We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic new restaurant in Montreal”
Review of Kyo Bar Japonais

Kyo Bar Japonais
Reserve with OpenTable
Kyo Bar Japonais is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 5,927 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$27
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Quartier International
Cross street: Saint-Jacques
Transit: Metro Place d'Armes (Orange line) Bus line: 55
Description: A taste of Japan situated in a laid-back hideaway by Place d'Armes Square, Kyo Bar Japonais is a favourite among hungry, Old Montreal diners. Its menu boasts colourful izakaya creations, lunchtime bento box specials, smart sushi options and, with over 25 varieties, Montreal's most extensive sake list! Punctuating the assorted deliciousness is an atmosphere fit for good times, great company and ample post-meal sake sipping.
Reviewed 12 September 2013

What a nice place. Food is delicious, ambiance is crazy, service is friendly. It was my first experience in a Izakaya (japanese bar with food service). Our waiter explained the menu and the concept. What a great way to sample different dish. We were 4 friends together and we had an amazing night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank SmithPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (739)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

461 - 465 of 740 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

This place has the worst service, I eat out at least 3 times a week and never wrote a review about any restaurant. This is as bad as it gets, do not go at all costs! Food is ok but overall experiences deserves a 0/infinity

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JohnAbyad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Our first visit to kyo was the first and last. Honestly if you take my personal advice my boyfriend and his entire family has been going to kaizen for the past 10 years and have never had a complaint, since they've closed we've been looking for a new place to call "home". Our coat it to kyo was really unbelievable and had given us a new meaning to terrible. First of all we made reservations at 9:30 and we only left the restaurant at 12AM, not because of how good of a time we were having but because of how long it took to get our food. We had thought that the waiter had "written" down all our orders yet he had forgotten everything we had asked for. PLUS everything we ordered (when it finally came, hours later) looked terrible, no style and didn't look appetizing what so ever!! When (2 hours later) we had ordered our bill everything was all mixed up between the two bills we had asked for and things were added on to our bill that we didn't even order, as well as the disgusting orders we had asked the waiter to remove from the table and take off from our bill. Honestly, we are people who rather enjoy what we eat and pay a pricey bill then pay for service and food that is a disgrace to our tastes. There were many other things that had bothered us at KYO but the finale thing that I will address is the fact that there was another table near by to us that had finished eating around the same time as us and had come up to our table and told us " why don't you pay the [--] bill ! " and the management of the restaurant did nothing, especially as the tension escalated nothing was done to ensure our safety and protection by the management of KYO. On top of that they gave us a very hard time when it came to compensating anything of out horrible meal, which wouldn't be a question at any other professional establishment. So all together I really discourage anyone from ever going there unless you enjoy horrible service and clientele around you. I would rather eat a bagel at home for the rest of life then ever go back to "KYO".

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Elle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick B, General Manager at Kyo Bar Japonais, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you for your reply.

We are sorry to ear that you did not liked ANY of the dish you had at Kyo Bar Japonais. Your comments are important to us and we will consider them seriously.

Have a great day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This is a tapas style Asian restaurant. Our server explained the menu items were small and that we would most likely order six dishes. While looking over the menu, we ordered (and waited 15 minutes) for a signature drink that, apparently, no one behind the bar has ever tasted. Blech. Luckily, you can't screw up a pint of Saporro.

A Rainbow sushi roll came out shortly thereafter. It was fresh, tasty, and the highlight of the evening. Unfortunately, it was brought to us by a server who ran off before we could order additional dishes and it took almost 30 minutes before our second dish arrived. We asked how long the it would take to get the third dish we ordered (5 minutes), and how long additional orders would take (25 minutes). So, they are serving tapas style and it takes 25 minutes to get a dish in a dining room that is only one-third full. We were not willing to invest three hours into what was a mediocre meal at best.

The braised pork belly was just okay. It doesn't pair well with the cabbage it is served with and lacks seasoning. The beef tongue is cooked to the point where it is as tough as shoe leather and flavorless.

The manager did come over to the table to apologize and explain they have only been open a few months. She also removed a couple of drinks from the bill. While we appreciated the gesture, the explanation was just a hollow excuse for a complete lack of training. Someone should have recognized there are problems with food quality and cooking time, especially if it has been occurring for three months. Someone should taste the food. The manager on the floor should be able to look around and recognize obviously unhappy customers with no food who are trying to flag down servers. Perhaps then they wouldn't spend so much time apologizing and giving away the bar tab.

We left and walked up to Chinatown where we got an $8 bowl of shrimp pad thai that was tastier than anything on the gourmet menu here. Even the experience was better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 3rd_Ruffian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick B, General Manager at Kyo Bar Japonais, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thank you for your comment,

We are verry sorry that we did not met your expectations. We will keep training our staff to make sure that your next visit will be a fantastic one. We appreaciate your feedback.

Have a great day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We had high hopes for this place. My husband and I love Japanese food. Unfortunately, the experience was a bust right from the start. We were first seated next to two younger, and very drunk men. After they essentially harrassed us, we asked to be moved.

The server then began pushing the overpriced signature cocktails (read "foo foo drinks") and was visibly disappointed when I didn't order one. My husband did, and sent it back -- basically a glass of fruit punch with a minimal splash of liquor.

We ordered three of their tapas sized plates with the intention of ordering more. The first sushi roll took nearly a half hour to arrive. It was adequate. The second dish took another 20 minutes to arrive. When my husband threatened to cancel the third dish, we were told that it would be "right out". It arrived 15 minutes later.

We left there hungry. The manager comped us a cocktail, but it was too little, too late. Never again. Trendy and overpriced.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JCLord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick B, General Manager at Kyo Bar Japonais, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thank you for your comment about our new restaurant Kyo bar japonais. We appreciate your feedback.

We are sorry thatou did not enjoyed your evening with us. We will carefully review your comments with our staff to make sure to make sure that your next visit will be a fantastic one.

Have a great day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kyo Bar Japonais also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Kyo Bar Japonais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing