We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall I will totally recommended to my friends.”
Review of Kyo Bar Japonais

Kyo Bar Japonais
Reserve with OpenTable
Kyo Bar Japonais is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 5,710 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$26
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Quartier International
Cross street: Saint-Jacques
Transit: Metro Place d'Armes (Orange line) Bus line: 55
Description: A taste of Japan situated in a laid-back hideaway by Place d'Armes Square, Kyo Bar Japonais is a favourite among hungry, Old Montreal diners. Its menu boasts colourful izakaya creations, lunchtime bento box specials, smart sushi options and, with over 25 varieties, Montreal's most extensive sake list! Punctuating the assorted deliciousness is an atmosphere fit for good times, great company and ample post-meal sake sipping.
mtl
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overall I will totally recommended to my friends.”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I really loved the place it had a nice ambience, delicious food and our waitress Karina was really courteous and professional. Going back for sure!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lyly08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    161
    44
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great service”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

I went twice trying different choices, everything was perfectly prepared, light and finely testing. Both meat and fish preparations are just right.
A word for the service, everybody is quick, smiling and efficient; Marilyn, the bartender, is a category in itself and deserves a special mention.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Agostino M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Different experience”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

It was our first visit in that type of japanese restaurant. They have great sushi but you need to try their izakaya food. Scallop ceviche, tataki, ika fry....all amazing. You order a few plates and you share them with your friend. I would recommend this place to anyone visiting Montreal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SmithPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

It is close to Notre-Dame but it was not very expensive.
The service was very good, quick and really nice.

The first time I was on Montreal I went another Sushi restaurant where the service was not ok, even they server me warm sushi. It was not a good experience and I was not sure about going to Sushi bars on that city. Fortunately I decided to go to Kyo bar, where they served the sushi as it should be.

They open till late (11-12pm). I really appreciate that because I that week I was working until late. I was attended in English.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alberto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A feast”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Sushi, sashimi...you have all kind of leagues...Kyo is one of the best places for Japanese Food..creativity, fresh, tasty...great choice of wine...and the best bar tender in a restaurant I ever met (Marylin)...went twice in 2 weeks...a feast..

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Guy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick B, Directeur général at Kyo Bar Japonais, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for this great comment! We are happy to see that our passionate team exceeded your expectations!

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Montréal!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kyo Bar Japonais also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Kyo Bar Japonais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing