We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy)
Ranked #29 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel on the outskirts of the city for four nights end of July/ beg. August. The accommodation ( family room) was clean and comfortable. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Good breakfasts. Conveniently located for malls and easy to drive into Quebec. We also used the free return shuttle bus on our first day to go into town which was very good too.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank judeandmickh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExpressQuebec, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy), responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Hello and thank you so much for your review! We will share your comments with our staff, they will be very happy to read it!

Pascal
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (690)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 690 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

This was the first time we stayed at a Holiday Inn Express, and it won't be the last! We weren't sure what to expect and was greatly surprised!
On the first part of our trip we had stayed at the Intercontinental, (which we have stayed before), and we can tell you now that the Inn Express was 10x's more accommodating! The moment we walked in we were greeted with a smile and helpful attitude. It was a very warm welcome as opposed to our previous experience at the upper end hotel.
We did not speak French but that did not get in the way nor were we made to feel like we were a nuisance because of a "language barrier"
The front desk went out of their way to offer information on the events locally, and although we were a 10-12 min. drive to Old Quebec and its sights, it did not feel that way. They offered a shuttle in the morning which gave you plenty of time to sight see, and then picked you up at the end of the day. We opted to drive however, and found a great parking spot that only cost 7$ for 12 hours and was located right before you entered Old Quebec. A very short walk and you were in!
The rooms were exceptionally clean and cared for.(Congrats to the house cleaning staff!) They were respectful of our privacy, no tapping on door when the privacy sign was up. As an example, we had the sign up on door but had called down for a couple of towels. The front desk actually took the time to call the room to make sure it was ok to knock and bring the towels in. We thought that was very considerate.
Brand new decor and modern but still warm and comfortable feeling. Beds were extremely comfortable. The wood floor is a nice touch for the room. We slept like babies.
The complimentary breakfast was great! They offered something for everyone - from eggs to bacon to pancakes (crepes), to fruit and yogurts. It made it so easy to start our day, and we left to sight see full and happy!
Another perk for us was the parking accommodations they offered for Platinum Elite Card Holders. There were 5 or so parking spots designated for Platinum members and although not necessary, the gesture went a long way in feeling appreciated! It was so convenient!
Attention to details was what I sometimes don't see but this hotel covered it all!
I will not make the mistake to overlook the Express Hotels when traveling! This hotel far exceeded my expectations and WON hands down when it came to comparing our Intercontinental stay to this one!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank time4travel222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExpressQuebec, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy), responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Good day to you and thank you very much for your comments! Wow, this is so kind of you! We really try to make our guests feel at home when staying with us. The Housekeeping Manager was very pleased to read what you wrote and she want to personally thank you. We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again on your next trip to Quebec City.

Sincerly,
Pascal Curodeau
Front Office Manager, GSM, GEC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Hotel and room was super clean. Liked the fact there is no carpet in the rooms. Staff was courteous. Breakfast is your standard HI-Express fare. Could be better. Is this really bacon they serving?! Fresh fruits would have been nice. No pool in the hotel. There is a hot spa outside. Location is nice if you have a car. It's about a 20-25 minutes ride to old Québec. 2nd time I stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moutarde22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExpressQuebec, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy), responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a good review. Happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
Sorry about the breakfast, it is the Holiday Inn Standard that we need to follow, but I will note with management about having more fruit. It is a great suggestion. Hope you have a great summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We were greeted by a really helpful receptionist who told us about getting around the city and events we didn't know about. Hotel is very nice, breakfast was full-on: eggs, sausage, waffles, coffee, juice, bagels, fruit, yoghurt, etc, and hot tub was nice. Location is about 20 min drive to downtown, we took champlain blvd along water which is pretty direct. The hotel shuttle was free and very helpful leaving 8:15 am and pickup in front of frontenac at 3ish & 6:15 pm. Drivers were really entertaining as they explained a few things along the route - a nice treat! Grocery store is less than a minute down the back street (villevray) to parking lot of Metro grocery. I'd recommend the St. Huberts a 15 min walk away to eat. Glad we stayed here!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank snixon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExpressQuebec, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy), responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Thank you very much for the great review. We enjoy reading such great comments. Glad to hear you enjoyed our facilities. Have a great summer and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

After a long day of driving, it was a welcome sight to find this property so close to the highway. The receptionist at the front desk was awesome! Very efficient, professional, and welcoming and we were checked-in in a matter of minutes.

The rooms were the highlight of this hotel. I've stayed at a lot of places and this is the first time that I've stayed at a hotel in Canada with hardwood floors! What a fabulous thought. There was no smelly stained carpets, and it made the art on the wall stand out. I didn't check out the pool area, but from what I saw while walking by is that it is well kept and there are lots of towels for guests to use.

This is a fantastic property to stay at if you are ever passing through!

Room Tip: Ask for something on the 3rd floor facing the residences as they have less highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ledge4131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExpressQuebec, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy), responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Thanks a million for the great review. Very happy you enjoyed your stay with and hope you come again soon. Have a great summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

After stopping at four other hotels in Quebec City, we had essentially lost hope of finding a place to sleep (who knew Celine Dion was playing a large outdoor show just down the road?!) when we landed on the doorstep of the Holiday Inn Express. The woman on the front desk was awesome. She was welcoming and helped us get registered and off to our rooms quickly. After settling in to our room which had a beautiful king bed and hardwood floors we drifted off to sleep in an incredibly comfortable bed with great pillows.

In the morning we were treated to an excellent hot breakfast of eggs, sausage, crepes, tater tots, croissants, bagels and various other breakfast items. The pool and spa looked good, but we didn't have time to check it out.

So, if you are looking for an amazingly comfortable, reasonably priced hotel with great staff and a good breakfast, then this is definitely the place for you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExpressQuebec, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy), responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your awesome review. We appreciate the positive feedback. Your experience is exactly what we strive for here at the Holiday Inn Express. Quebec. We are very proud of our hotel and services, and we are happy to know that you had such a great experience. We have a great staff and I will let them know about this great review.

Hope to see you again in the future and have a great summer !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Very easy to find - just off the bridge. Friendly and helpful staff, new looking rooms, good breakfast. Two computers are set up for guests to use if needed. English or french newspapers delivered to the door in the morning. Phone calls to the US appeared to be free - the desk clerk told me the calls were free and sure enough they were for me during my stay.
My room was very quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExpressQuebec, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy), responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

We would like to thank you for the great review. We enjoy the great feedback, it helps us make any kind of improvements. Normally any international calls have a fee, only local calls are free. It must have been a problem in our phone system that day, which is a good thing for you :) Hope to see you again.

Have a great summer !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel l'Aristocrate
3.5 mi away
Hotel Cofortel
Hotel Cofortel
#24 of 102 in Quebec City
566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sepia
Hotel Sepia
#23 of 102 in Quebec City
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Quebec Resort
4.8 mi away
Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec
Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec
#19 of 102 in Quebec City
885 reviews
5.1 mi away
Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy)

Address: 3145 Avenues Des Hotels, Quebec City, Quebec G1W 3Z7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#27 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#28 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £76 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy) 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sainte Foy Hotel Near Quebec City Attractions and Businesses Modern style and friendly service unite in this Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Sainte Foy in Quebec City, conveniently located 10 km from Aeroport Jean Lesage (YQB) and .5 km from the Gare de Ste Foy train station. Exciting attractions, such as Aquarium de Quebec and Musee National des Beaux Arts du Quebec, are only a short drive from our hotel in Sainte Foy. You can explore Quebec City's history and visit the historic Pont de Quebec (Quebec Bridge) a few kilometers from our accommodations near Quebec City, or relax on the beaches of the St. Lawrence river at Parc de la Plage Jacques-Cartier. Business travelers will love our hotel's proximity to area businesses like Ernst & Young, PricewaterhouseCoopers, Olympus NDT Canada, Laval University and Chul Hospital. Quebec City Convention Centre is a short drive from our Sainte Foy hotel. While lodging in Quebec City, you can utilize our meeting room, free, high-speed, wireless Internet access and 24-hour business centre. Our well-appointed accommodations near Quebec City go beyond other Quebec City hotels to offer you premium amenities, such as a complimentary hot breakfast that is served daily. Relax in the whirlpool and workout in the fitness centre each day after a good night's rest in a triple-sheeted bed. Call today to make your reservation at this state-of-the-art Sainte Foy hotel near Quebec City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy) Hotel Quebec City
Quebec City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing