We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good!”
Review of L'Express

L'Express
Ranked #39 of 5,820 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$99
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Cross street: Roy & Duluth
Transit: Metro Sherbrooke, 3 streets north or metro Mont-Royal, 3 streets south; a five minutes walk in both directions.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Great quails. Service good although they do tend favour regulars more so than the occasional customer or tourist. Icon in Montreal. Black and white palette still functions. Parking is very difficult and prices for a bistrot a bit pricey. Excellent wine list. Good for early dinner or late night to see and be seen.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Giovanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    533
    297
    91
    27
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great dinning experience”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

must try octopus lentil salad. It alone will make you comeback time and time again. They give you pickles and dijon on the side to go with your bread and butter, so good. They have a dessert which is meringue covered in caramel like a candy apple. a must try also

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Never disappointed! Love this place”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have been to Monteal so many times I have lost count and each time we eat here without fail. Lunch or dinner - its all good. Service is right on and the food is amazing. Can get a bit loud with a full house as all is hard surface but that's just part of the experience! I travel to Canada for pleasure but travel the USA for business often and this is still one of my all time favorites.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank susan-lincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brossard, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice french-bistro ambiance”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We've frequented here before, but am writing this review now to share my experience.

This is a small restaurant and, therefore, it's best to reserve beforehand. It can get frequently busy.
Started with the Rillettes l'express which is a smooth pate made in house. very tasty & excellent
Cutting to the chase, their specialty is, no doubt, their Steak Tartare ... also they make great Rognons de Veau with mustard sauce. I understand that these mentioned items are not necessarily for everyone (i.e. Tartare=raw beef; Rognons de Veau =Calf Kidneys) but for those who can appreciate them, "they do it well".

The price is reasonable and should not drain your wallet.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Raviolli”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We managed to get a last minute booking at L'Express and were seated immediately we arrived. However, the 3 of us were seated at a table for 2. No complaints from us though, because we'd had great reviews from friends and wanted to eat here. Our waiter, typically French snobbish type took orders and then proceeded to forget about us the rest of the evening. If it weren't for the efficient and friendly busser who took us under his wing, it would have been an awful waste of our time and effort. After all, a good restaurant is not only about the food - its about the ambience and service too. The warm goats cheese salad gets no rave comments from me but, the raviolli is a delicious pasta dish. A mouth watering marriage of minced meats filled in light buttery ravioli served with an equally sumptuous light sauce. Portions are small and leaves you wanting for more. According to my son his steak and frites was 'good' and my husbands salmon was also 'good'. All in all an expensive dinner and we expected much more from all the rave reviews.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank rmjN3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Express also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to L'Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing