We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great suites in fabulous location”
Review of L'Hotel Port-Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
L'Hotel Port-Royal
Ranked #30 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great suites in fabulous location”
Reviewed 21 January 2012

I love the Port-Royal suites. It's always my go-to hotel in Quebec when I'm with the kids. The suites are lovely, most with fireplaces and sofa-beds. The kitchens are ok, some have older appliances. But exposed brick walls, stone wall features, restored old-style windows give the whole place wonderful french flair. And It's located inside the fortification, next to tons of great restaurant.
I noticed that most of the hotel will soon be converted to condos that will be rented as tourist accommodations, which really made me sad. Hopefully the hotel will stay afloat...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dafeist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    293
    74
    37
    15
See reviews for
223
371
18
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Level Contributor
169 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Le Port Royal was wonderful in every way! I only wish we could've stayed longer!
We had the deluxe suite for 2 people and it was like a roomy, elegant, chic apartment! Wooden floors, painted brick walls, trendy decorations, and a petite full kitchen for cooking and dining were a part of this perfect package!
Plus, there was enough space to waltz and work since there was a large work desk too!
We had a package with breakfast included and oh what a fine breakfast! We ordered the eggs Benedict served on a croissant and the African plate and they were outstanding!!! The restaurant was very impressive in style and in excellence of cuisine!
The gym was also very nice!
We had drinks in the bar and it was cozy, warm, and romantic!i cannot recommend more Le Port Royal!!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amyjemesouviens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We stayed here a few weeks ago for 2 nights and booked directly with the hotel. The lobby is pretty small, but the rooms are fabulous. We had a room on the 2nd floor, it has a massive bed, exposed brick walls and the original windows and hardware were still entact to give it that authentic feeling.

The bathroom was massive and had a great deep bath along with more than enough towels etc. The kitchenette that comes with the room is usefull as well, the only thing we were confused by was trying to find the dishwashing liquid and cloth to wash up our glasses, but we did notice it after the fact. So all you need is there, cutlery, glasses, plates etc.

This is not some crappy apartment, it was nicer than most people's condos quite honestly. The day staff where pretty helpful and the restaurant on the main level called Le 48 had amazing food and not any pricier than the surrounding restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancesFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
366 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Le Port-Royal is a condominium/hotel. Accommodations include ample living-dinette-office space, kitchenette, separate bedroom, and bath. Located a stone's throw from first-class Lower Town restaurants -- Le 48 St-Paul, SSS, L'Echaude, Toast!, Laurie Raphael, Initiale, Bistro du Cap -- you get the idea. A 5-minute walk to Lower Town essentials -- Petit Champlain, Place Royale, Notre-Dame-des-Victoires, the funicular, Museum of Civilization -- and a 15-minute walk to Upper Town sites.

Room Tip: Select room opening onto Rue St-Pierre or St-Paul to minimize traffic noise from Rue Dalhousie and Q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank D N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

The hotel is in the Old Port sector and is well located to see all of the old city and attractions. It is within walking distance of the station and with the fixed price option on taxis to the airport not badly placed in this regard.
We had a small room and it was very good but a little cramped. The other rooms are much better and we know from friends who recommended it that the suites are very good. Despite the smallness of the room there was enough space to move freely about and to enjoy our "le bonheure" in the room.
The restaurant next door is very good although on our first morning for breakfast we had to wait a while (it was a holiday weekend). The food was very good and the eggs cooked perfectly.
Service was excellent. We needed to print some documents and fax material back to Australia and the hotel accommodated this need extremely well. When we asked about getting help there was no hesitation to accept a role in support.
We would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petsaloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

I am presently staying at the Hotel Port-Royal Suites and am enjoying myself immensely. I'm travelling on my own, so have a smaller unit in the building - 3rd floor corner looks out over the square - view of water feature, restaurants, etc. is excellent! Bed is comfortable, all amenities are included in the little kitchenette for wining and dining, so if you don't feel like eating out, make yourself at home right here! Full-size microwave, glass cook-top 2-burner, coffee (tea?!!) maker, dishes and all - have a gourmet meal in your room and put your feet up!
Housekeeping staff is good, but not excellent - most importantly, it's a nice, quiet location away from the bustling crowds - great for a good night's sleep. I highly recommend it! Good value for your $$$! Bon soir!

Room Tip: 3rd floor (top) is great - quiet - view from the end unit (308B) - big enough for 1 or 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justjennifernow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Just left this hotel after a two-night stay. The hotel is very nice with multiple restaurants located on sight. We had breakfast each morning at the restaurant closest to the lobby: excellent coffee and good food with reasonable (for Quebec city) prices. Our room [208a] was very large with a nice size kitchen, a desk area, a dining room table, and a king size bed. We truly enjoyed the clean very modern conveniences. The only negative is that the bathroom was a little small with the toilet in an awkward position. Nonetheless, I would rate this place great with at least a 4 out of 5 rating. Most importantly, it is one of the few affordable nice hotels in the old town. Granted, the location is in the lower part of old town next to the cruise port.

Room Tip: No supermarket nearby. If arriving by car, shop before you arrive. Also, prices are outrageous in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueangel1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
0.1 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palace Royal
Hotel Palace Royal
#33 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hotel Port-Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotel Port-Royal

Property: L'Hotel Port-Royal
Address: 144 rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8N8, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#19 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#25 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#30 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hotel Port-Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern Old Quebec hotel is a 5-minute walk from the Notre Dame de Quebec Cathedral and 2 blocks from the Museum of Civilization. It features on-site dining. A full kitchen with oven, stovetop, and refrigerator is part of each suite at Hotel Port-Royal. Hardwood in all the suites. The living area is furnished with a sofa and cable TV. Free Wi-Fi is provided. In the morning, guests can have elaborated continental breakfast at the Pub du Vieux port or delivered to their room if requested. The contemporary Pub du Vieux port boasts stone walls and plenty of seating. The Citadelle of Quebec is within a 15-minute walk of the Port-Royal Hotel. The shore of the Saint Lawrence River is only 1 block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Hotel Port-Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Port-Royal Quebec City
L'Hotel Port-Royal Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing