We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good however...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Petit Cochon Dingue - CLOSED

Le Petit Cochon Dingue
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: French, American, European, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Downtown Quebec City
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very good however...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

How can a restaurant known for poutine be out of cheese curds!? I was offered shredded cheese as a substitute which I reluctantly agreed to. It was still good, but I was a bit disappointed, Excellent variety of beer and wine available. Fun atmosphere. Reservations highly recommended. I hope my next visit will include authentic poutine.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    195
    44
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“perfect for family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

a chain most definitely but easy and fun with great outdoor seating. Wonderful service and nice location in the lower town. Good for kids and still fun and casual for adults.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kincardine, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Perfect for an afternoon rest and people watching”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

You know how when you travel your legs give out in the afternoon? Well a cappuccino and a pastry at a small table allows you lots of time to relax and sit and watch the people getting off the ferries and the tour busses. We went through the Petit Cochon Dingue (the Nutty Little Pig) and were just amazed. They had lots of help, everyone spoke French and English, there was a great amount of drinks, sandwiches etc. BUT the best part was they had a kitchen that you could observe where they were making luscious chocolate cakes. If I had been traveling directly home I would have bought one. I drool even thinking of them! At any rate, this is a perfect spot for a relax and a tea or coffee and some quality people watching.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Budget restaurant with good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Quebec has beautiful restaurants but they can also be very pricey. If you are looking for a quick lunch and are budget conscious try this place.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank CanadaforeverOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average food. Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We had an early dinner at Le Petit Cochon Dingue. While the pork chop was above average, the burgers were plain and dry.

The service was OK.

In general I would not recommend this place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KosmoBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Petit Cochon Dingue also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing