We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best in Montreal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Europea

Europea
Reserve with OpenTable
Europea is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 5,657 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$67 - US$89
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Cross street: Sainte Catherine
Transit: Metro Peel on the green line
Description: Restaurant Europea has become an essential spot on Montreal scene, a gastronomic "rendez-vous" rich in colour and flavour. Flattered by all the gourmet critics, you will share an outstanding experience offered by the creative and modern cuisine of Chef Jerome ferrer and his 22 chefs team. (named chef of the year, restaurant of the year, "maitre cuisinier de France" An unforgetable moment in a charming Victorian mansion in the heart of downtown Montreal ...When the cuisine becomes an art!
Montreal canada
Level Contributor
180 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“One of the best in Montreal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

I have been going to Europea since it opened 10 years ago.I had lunch today and as always the food and service we're great.The lunch menu changes occasionnaly.I even had cooking lessons a few times which we're very enjoyable. I always go for lunch because the prices are very reasonnable for such quality.For me and my friends it's always a nice treat to go to Europea.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,765
    307
    132
    49
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A lovely dining experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

We were lucky enough to be the guests of Chef Jerome Ferrer recently. We received an 17 course tasting/dinner for four from a donation to a fundraiser my husband attended, valued at almost $900.

We called the restaurant to reserve and the staff was very kind and helpful and followed up to confirm our reservations. They let us know there was paid parking adjacent to the restaurant, also that the dress code was business chic.

We visited the restaurant last Friday night. We were all dressed quite nicely. Many people were walking through the door in very casual attire, some were turned away and asked to make reservations.

We entered the quaint restaurant and were greeted by the hostess which seated us immediately. The main floor was narrow and there were some casual diners. We were happy to go upstairs to the second level which seemed more romantic, dark. We were seated close to the stairs right in a little nook, across the wine room and kitchen/serving area. Not the best spot. There was an open area with windows and some private rooms in the back that seemed much nicer.

We all looked at one another not sure what to expect, first impression told us to bolt for the door but the team of waiters were quite welcoming and we were put at ease quickly.

We informed them we were not ordering off the menu instead we were having the large tasting and presented them with our certificate. They were kind and treated us well. They brought out our first appetizer tray. Followed by another one. The servings were finger size, very small but the presentation was nice. We were offered some bread and sparking water in the meantime.

Our meals were all complemented by various wines, all were incredible! The staff really knew how to describe the plates and the wines. By the fourth tasting plate we were thinking we would be hungry but boy were we mistaken! Not even half way in we were stuffed, in a good way. Remember 17 courses, small but tasty and lovely!

Our favourites would have to be the gnocchi, the lobster soup, the calamari type pasta, the hen, fois grois. Well come to think of it, everything was very good :)

Dessert was a few courses as well, the moskato champagne (yum), fresh cotton candy, donut type sweets, small pastries, a delicious chocolate ball with ice cream and mango sauce. Everything was exquisite!

Our main waiter MARTIN was a delight, he was knowledgable, entertaining and very professional. We even had the pleasure of tasting their famous VEAL CHEEKS dinner.
Now that was a treat!

We spent over 4 hrs. at dinner and had a great time with our friends and the staff.

Can't wait to visit again, it's a great place for a special occasion. I loved having the tasting because now I know what I want to order next time we visit - the calamari inspired pasta!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mtlnewbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Creativity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Brilliant food, best service, such a delightful dining experience. You will be surprised by the creativity of the chef, the originality and presentation of dishes. It is a must, for a special occasion. Quite pricey, but it is worth it.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank EmpireB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downey, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“tasting menu A+++”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

This place has a fantastic tasting menu! It's not cheap, but it is definitely worth the money. I also suggest the wine pairing! The food is delicious and whimsically presented, and the wine is a great pairing for the courses!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cvithlani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Dramatic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

This was an organised visit while my husband and I were attending a conference so I didn't choose my own food but WOW! Incredible food served in such an interesting way....a box of smoke with a tiny morsel of salmon inside....a hot stone inside a glass dome with fois gras cooking on it....a chocolate lollipop covered in hazelnut and
popping candy to name a few of the many courses we had. Delioious!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JoSaint51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Europea also viewed

 

Been to Europea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing