We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food at a sensible price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Grand Comptoir

Le Grand Comptoir
Ranked #460 of 5,657 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food at a sensible price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

This was a perfectly acceptable small restaurant that served food of a good quality. The menu wasn't extensive but what there was provided just about enough of a choice to satisfy most people id have thought. Service was professional and there was a fair turnover of people which usually suggests a reasonable place to eat.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gavvac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    39
    12
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
montreal
Level Contributor
104 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Surprizing quality, price value, & service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This Bistro is in a long narrow setting, crowded & rather noisy at lunch hour, but settles down to quiet shortly thereafter. Special of the day is always good & ample. They have a good quality wine, reasonably priced that is changed periodically. Service is excellent, even during the busiest period. We had the special - an outstanding vegetable soup, followed by a chicken dish with fines herbs, served in an excellent flavored wine sauce, accompanied by superb veggies which were zucchinis, red & green peppers, etc. All this for 16.95 each. I overdid it a bit by ordering a side order of their homemade frites maison with their homemade mayonnaise which we shared.
Price, quality, service, this place provides all that. However, don't expect the atmosphere of a romantic restaurant; remember it is a French type bistro. We return often when in the area, & we request to be served by Dillon, who has been a waiter there for 20 years.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vacationer342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
490 reviews
306 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“More than a bistro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Unassuming from the street, I'm surprised by how comprehensive the menu is. The salmon I had was very nicely done. And every dish comes with soup and salad. Much better than the lunches I am accustomed to. Bravo and encore!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, Ontario
Level Contributor
162 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“A terrific, and reasonable, little Bistro with a unique approach to food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

During the Scotties Tournament of Hearts Women's Curling Championships, held in February of this year, my wife and I went down to Montreal to watch some of the games live, and to enjoy Montreal as much as the frigid weather in early February would permit. As always, we try to discover new places to savour the city's foods.

On this occasion, we stayed at Hotel Le Square Philips in the city centre area. Given our unfamiliarity with the area, we were unsure as to how lucky we would be in finding enjoyable places to eat for the three nights we would be in Montreal.

It was a very windy, and cold, while we were in Montreal and Sebastién, the Concierge at Hotel Le Square Philips, suggested that there were some wonderful restaurants just a few doors down the street, all facing the square. Our worries were groundless. On our first night, we ventured out with a confidence which was well founded.

We selected Le Grand Comptoir for our first evening and arrived at 7:00pm, having made a reservation which was not necessary on this, particular frigid Wednesday.

Le Grand Comptoir is a small and extremely popular at lunch time, Bistro style restaurant which becomes a relaxed and pleasant, destination for an evening of food and wine. For 15 years, host, Sergio and his staff have created a refuge in the heart of Montreal where one is able to enjoy a freshly made, and creative menu of items which reflect the cuisine of locally sourced foods prepared simply, and with great care. The menu offerings present one with a wonderful palate full of flavours. The unique approach to food choices makes it easy to understand why Le Grand Comptoir is so popular with so many in Montreal.

We arrived and received a welcome which one would expect for regular patrons. A nice touch when "out of town". Sergio seated us, and offered the day's specials and presented the menu for us to consider. Once he was sure that all was well, he left us alone to get settled and consider our choices. Only when we signalled did he come over to assist. His patience with our decision making process was welcomed as there were so many good choices…

Given the cold out side (and despite the fact that we had to walk less 1/2 block from hotel to the entrance of Le Comptoir) we selected the day's soup offering. It was a hearty, well seasoned creamed potato and herb soup. A perfect start. For our mains, my wife chose the evening's Special which was a wild rice, apricot and herb stuffed Chicken Breast with a rich apricot sauce. She found the chicken to be moist and full of flavour. The sauce was rich, and a perfect accompaniment to the dish. One thing that she is very particular about is the preparation and coking of the accompanying vegetables. In this case, they were perfectly done. My choice of the Cassoulet was made as much for the weather outside as my being a fan of this, traditional French Bistro dish. To my great pleasure, the duck was not the normally stingy sliver of meat, but rather a full confit of duck leg, along with a wonderful rustic sausage and a large portion of grilled pork belly. The beans were just perfect, as was the minimal sauce which completed the serving. I have had many Cassoulets but this was near the top, if not right there! In both cases, presentation was attraction and enticing.

Sergio suggested a wonderful Château Gran Jean Réserve red ( which was priced very fairly at only twice retail) to accompany our meal. Perfect.

All, in all, this was a wonderful evening of very good food, wine and hospitality. The welcome and the service were second to none.

We have family in Montreal, and like to get there as often as we can to visit them, and their children. Montreal is a special city, and is a place in which we love to spend time. Discovery of Le Grand Comptoir, and Sergio's hospitality, will add another reason for us to wish to return.

Le Grand Comptoir is accessible from anywhere in the city, located on the Metro Green Line just near the McGill Station on the east side of Le Square Phillips.

Le Grand Comptopir is one of those terrific little places in Montreal where food, and customer satisfaction, are foremost. That the pricing is very reasonable only adds to the enjoyment, and value offered at this treasure.

Thank you, Sergio and crew.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Grimsbybud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco CA
Level Contributor
104 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“I Think They Try....But....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Lovely, welcoming staff but the food is really nothing special. Prices are fair for the fare. Although it is pretty crowded at lunchtime, it's open all day so okay for a mid-afternoon meal. And the location is conveniently in downtown Montreal, right down the street from The Bay.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JBGall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Grand Comptoir also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Le Grand Comptoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing