We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yum!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Croquembouche

Le Croquembouche
Ranked #5 of 17 Bakeries in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Downtown Quebec City
Truro, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

My hubby and I were staying at the Best Western and decided we wanted something delicious and fresh baked for breakfast. We took a stroll and found this place.

The smell was heavenly and there was so much to choose from. He chose something chocolately and filled with creme (great breakfast, right?). I chose an orange danish. It was absolutely delicious and melted in my mouth. Fantastic!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank rLaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    19
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
167 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best French breads and pastries in Quebec city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

The name describes it as "something crunchy that crumbles in the mouth". It became a routine for us to visit this awesome bakery for its fresh breads and pastries for our breakfast during our stay in Quebec downtown. It was a short walk from our hotel and we were drawn by the sweet smells of their fresh products wafting through their windows. Everything we tasted was superb and affordable without any doubt. The cashiers were fluent in English and one particular girl had visited India for a few months earlier and was altogether pleased to practice her Hindi with me as I my French with her. I should thank Tripadvisor for introducing me to this place as well as its equally delightful neighbor La Boite A Pain (The bread-box), the latter would give complimentary butter and jams with their breads. Do visit both on your next trip there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ismailbandook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“good but not great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Finally a proper croissant! I can't tell you how many places serve bad croissants. If you want to get the measure of a bakery just try a plain croissant. If they do it correctly, chances are their other items are good as well.

We had a ham and cheese sandwich which was good as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dennycrane888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Late Breakfast at Croquembouche”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Over proofed chocolate croissant, old roast beef, barely over one ounce, on a good ciabatta
a bare 5 on a 10 scale. No supervision. Does not belong on any top list.
Send a critic that understands baking.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent place for sweet or lunch.... As we did both!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

This is a great place. Everything was fresh and tasty (bar the coffees which were typically French), relaxed atmosphere, and friendly service. We went back here a few times. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aussie_trav23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Croquembouche also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Le Croquembouche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing