We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hosts, Fabulous Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Loggia Art & Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 143 Montreal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2008

We were a group of women who filled La Loggia as a trip to Montreal to celebrate our 50th Birthdays. We were delighted with our rooms - clean, beautifully decorated and comfy beds, linens and duvets. Our breakfasts were always delicious, with a little something different each day. La Loggia is close to everything we needed and attractions we wanted to see, and the neighborhood is very safe for walking about, no matter what time of the day or night. In fact, all of the attractions we wanted to see were either accessible by foot or a two block walk to the Metro to go further afield.

Joel and Rob were extremely helpful with suggestions about where to go and how to get there, whether it was museums or shopping. They were such gracious hosts, and highly attentive to the needs of their guests. They are the perfect blend of friendliness and professionalism. I highly recommend La Loggia. I won't stay anywhere else in future trips to Montreal.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BCtraveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

282 - 288 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2008

If you are planning a trip to Montreal and want to stay at a fabulous little B&B filled with warmth and character, call La Loggia right away. We stayed four nights; our hosts, Rob and Joel, couldn’t have made us feel more welcome and the accommodations were delightful. It is a combination B&B and art gallery, so original art fills the place. Our room had lovely paintings and ceramics and tasteful furnishings, as well as a comfy bed with cozy comforter, mini kitchenette and a small but modern bathroom. Our room opened into the interior patio with wonderful plants and flowers (hanging pots of ripe tomatoes and two cherry trees brimming with fruit!), chairs and lounges and more sculpture all around. It was a lovely place for an afternoon rest. A self-serve breakfast awaited us each morning on the patio including coffee, teas, juice, cereals, fresh breads or croissant, fresh fruit and a platter of cheese or meats or smoked fish. It was all delicious. And, usually Rob or Joel were around to make us feel welcome and give great advice on navigating, shopping, playing and eating our way around Montreal. La Loggia is in a great neighborhood too. This place is a gem!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank THGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2008

A friend found me La Loggia in the net and told me that if he was going to Montreal, he'll stay there. That was good enough for me. Now that I have spent a week there, it was indeed good advice. The location is superb, within walking distance to the Metro and chic shops and restaurants. The rooms are clean and elegant and the owners friendly and kind. The best room in the house is the one with attached bathroom overlooking a lovely deck where breakfast is served.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MettaBorneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2008

Stayed at La Loggia over the 4th of July weekend. The innkeepers Joel and Rob are were very helpful, friendly, and genuinely warm. We felt like guests in their home rather than hotel customers.

The room was well appointed and the mattress and linens were very comfortable. The bathroom was only shared with one other room, so it was not a problem.

The breakfast buffet was simple, but good. There was plenty of choice (yogurt, cheese, cereal, toast, and fruit). One morning's breakfast had fresh croissants and the next had bagels from Fairmont with smoked salmon and capers.

The B&B is very close to the Village neighborhood and the Beaudry/ Berri UQAM Metro Stations. The neighborhood and city as a whole is quite bicycle friendly. Many of the major streets have bicycle lanes. You can store your bicycle in the courtyard/Joel's studio.

Overall, I'd highly recommend the La Loggia Art and Breakfast and plan on staying there again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sg001e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2008

My wife and I spent 3 nights in June at La Loggia B&B in Montreal. Great location, extremely clean, comfortable beds with great linen. The breakfast patio is most welcoming with fine coffee and other breakfast goodies. The above could be said of many B&B's but La Loggia goes beyond. We found it to be a special place. Most lodging is a place to stay while visiting a city. La Loggia quickly becomes part of your experience in Montreal. Rob & Joel are quick to share their knowledge, love and enthusiasm for their city.. Their feeling seem to infect all their guests. A great experience. We shall return!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jfmbam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2008

The first thing that comes to my mind when I think “La Loggia” is the rare balance between friendliness and professionalism..
“La Loggia” is located on a lovely and entertaining street that offers bars and restaurants and boutiques and is a nice walk away from many central streets of Montréal..
The house is amazing and well maintained.. And is rich with Artistic statements and creations offered for sale.
My husband and I stayed for almost a week and after a couple of nights it started feeling like home.. Part of this feeling came I guess from the quality of the soaps and the food a matter that makes me feel that Rob and Joel really care about their guests’ wellbeing..
If I was to visit Montreal again “La Loggia” is the place I want to be in.. Without thinking twice..

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Katrine_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2008

Stayed at La Loggia with friends over Memorial Day weekend in Montreal. Rob and Joel were exceptional hosts and were extremely helpful during our stay. The bedrooms and bathrooms were clean and nice. The bed linens were so comfortable that I didn't want to get out of bed for breakfast.

The location is in the heart of the village and perfect for men who are looking to take advantage of the city life right outside the door. We walked almost everywhere the entire weekend without problems and found great shopping, restaurants, and nightlife. Rob and Joel were always available for recommendations on what to see and do and where to eat.

I would definitely stay there again and I hope I get the chance to return very soon. A great B&B in a great city with many thanks to Rob and Joel!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NYC_NYNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#45 of 165 in Montreal
704 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Chateau de l'Argoat
Chateau de l'Argoat
#59 of 165 in Montreal
496 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Bed & Breakfast du Village - BBV
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Victorian Heritage
Victorian Heritage
#5 of 143 in Montreal
239 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Petite Auberge Les Bons Matins
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge de la Place Royale
Auberge de la Place Royale
#4 of 143 in Montreal
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Loggia Art & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Loggia Art & Breakfast

Address: 1637 Amherst, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3L4, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > The Village (Gay Village) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range: £66 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Loggia Art & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in The Village, two blocks from the Ste. Catherine pedestrian mall, five blocks from the St. Lawrence River Walkway and the Old Port of Montreal. 5 - 10 Blocks from Park La fontaine, Place des Arts and all the music festivals, adjacent to the Quartier Latin and The Plateau neighbourhoods. Three subway lines intersect at Beri/UQAM Metro two blocks from the house. 1870 Brownstone built by a local ships captain, entirely updated and comfortable, brimming with works of local artists, high thread count cottons sheets and duvet covers. Six pillows per room of different densities, free wifi, and a plentiful breakfast of the highest quality local offerings to get our guests going for a wonderful day of sightseeing in Montreal. If you are a cyclist we have easy secure parking for your bikes through our back gate from the back alley. Montreal boasts 650 km of dedicated bike paths and is one of the safest cities in the world for biking. In the summer we serve breakfast in our beautiful urban garden and terrase. During cooler periods in our dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your La Loggia Art & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing