We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and great wine!”

Restaurant Le Bourlingueur
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant Le Bourlingueur is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #609 of 5,775 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$24
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Description: At Restaurant Le Bourlingueur, fish and seafood are among the highlights of this fine eatery, with poached salmon, the house specialty, occupying the place of honour. A visit to this charming establishment in Old Montreal will also "net" a gracious ambiance and a mouthwatering table d'hôte. For those who prefer non-seafood delicacies, other specialties are also available.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food and great wine!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

After walking along Rue Saint Paul we decided to have dinner in this French restaurant. And, it appeared it was a good choice. The service was a little slow (but it looks like it is standard in Montreal. I have to add that we live in New York) but nice and polite. The food was good. We ordered an onion soup which was delicious! I ordered grilled salmon which was a little dry but still good. My friend ordered cod which was very good. For a dessert we had crème brulee that was delicious! We ordered a bottle of great red wine Pinot Noir Les Jamelles 2012. The wine was light but smooth and tasty. We really enjoyed our time in this cozy restaurant. The prices were reasonable ($20 - fish, $48 - bottle of wine). I would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lilek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    84
    43
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spruce Grove, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
337 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“comme ci comme ça”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had a group dinner here, with pre-ordered choices. Many of our group chose the manicotti which was 2 shells with what looked like a processed cheese slice on top. Some chose the sausage, which included 2 links. The soup of the day was a Cream of Parsnip, which was good, bread at our table was good, but apparently some of our group had older bread that tasted rubbery. The dessert of the day was a spice cake which was okay but nothing special.
I had expected a more authentic French meal, but I guess having chosen an Italian item didn't lend well to the experience. It's too bad the French Onion soup wasn't part of our groups' options.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tempestt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summit, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
522 reviews
349 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Delicious and romantic”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We found this place by just wandering around Montreal and checking Yelp reviews and I'm so glad we picked it! This is a very intimate restaurant and the staff is very nice. Our service was a bit slow, but our waiter apologized for forgetting us by giving us extra wine, which is always a nice gesture. We both ordered beef stew and it was one of the best meals we've ever had; the flavor was perfect and the beef was incredibly tender. Our dessert of strawberries and cream was such a nice ending to our meal and it was overall a wonderful experience. I highly recommend Le Bourlingueur if you're looking for a traditional French meal or you're looking for a romantic dinner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We often go to see plays at the Centaur Theater and we will stop at this restaurant for a good meal before the play. The food is good and priced reasonably. Service is excellent.

The proof is in the pudding, there are plenty of restaurants to choose from and we keep on going to this one because it is good and the prices are reasonable.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good location, poor service, overpriced”
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Decent French bistro with great French Onion Soup. Good mix of locals and tourists. Alcohol was reasonably priced. Service was aloof and inattentive. Expensive for what you get. Wouldn't return.

Helpful?
Thank jetsfan1457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Le Bourlingueur also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Le Bourlingueur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing