We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“L'intendant” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Intendant Couette & Cafe

L'Intendant Couette & Cafe
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
L'Intendant Couette & Cafe
Ranked #78 of 119 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, ca
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“L'intendant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

I stayed at this B&B and I would rate it a 2.5. The location was good for a couple of reasons. It is close to the Via Rail train station, literally across the park from the train station, well within walking distance. It is also close to the Old Town; although you will have to hike up hill. They also offer a free breakfast between 8-10 am. My room was spacious and quiet. The only negative thing about this hotel was the proximity to the downtown area. If you want to be close to the nightlife, stay closer to the downtown because it got really cold a few nights and I could not find a taxi back, so I had to walk, which wasn't a big deal because its a small city. The other negative thing about the hotel was the service from the inn keeper. If you're an American, he's rude to you and doesn't seem very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dsm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    16
    11
    10
    25
See reviews for
19
29
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

the first thing you notice is that the hotel smells like old grease, a pungent smell that stays with you for a couple of days after you leave. Once you get pass the smell, you have to deal with the owner/operator. This poor soul needs to read the book "How to ame friends and influence people", he has no interpersonal skills. He's one of the most argumenative, obnoxious indiviudals I have ever come accross. He treats his guests like he's doing them a favor for allowing them to stay in his roach hotel. The rooms are dingy, smelly, the sheets even had hairs from previous guests, which the owner attributed to the laundry service (unlikely) although he did offer to change them. The rooms have no secured locks, so once you are inside the owner, who is also a pretty creepy individual can walk in at any time. Bottom line... Do yourselfe a favor and stay away form this place.

Room Tip: Do not stay in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank afgm2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Quebec City hotels

Kitchener
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

It is hard to believe any of the positive ratings on this site. The proprietor and the establishment are to be avoided at all costs. Our experience was as follows. Arriving late at night after a tiring day of travel we were herded into a run down bar and subjected to a 45 minute diatribe about what to see and not see in Quebec City (this is really not necessary and I suspect this was a diversion of some sort). Prepayment for our 3 day booking was demanded in advance and we were shown to the suite. We were stunned. He asked if things were OK and we were anxious to be rid of his overbearing presence so we acquiesced. Inspection of the suite revealed a bathroom floor with curling linoleum, furniture not fit for a garage sale and a pervasive odour suggestive of pest treatments. We proceed back to the front desk to cancel our second and third night stay (it was too late to find another hotel) and he pretended to not understand our issues. One thing he did understand very well was that our request for a refund on the remaining nights. He told us he needed 72 hours for any cancellation. We never did get our money back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MagnusKitchener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

Our stay was booked for the nights of 5th and 6th September. We arrived early and were told we were too early. The first impressions convinced me not to stay. We told the guy we were staying elsewhere and we wanted to pay him for the night. This man is low life and dirty. He insisted we pay for the two nights. As we are from Ireland in a strange city with little knowledge of the French language, we felt our safety was in jeopardy and gave in.

People please note this review for it is genuine. It is an experience I never want to go through again. The premises should be condemned and the proprietor should jailed.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kieranfarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miramichi, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

My partner and I went there on a romantic getaway! The location is perfect, you can walk every where, we found it clean, quiet and yes romantic! The breakfasts were wonderful, crepes, fruit cup, croissants, waffles, coffee, orange juice, tea. The owner is a, one man show, who does it all. He did take the time to show us, by map, different sights that we didn't know about and we appreciated that, however, his sense of humour would have to grow on you! I feel he just doesn't know how to be a gracious host! You have to accommodate him, ie, breakfast times, etc. but again, we went there to enjoy ourselves, and we certainly did. The place is lovely, our room was huge with a king size bed, jacuzzi, two sinks, etc. really nice, overlooking the street and it wasn't noisy at all. I would have enjoyed the cabaret that looked to be downstairs, even just for a glass fo wine before bed, but it was closed. The ambience was wonderful, and we enjoyed our visit to Old Quebec immensely.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RiverLady1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

Before THE TRIP, I expected just noraml THREE STAR HOTEL. HOWEVER, I was so disappointed ABOUT DIRTY ROOM, unfriendy services AND OLD FUNITURES. especially furnitures ARE SEEMS LIKE GABAGES FROM THE STREET. I don't really understand how this hotel has three stars. If THIS HOTEL HAS THREE STARS, OTHER MOTEL SUPPOSED TO GET at least 4 OR 5 STARS. ONLY 4 ROOMS AND NO EMPLOYEES. THIS IS NOT EVEN HOTEL. IF YOU WANT TO WASTE MONEY, BOOK THIS HOTEL. Their rate is more like hotel price, but worse than motel. WE supposed to stay one more night in Quebec, but we didn't want to stay this place EVEN FOR one night..

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank biz155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2010

1) Pire proprietaire de Quebec! Impoli, arrogant et irritant
2) Vous propose un upgrade au telephone sous aucun pretexte
3) Paiement a l'avance! Ne le faites pas!
4) Impression de deranger
5) Mal entretenu et sale
6) Bon ptit dejeuner

1) Worst host in Quebec! Rude, arrogant and irritating
2) Offers an upgrade for no apparent reason
3) Must pay in advance! Don't!
4) Always get the feeling you're bothering him
5) Badly maintained and dirty
6) Good breakfast

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pikey07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
L'Hotel Belley
#66 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Hotel Le Saint-Paul
#42 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Hotel des Coutellier
#13 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Manoir des Remparts
#32 of 119 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Downtown Quebec City
Auberge de la Paix
Auberge de la Paix
#6 of 30 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Couette et Cafe 253
#7 of 119 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Intendant Couette & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Intendant Couette & Cafe

Property: L'Intendant Couette & Cafe
Address: 8 Des-Vaisseaux-Du-Roi, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 6T5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Intendant Couette & Cafe 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your L'Intendant Couette & Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Intendant Couette & Cafe Hotel Quebec City
l`Intendant Couette And Cafe
L'Intendant Couette & Cafe Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing