We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful experience!”
Review of L'Autre Version - CLOSED

L'Autre Version
Price range: US$13 - US$32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Business meetings, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Transit: metro Champs-de-Mars
Description: The restaurant L'Autre Version, a pleasure bistronomic in the heart of Old-Montreal, where the discovery and innovation leads you toward an experiment ... Montreal style. Express Breakfast and lunch monday to friday Homemade products or international import products shop open for everyone 7/7 Terrace - events Takeaway service or fresh products to go
Laval, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a beautiful experience!”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We received a gift certificate from our son for this restaurant and decided that after this crazy long winter, it was time to go to Old Montreal. What a treat. We had the 7 course tasting menu that was delicious from start to finish. (We shared an 8th course, to include foie gras!) Each course was beautiful, delicious and explained to us. The service was impeccable, and we even had the good fortune to have the owner, Benoit, as part of the team looking after us. We ate and felt like royalty. Definitely a restaurant to go back to.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    62
    16
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“very good presentation.”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Very Nice charming place, the athosphere is very good, the sataff is knowledgeble, the food presentation is superb untill u taste it... maybe i simply wasent lucky, but most of our meal was not taht great in taste, the meat was tough, chewy and dry (i ordered midium rare bison steak) the apetisers were blund, not much taste to it... one thing that was again absolutely superb is teh desert!!! Even though the plate was messy and didnt have a gerat presentation compared to its prev. less tasty plates, it sort of fixed teh evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Asilisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fantastic New Years Eve Experience”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I'm writing this review more as a New Year's Eve experience than just a normal high end restaurant meal.

While vacationing at the Hotel St. Sulpice just a few blocks away, we inquired with the concierge about a good place for food, wine, and music on New Year's Eve. L'Autre Version was one of a few recommended options, and I'm glad it worked out the way it did.

New Year's Eve was very cold and this was close to the hotel. Booking our reservation through the hotel concierge scored us a premier table (I might say best in the house) for enjoying the food and fireworks that are set off just across the way in a park. Thank you, St. Sulpice! (You can check my review of the hotel here: www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g155032-d224665-r191172874-Le_Saint_Sulpice-Montreal_Quebec.html)

When we arrived we were escorted to our table in a room separate from the main dining room where there were about 8 tables. We were seated right at the front window looking out at the street and towards the park. This is apparently one of very few restaurants with this particular view of the fireworks. It was perfect - we were looking out on the street watching all the dressed up people going to their parties and the bundled up folks eventually making their way to the park.

The food was really very good. I can't remember it all but there were at least 6 courses plus a wine pairing and champagne for a midnight toast. We were happy with all of it. Not every flavor was to my personal taste, but the food was high quality and prepared well, and there were plenty of items I enjoyed very much. It was impossible to go away hungry.

The music was just a couple guys doing their acoustic thing but it was a good mellow backdrop to the experience. It was not the dance party vibe which we could see at a place across the street, and that was fine with us. The perfect finale was having a great view to watch the fireworks from inside without having to be out in the cold.

While it was a bit expensive, this was a special occasion on a traditionally very busy night, so we expected it. What we will remember is the great experience we had at L'Autre Version.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank copperpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good food, ok atmosphere”
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Very good food. Not a huge variety but something for everybody. Excellent service, they explained the dishes well and were happy to accommodate request for small alterations.
Did not like the bathroom. Too dark and although the sink has a neat design it is simply not practical.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank supernovea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
477 reviews
339 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Very pricey, wasn't impressed...decent food...”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I have heard great things about this place - honestly, up until the entree' everything was great. Service was good, their special cocktails were good - I recommend the pepper infused caesar.

For me, they really fell short on the entree' - I ordered the Venison, and it came out as a fine cube, with a texture similar to that of meatloaf - could be Im not used to venison being prepared this way, but I had a tough time eating it.

I probably would not return, since there are so many choices in the area, but was an OK experience for a business group.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Djgoldma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Autre Version also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing