We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A consistent winner”
Review of Le Mas des Oliviers - CLOSED

Le Mas des Oliviers
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A consistent winner”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

An eclectic ambience which reflects Montreal's great diversity . People of both languages and ethnic backgrounds come together to enjoy great food, teriffic service and reasonable prices. Le Mas is home to hundreds of regulars who have been coming for decades. Its very French in the best sense with daily specials for lunch and dinner. The fish soup, the lamb, the rib steak,tuna and salmon are great.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Myer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    66
    20
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloversville, New York
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A long-time favorite”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We eat here every time we visit Montreal. The food & service is always great, as is the atmosphere. Nice but warm, not stuffy. Wait staff knowledgeable & friendly. I highly recommend for a French restaurant that's great but not pretentious or overly pricey.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Windsor
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Loved the meal and dessert. Service was outstanding”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Went there with a group of 16 business associates. Many of use were very impressed with the service and more importantly the meal. I had a salad and a part of the snails for an appetizer. Both were very good. I had never had snails before. I also had fish soup which was good. For the entree I had the Sea Bass on the potatoes. The meal melted in your mouth. The desserts were awesome! especially the pastry with the ice cream inside. If I make it back to Montreal, I would definitely come back here.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gzinn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a great atmosphere!”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We had an excellent meal here! We did not have a reservation (Friday night) but we were seated promptly. The service was friendly and casual and the restaurant seemed to be mostly locals. My brother had a ribeye steak with frites which he claimed was the best he's ever had. I had the ahi tuna with vermouth sauce and wasabi potatoes. The ahi was prepared perfectly! Its a cozy restaurant and could be a nice spot for a romantic dinner. Might be a bit pricey for some.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phoebe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Amazing as promised by all other reviews!”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

My mother and I came to Montreal on vacation and sought out Le Mas des Oliviers based on the amazing reviews on here. We were not disappointed! As many others have said, we did make a reservation and the place was pretty packed when we ate. It's a tiny hole in the wall and would not be found otherwise but was just the most incredible meal. Le Mas provides lovely snackies (sausages, olives, etc.) and bread upon arrival. Mom and I ordered off the Table D'Hote menu. I got the cream of vegetable soup, Mom got the quinoa salad. Both were really delicious and the bottle of wine was reasonable at $33/bottle. Then, we both got the surf and turf with filet mignon and lobster with veggies. Steak was my favorite and was cooked perfectly. To cap it off, I ordered the chocolate lava cake and it was one of the best desserts I've ever had. All in all, service was polite and friendly and dinner was delicious. Loved ever bit of our evening and I look forward to returning again!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Mas des Oliviers also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing