We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, amazing staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy)
Ranked #29 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

This is one of the BEST Holiday Inn properties I have ever stayed at. The service is superb, and the breakfast is fresh with the best food quality I have had from an Express hotel. Everyone is extremely friendly. The evening staff (2 ladies) that checked us in on Monday, went above and beyond. Also the fitness centre and the hot pool are of exceptional quality.

I would greatly recommend this hotel. It is 10 minutes away by car from the centre, but definitely a gem.

Thank you for the great stay!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (690)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 690 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

Have read the reviews and clealy there is an issue. I am an IHG (Independent Hotels Group) Gold member so I stay at hotels a lot. This hotel severely disappointed me. Given the location (out of the centre) and the price charged (hotel control) then this does not represent value for money for the traveller to Canada who does not have a car. On my stay the shuttle was advised as only in the morning (early) and collection in the evening. Further I had been riding a motorcycle throughout the USA and was traveling reasonably lightly (four day rotation) and they have no guest laundry. I think that this is the only Holiday Inn that I have stayed in which does not have this so my advice is that you need to check this. Offer was dry cleaning or the address of a laundry almost in town. (taxi $10.00 ride each way). So $20.00 + laundry cost. Room is clean and functioned well with decent size (I had a King special package). Road noise on the double highway (freeway + highway) was noticeable. Breakfast was a zoo with water on the floor, dirty sticky chair and plates on tables with only one busy attendant on the floor. I realised a little later that this was a self clean affair as guests were expected to take their dirty dishes (paper rubbish sic) to a McDonalds type gabage flap (2off). I got 'fresh' eggs by luck and they were warm as was the bacon. The choices all had the high sugar content expected in NA. What really surprised me was the plastic cutlery capped off with paper plates (for everything). Try cutting the bacon or bread. Coffee was ok albeit I have had a lot of difficulty finding good coffee in North America and it was the 'normal' Luke warm. So 'free' breakfast as some reviewers have stated is a dubious outlook. limited options but enough of what was there. No fridge in my room and the Internet was variable and 'free' (included in the tariff). Taxi to hotel from train station was $30.00 plus tip and I was advised that it was $20.00+ to old city. this hotel is situated just off a major freeway so great if you are a traveller with kids and a vehicle not intending to spend any great amount of time in the city at night etc. overall not value for money for the solo and marginally so for a couple (50yo+).

Room Tip: Stay off the road side. Get out early. Airconditioning in room is effective but fan is loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike_R2600-oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExpressQuebec, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy), responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear guest,

We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is disappointing you did not enjoy your overall experience. Please note that all our rooms have a mini-refrigerator located in the bathroom. Please feel free to use it next time you stay with us.

It's unfortunate that the highway caused you disagreements because the number of great sleeps had in these rooms far outweighs the number of guests who did not have a comfortable night.

We are sorry that you experienced a crowded breakfast time. We are always looking for ways to improve our guest experience.

We hope to see you again and meet your requirements.

Sincerely,
Jane Ann Luckerhoff
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We were only 5 miles from Quebec City. What is so good about this hotel is they have shuttle service to downtown and no valet parking. The beds are pillowtop and really comfy, I slept like a baby. It has a refrigerator and free internet. The staff is friendly and the room was kept very neat. It is very close to highways, but rooms are soundproof. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and away from traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExpressQuebec, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy), responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Lorraineh653,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed our helpful staff, hotel,location and our facilities.

Hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Jane Ann Luckerhoff
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights on a business trip and couldn't have been happier with the hotel. The overall condition was very good and the customer service very friendly. The rooms have nice hardwood floors and the decor was modern. Breakfast was hot with the normal fare but was kept cleaned and items on bar was always full. Would stay again if in the area.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExpressQuebec, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy), responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear BruceB,

Wow! Thank you for your perfect review of our hotel. I'm so delighted to hear you were so happy with your stay and our staff. Customer service is a value that we take to heart and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Jane Ann Luckerhoff
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

i am giving 3 stars because it was a bit overpriced at CAD $213 for one room and another for more that we also had. The breakfast wasn't good at all as the eggs were kind of cold and there was no hash browns or potatoes, just ham/pork which i don't eat. Room was big though with nice mattresses and very very clean bathroom. Just lower the price and improve the breakfast, given teh money charged not a great value - but it's Quebec in the summer I suppose. Also, one room was not available until 3pm.. yes I knwo that's standard policy but I always almost ahve any room ready by noon or 1pm at any hotel I've been

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank North T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExpressQuebec, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy), responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear North T,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is greatly appreciated. We are happy to read you enjoyed our rooms and service. Please let us know what items you require for breakfast and we can see if we have everything in stock. We do offer a large variety of choices to suit every taste. Pancakes, oatmeal, fresh fruit, yogurts, muffins, etc. are available every morning.

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Jane Ann Luckerhoff
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Best of three hotels we stayed inQQuebec. Going back again this fall. Great French restaurant next door. Free shuttle downtown. New rooms. Nice front desk people. Great American breakfast.Easy to find and get to if ur driving to Quebec from the south.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leonard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExpressQuebec, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy), responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Leonard D,

Thank you for your kind comments and positive feedback.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you soon this Fall.

Kind regards,

Jane Ann Luckerhoff
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had a suite in the new wing that was a contemporary design. Everything was new. The only problem was the floor was bare. There were no rugs. It was laminate wood flooring. Be sure to bring your slippers. The major issue I had with this hotel was the breakfast. I chose it over the Best Western next door because it offered the free breakfast. It is not anywhere near the quality of the Hilton chain breakfasts. There was no hot oatmeal or fresh fruit or waffle maker or English muffins. The cereals were all sugar cereals. If you are used to the Hilton chain breakfasts or shop at Whole Foods you will also be disappointed especially after paying $190 for the room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExpressQuebec, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy), responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear JoeD,

Thank you for your review. We are very proud of our brand new contemporary rooms. I will take note of your comments concerning the rug and transfer the information to housekeeping department.

Concerning breakfast, we offer many options. A pancake machine and hot oatmeal is available every morning, it's part of our IHG standards. We also offer yogurts, fresh fruit, muffins, different variety of bagels, bread and plenty of hot items like eggs, sausages, bacon, etc.

We hope you can visit us again and try once again our breakfast.

Kind regards,
Jane Ann Luckerhoff
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel l'Aristocrate
3.5 mi away
Hotel Cofortel
Hotel Cofortel
#24 of 102 in Quebec City
566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sepia
Hotel Sepia
#23 of 102 in Quebec City
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Quebec Resort
4.8 mi away
Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec
Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec
#19 of 102 in Quebec City
885 reviews
5.1 mi away
Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy)

Address: 3145 Avenues Des Hotels, Quebec City, Quebec G1W 3Z7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#27 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#28 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £76 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy) 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sainte Foy Hotel Near Quebec City Attractions and Businesses Modern style and friendly service unite in this Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Sainte Foy in Quebec City, conveniently located 10 km from Aeroport Jean Lesage (YQB) and .5 km from the Gare de Ste Foy train station. Exciting attractions, such as Aquarium de Quebec and Musee National des Beaux Arts du Quebec, are only a short drive from our hotel in Sainte Foy. You can explore Quebec City's history and visit the historic Pont de Quebec (Quebec Bridge) a few kilometers from our accommodations near Quebec City, or relax on the beaches of the St. Lawrence river at Parc de la Plage Jacques-Cartier. Business travelers will love our hotel's proximity to area businesses like Ernst & Young, PricewaterhouseCoopers, Olympus NDT Canada, Laval University and Chul Hospital. Quebec City Convention Centre is a short drive from our Sainte Foy hotel. While lodging in Quebec City, you can utilize our meeting room, free, high-speed, wireless Internet access and 24-hour business centre. Our well-appointed accommodations near Quebec City go beyond other Quebec City hotels to offer you premium amenities, such as a complimentary hot breakfast that is served daily. Relax in the whirlpool and workout in the fitness centre each day after a good night's rest in a triple-sheeted bed. Call today to make your reservation at this state-of-the-art Sainte Foy hotel near Quebec City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy) Hotel Quebec City
Quebec City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing