We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average for the price”
Review of Le Jardin De Panos

Le Jardin De Panos
Ranked #271 of 5,776 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$32
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Average for the price”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We recently ate at this restaurant and were very disappointed! The food is far from being authentic Greek and completely overpriced for the portion size. It was good, but I would definitely not go back. Their are tons of other great Greek restaurants in the area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Mister_Stan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeJardindePanos78, Manager at Le Jardin De Panos, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Hello sir,

Sorry you were not satisfied, our restaurant is a Greek Brochetterie not Authentic Greek restaurant, most plates are grilled on a skewer and you have some of your authentic appetizers ex: tzatziki, village salad, spanakopita, etc you also have Moussaka which is a authentic dish...as for our prices if you compare us to other Brochetteries we are priced right for the higher quality meats we use then them.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    121
    36
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“They are rude!”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Tonight we returned to this restaurant where we had eaten about a month ago. We ordered two lentil soups and a pikilia for two. After we had finished the soup, the waiter informed us that there was an additional $5.00 charge because we were sharing a meal. We pointed out that we had eaten there recently and never heard about this; moreover we order exactly this meal in several Greek restaurants in Montreal. At the end of the meal, we explained what happened to the owner and manager. She was incredibly curt and rude with us. So please be forewarned! There are many fine Greek restaurants in Montreal. This one definitely does not deserve your business!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland area, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This was a recommendation from a friend, I was able to make an online reservation which was helpful. The food was poor: we ordered calamari and somehow it came out immediately, luke warm and greasy. The two boys ordered lamb: barely able to eat it, so tough. My salad was fresh but the peices were so large it was odd, no one serves a salad like that, hard to cut and harder to eat. We were still hungry but did not want anything else form this place. I would suggest going someplace else, this may be good sometimes but why take the chance?

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“This restaurant never disappoints!”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We recently dined at this restaurant on a Saturday night in late August. We were a group of 4, showed up at 7pm with no reservations, and only had to wait about 15 minutes before getting a nice table, close to the terrasse. Food was delicious, generous portions, waiter was friendly. The only negative that day was the 45 minute wait before our food was served.
Overall, great meal that all 4 of us enjoyed very much. We have been to this place more than a dozen times over the last few years, and we are never disappointed. This is a very popular Bring-your-own-wine restaurant, so I recommend making reservations to avoid long line ups and long waits.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mnoelMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good food; don't let the looks turn you down!”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This place looks like the typical slightly tacky Greek restaurant but don’t let this stop you from trying it! The food is very good and service is friendly and efficient. I might not go there for a romantic date, but it was perfect for a late dinner with friends. We all had lamb kebabs, the meat was tender and tasty, I asked for rare, and that’s how it was cooked. It’s a bring-your-own wine restaurant. Prices are reasonable. From what I’ve seen, the place is also kid-friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IsaPhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Jardin De Panos also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Le Jardin De Panos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing