We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner”
Review of Buffet Maharaja

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Buffet Maharaja
Ranked #3,911 of 5,705 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Neighbourhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

This restaurant claims to be halal- I sincerely doubt it is, the waiter staff weren't even sure if it was halal or not!
It was empty and the food looked as though it had been out for a while...

Helpful?
Thank Mina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    24
    22
    21
    74
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Horrible experience”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I just got out of the restaurant and had to warn others to stay away.

Firstly I had visited this place in 2008- the food was delicious THEN. I don't know what changed since 2008 but I have nothing positive to say about the place.

The food is bland. Most of the curries have a similar base. The food is definitely not authentic at all. Worst of all, it is NOT fresh. There wasn't a single dish that I liked and left the place hungry. I could not wait for the bill to arrive.

Decor is outdated. Wait staff is friendly. However, I think the place lacked professionalism since I saw a man( maybe upper management) yelling at the staff in their native language- very inappropriate and really spoils the dining experience.

If you are REALLY hungry and just want to stuff yourself with food at a good price, then it is ok. I still wouldn't go here though.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lyz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be :o(”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This Indian Buffet has been around for many years but over the last few years it's gone downhill. Still very good value but service and cleanliness is an issue. All the staples are good Butter Chicken , Tandori , Beef Vindalo . Don't have high expectations and you will be pleased

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luvdabeach619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WORST INDIAN FOOD”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Our family ate lunch at Maharaja restaurant…ABSOLUTELY the WORST tasting Indian food. What a WASTE of money. While paying, when we told waiter, he smirked and retorted rudely: “everyone has an opinion”—no regret whatsoever. The curries were cold, tasteless, only Matar Paneer was any good. So were Papad & Onion rings. Nans were cold, palak paneer had uncooked palak, even the normal MOST basic potato curry was tasteless. Small Ras Malai balls tasted yucky !!! Pakoras had NO taste. Even first timer would make better tasting food. They ought to send their cooks to India for training. Montreal’eans---go to other Indian restaurants and taste what food should taste.

The credit card machine stopped in between so I asked him why this happened. He looked at it and said-- “No Tip !!!” and I was thinking ‘this guy has guts…he still expects a tip. And for what ?? This is buffett lunch. Tip is given for providing service and is not a right !!!

Maybe their downtown location is keeping them going. They should shut down and stop fleecing innocent public.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sanjay g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible food”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Originally from India. Tasteless food . Not a single item on the buffet is delicious. Just tasteless
This is worst Indian buffet I had

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buffet Maharaja also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 
Montreal, Quebec
Longueuil, Quebec
 

Been to Buffet Maharaja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing