We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We just happened upon this little corner cafe...delightfully so!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Gargote

La Gargote
Ranked #520 of 5,670 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$22
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
120 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“We just happened upon this little corner cafe...delightfully so!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

It was getting late and we were looking for a quaint restaurant for lunch in the old part of Montreal. Not having our map with us, we turned away from the central part of Old Town and came upon this charming corner café (La Gargote). The duck was crispy, moist and the accompanying sauce to die for! We had tremendous service and dessert was included. A pretty darn good cappuccino too! We highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    48
    13
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“RUN!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

My experience was not at all good. First! the wine we ordered was not advertised as vin de pays ( country wine) but....thats what we got for 40 bucks! Then**** the sirloin steak was less than a 1/4 of an inch thick and measured approx 4x2ins in diameter. The server did bring a cheese plate after we complained, and said they had run out of steak, no kidding! I wouldn't serve this crappy steak to anyone, I'd be too embarrassed! Too bad, I would never go back, or recommend this place. There are a zillion great restaurants in this area, check T A before you eat.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank stirling061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wine prices better than entries”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed the linguini carbonara and the beet salad. Good selection of desserts. The profiteroles were delicious. Very quiet on a Wednesday evening but setting itself was enjoyable in the old Montreal neighborhood

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Everywherewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“You could be in Bordeaux”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

A real gem - an totally authentic french bistro in the heart of Montreal. Change the cars and you could be anywhere in S or C France. Sit outside and watch the world go by................

typical bistro menu , excellent value & quality and good service

In France there are thousands of places like this - but in N America? very very few

Far, far better than the tourist traps along Rue St paul

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank robw48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A hidden authentic French Bistro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Amazing food. The quality, the service and the taste was memorable.
As the restaurant has a small menu, every dish has plenty attention and details from the Client.

It's a small café but it's not crowed at all, so perfect to have a quite and romantic dinner. There a terrace outside if you rather to eat outside.

It's located in the Old Montreal a few minutes away from La Commune street (old port). It's in the first floor of a stone/wooden building and it has a very cosy French style.

I brought my Fiancée as a surprise 1 week before our wedding and it was the perfect romantic dinner.

I will definitely go back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank German C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Gargote also viewed

 

Been to La Gargote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing