We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bistro Oasis”
Review of Le Grand Comptoir

Le Grand Comptoir
Ranked #727 of 5,775 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Bistro Oasis”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Bushed after a 6 mile hike around Old Montreal, the Latin Quarter and Chinatown, we were on our last legs but still hadnt found the compelling pit-stop for lunch. Then, seeing a crowded open-air bistro evidently frequented by locals, we sannexed a newly vacated table and refreshed ourselves with food and wine. It fitted the bill perfectly. Onwards and upwards.....

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hunger4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    40
    15
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best value and unexpected quality”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

A small informal restaurant unobtrusively located on Phillips Square. Well worth the visit. We had the special,Osso bucco (pork),, and third person had salmon----prepared superbly and an indication of the popularity was that we got the last two entrees left. Service was excellent and personal---one of the owners waited on us. Prices were very reasonable and quality was what one might expect from a much more expensive restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joyce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“What a great find!!”
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

My friend and I came across this place this evening and decided to give it a go and I'm so glad we did! This is a classic French bistro; great food, great value for money and great service. Both the gentleman and the lady serving us were welcoming and helpful when we asked questions about items on the menu. My friend had the pork tenderloin in mustard sauce and I had the daily special. Both meals came with a delicious soup with French baguette and butter, along with frites and a fresh crunchy salad. I couldn't fault any of it - I only wish we had room for the tarte tartin! I would definitely recommend and go back again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Choccied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The staff were great and the food was very good. Our first meal in Montreal, it was a good start to our trip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enola, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Ate here our first night in Montreal and it was right near our hotel. We ate outside. I had a meal that came with sausage, fries, a salad, and soup to start. The meal was delicious. The server was able to explain what the menu items were that I did not understand since it was in French. Decent prices as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LinaK221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Grand Comptoir also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Le Grand Comptoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing