We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal”
Review of Europea

Europea
Reserve with OpenTable
Europea is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 5,939 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$74 - US$101
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Cross street: Sainte Catherine
Transit: Metro Peel on the green line
Description: Restaurant Europea has become an essential spot on Montreal scene, a gastronomic "rendez-vous" rich in colour and flavour. Flattered by all the gourmet critics, you will share an outstanding experience offered by the creative and modern cuisine of Chef Jerome ferrer and his 22 chefs team. (named chef of the year, restaurant of the year, "maitre cuisinier de France" An unforgetable moment in a charming Victorian mansion in the heart of downtown Montreal ...When the cuisine becomes an art!
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I don't want to get into too much detail because a lot of the reasons we loved this place were the surprises. We did the full degustation menu along with two drinks. The service was the best we've ever experienced from both waiters and many of the dishes, while small, were some of the best or the best we've had in those styles. It was the most expensive meal we've had, but it was the best one and worth it for the experience.

Thank themanofec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean T, Restaurant Manager at Europea, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear themanofec,

Thank you very much for your 1st visit to the restaurant Europea. We can understand that you indulged yourselves by choosing the tasting menu. If you come only once then it is the good choice and to opt for the selection of the wines by the glass of our wine experts' team.

Sincerely Yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

995 - 999 of 2,540 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

From the moment you sit down the food is flowing. I was not expecting such great service and definitely how attentive they were. My wife and I really enjoyed our meal and the experience. The only thing I didn't like was that the wine decanter had a small chip on it. With bottles of wine ranging from 50 to 1500, I think that they can and should buy a new one.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dogma123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean T, Directeur du restaurant at Europea, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour Dogma123,

Merci pour etre venu essayer notre restaurant ce mois ci et heureux de voir que votre 1er avis sur Tripadvisor soit sur l'Europea. Merci pour votre derniere remarque que j'ai partage avec notre Chef Sommelier.

Au plaisir de vous servir prochainement,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We visited Montreal for our anniversary and wanted a special dinner to celebrate our 10 years together. As it was our first time there, I was pleasantly surprised when we received a hand written note from the chef welcoming us to europea. The food was fantastic, the sommelier's wine recommendation matched our meal perfectly. I loved all of it and will go back when I revisit Montreal. The icing on the cake was the meringue that they gave us at the end of the night, great remembrance for a very special night!

Thank bharkison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean T, Restaurant Manager at Europea, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear bharkison,

First and foremost and on behalf our team, I would like to congratulate both of you for your 10th Wedding Anniversary. It always a great pleasure to see than people decide to come and celebrate these special event in our restaurant.

Sincerely Yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This is the second time I was in Europea for dinner. The service is always top notch and the food good enough to die for. Since I last visited about 2 yrs ago, their service and chef's standards have further improved. I ordered a chef's tasting menu which is usually a bit pricey, but it is worth every single penny.

The scallops, chicken and the sea bass were brilliant and so was the creative presentation of each and every item. Service was as usual absolutely top class and all of us had a great time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kolkatacool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean T, Restaurant Manager at Europea, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear kolkatacool,

Thank you very much for your 2nd visit but especially for your feedback on your last dinner in August. The last Tasting Menu is a real success and everybody love the Seabass cooked on a bed of hay and Citrus.

We look forward to serving you again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I have been to this restaurant 3 times in the last 4 years and I have never been disappointed. I recently went for lunch and food and service were both excellent. The lunch menu is more affordable and will allow you to experience all that Europea has to offer with a less expensive bill in the end. A MUST if you enjoy fine cuisine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Binou1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean T, Restaurant Manager at Europea, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Binou1979,

Thank you very much for your 3rd visit this August. If you come for the lunch to Europea is a right way to discover Jérôme Ferrer's cooking. We are only opened every day from Tuesday till Friday and Monday during December.

Sincerely Yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Europea also viewed

 

Been to Europea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing