay low as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UtrechtMobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I would not go to that place again ever even for free. I stayed there for 4nights the staff are nice but the building itself need help badly. furniture are falling apart, the shower get supper hot on you. they charge you $20 a night for parking. there is no microwave, no refrigerator, no flat screen tv the carpet is old and dirty. everything about that place is old and filthy there was writing on the bedroom wall. That place should've been a low class motel. the room are small there is no cafeteria.

Room Tip: go see for yourself if u don't believe me
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luctamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

The hotel was very basic. When I got there I felt like the main check in lady was cheating me. The stay was supposed to be around 170 for two nights and it ended up being almost 300. Parking is six spots in the back of hotel but you can only get in if someone lets you in from the back of the hotel. As far as location goes, it is a good location. Close to main downtown and everything is walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sbetancu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

This place is awful!!! We called in advance and were quoted $65 - however when we got there we were charged $94. The place is filthy and in urgent need of a lick of paint. Someone had punched a hole in the bedroom door and the carpets were filthy. Saying that the beds were fairly clean and the shower was hot. The room was dark,dingy and grim. Avoid like the plague!!

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Anne Ma Soeur Anne
Anne Ma Soeur Anne
#87 of 165 in Montreal
123 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel Kutuma
Hotel Kutuma
#49 of 165 in Montreal
331 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Pensione Popolo
Pensione Popolo
#101 of 145 in Montreal
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parc du Mont-Royal
Casa Bianca
Casa Bianca
#38 of 145 in Montreal
94 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Bienvenue B&B
Bienvenue B&B
#67 of 145 in Montreal
33 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Lentracte Home
Lentracte Home
#23 of 96 in Montreal
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plateau Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plateau Royale

Property: Hotel Plateau Royale
Address: 4555 Avenue du Parc, Montreal, Quebec H2V 4E4, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal , Mile-End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Plateau Royale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Plateau Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plateau Royale Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing