We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Thai fare.”

Restaurant Thailande
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant Thailande is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #817 of 5,668 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Cross street: St-Urbain
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Delicious Thai fare.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

Delicious food, pleasant and efficient service. The Table d'hôte is your best bet. Wine very reasonably priced.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jvdh44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    17
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

My fiancee and her family brought me to this restaurant last weekend. When she told me that we'd be going for Thai food, I became very nervous because I'm deathly allergic to peanuts. As you all know, Thai food is infamous for the liberal use of peanut sauce and the like, so I worried. We got to the restaurant though, and informed the waitstaff of my problem. They were FANTASTIC about accommodating me and making sure I'd be safe. The vast majority of the dishes on the menu were actually safe for me to eat, but we had to make sure that nothing got cross-contaminated in the kitchen, and the staff here really went above and beyond to ensure this. The food was great too, although I did discover that I don't like lemongrass, and that Thai curry is different than other curries that I'm used to, and I wasn't in love with it. I had the duck, and it was wonderful, as well as a few of the soups. We were a large group, and everybody was happy with their food. It was, however, very expensive. Honestly, I'd never seen a restaurant bill that high. That said, I'd recommend this place for the most special of occasions, and I'd recommend it for a nut-allergic person who needs to be sure that they'll be eating Thai food in a safe and attentive environment.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Endless wait....not worth waiting for!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012 via mobile

I decided to return to this restaurant, which I had reviewed almost a year ago. The food has bern reasonable but the wait has been endless. I still stand for I wrote before.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amphiraion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Every bite was delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012 via mobile

Every bite was delicious, great experience. Off the beaten path and well worth the trip from old town Montreal. Table d'hote had a well rounded offering that left us completely stuffed and happy. Service was pleasant, attentive and on the mark.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Billyscho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Montreal Thai resto that has inspired loyalty in many for long years”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Long before I ever set actually set foot in Bangkok, my wife and I were loyal customers of this place (as have our Montreal work colleagues) and enjoyed it immensely. It's a quiet oasis of darkened glass on otherwise busy St. Urbain as the endless traffic whizzes by. They now have mats to sit on as well, but the tables are fine too, especially if you get one by the window. An extremely comfy and cozy place on a cold winter Montreal night. Thailande Restaurant is probably single-handedly the most important "impressor" for my culinary tastes to open to the Asian palate - - huge credit to them for this. Everyone remembers the first time they have a Tom Yum soup... or the pork satay with peanut sauce. All these remain solid and tasty to this day, as are the hard-working chicken and chili dishes, the green curry and so on. Since Montreal's Asian community is so much smaller than Toronto's, it's really nice to find a go-to place like Thailande and we were fortunate to have it next to our neighbourhood of Outremont. The prices are acceptable, service is generally quite good, so I continue to recommend it to friends.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CanadianPNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Thailande also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Restaurant Thailande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing