We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home made from Morocco”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Couscous Royal

Couscous Royal
Ranked #3,301 of 5,668 Restaurants in Montreal
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Neighbourhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Home made from Morocco”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

This restaurant has soul, the desert wind warms you up on a cold winter night - the atmosphere is simple and authentic - don't expect anything fancy, bring your wine and relax into it - owned by the same Moroccan family for the last 22 years. Not as refined as other restaurants in town but honest.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimenita55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
86 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Cozy, quaint and quirky”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

This place is quaint and a little quirky. It's a great place if you are looking for something a little different. The restaurant looks like a house when you enter (ie the main door is a house door) and the interior is cozy.We had lamb, cous cous and veggies with lots of appetizers. It's bring your own wine so our restaurant bill for 2, tax and tip included was only $62.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeeNBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Algeria
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Can do better”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I decided to take my colleagues and make them taste a real coucous @ Cousouc Royal.
The decoration was quite unusual to my friends as there were carpets hangining on the walls and the roof and that made us feel as if we were in a berber tent. However, the decoration could have been better (paintings, plates ...)
We ordered salads, tajines and couscous ... the food was very good. I expected the tajines to be presented in the traditional dish called tajine itself, but I was so disappointed when the waiter presented it on a normal dish.
I beleive that this restaurant should work on 4 things:
1- improve decoration (including plates and glasses)
2- change the menu, by adding an English description of the dishes
3- reduce the waiting time (it took ever between the starter and the main, and nobody told us anything)
4- accept american express cards

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Konak_Hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goderich, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Solid meal”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

A group of 8 of us tried this place for dinner. It had a nice atmosphere and excellent service. We ate upstairs and the evening was warm so the temperature inside was HOT. But the company and the food made for a fun evening. I had been looking for a meal that compared to one I had in Paris, France and although this was not as good, it was a good meal for the price. This is a Bring your Wine restaurant.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tellulaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and byob!”
Reviewed 12 October 2008

Food really was excellent. Had the Harissa soup, assorted salads and Chicken with Lemon. Chicken wasn't intensly lemon, but delicious. The Pastille or bastilla as it's known in other places was perfect. The salad was fresh (hadn't been sitting around and perfectly seasoned. Service was attentive, but also we were given a lot of space and told not to hurry. Oh and the desserts were tiny but filled with sweetness and delectable with the accomponiement of fresh mint tea.

Helpful?
1 Thank ggchov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Couscous Royal also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Couscous Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing