We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must try sandwiches”
Review of coco rico

coco rico
Ranked #377 of 5,705 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Montreal
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Must try sandwiches”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Have been going for at least 25 years and still enjoy it. Try the pork or chicken sandwiches and spicy potatoes are great too.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    34
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Portuguese Fast Food grilled chicken”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This is a well located, on The Main, for a quick fix of grilled chicken that is SOOO tasty. It is owned by the restaurant next door, but doesnt have table seating and is pretty basic. But I go for the food! Well worth it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ilan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“WAY TOO DRY AND TASTELESS!”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My wife and I ate here October 07/2013. We were attracted by the window display of stacks of roasted chickens. We had the chicken, wings, potatoes, coleslaw and the egg tarts. We had the chicken with sauce they mop on top. The sauce is a watery hot sauce with little or no flavor. They do not season the chickens. We found the chicken incredibly dry. To the point that you had to drink something after every bite. The skin was crisp but had no flavor. We had portugese buns but these were too dry to really make a sandwich out of. The wings were so brittle the meat was like sharp shards of wood. Again tasteless. The potatoes were nice. They were roasted below the chickens but again tasteless. If they would simply salt the chickens this would also transfer to the potatoes. The egg tarts were not bad but not as creamy as I have had elsewhere. It seems they were made with some corn starch or something to create the pudding.

I cannot recommend this place. There is another one on St. Viateur street across from the bagel bakery. Exact same style but had long lines. I will try that one next.

I just cannot recommend coco rico.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Canuckscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great chicken!!”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Depending on many factors, I went there a couple of times and I can tell you that this is a great restaurant when you go on the "Main".

I always take chicken thigh with potatoes and a cole slaw salad, and it's really good!! They serve directly at the counter, no service, prices affordable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gitane1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishkill, New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“driest chicken on the planet”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My husband and I both had the chicken sandwich-both skimpy portions of chicken, and what was there was so dry it was almost impossible to swallow. Maybe we caught them on an off day? Chicken cooked too long? the potatoes were cold too. Next time we choose Schwartz's instead

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ssproutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed coco rico also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to coco rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing