We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location EVER!”
Review of L'Hotel Port-Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
L'Hotel Port-Royal
Ranked #31 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2012

My partner and I promised each other that we would write a review on this hotel because everything was great in every way. But what was the best thing, was the location. It's so close to everything - the port, restaurants, les pleines d'Abraham, le château Frontenac, shopping, etc. Plus, it's right next to a gaz station! Not to mention that it's SUPER easy to get to the hotel from the highway - you don't have to go through all the little narrow confusing streets like in upper old Québec city.

With that being said, the hotel is located in the lower part of old Québec city and to be honest, I liked it better than being in the upper part (I stayed in the upper part a few times before). It's better because it's quietter. Also, when you visit old Québec, you'll find that there's A LOT of walking and A LOT of stairs. When you stay in the lower part, after you had all your fun and when it's later in the day, it's easier to go down the stairs rather than up!

The hotel itself is awesome! It's cute, comfy, the staff is nice and helpful, the decor is modern, no weird smells, it's very clean and well maintained. The room we stayed in looked like a condo/bachelor. There was lots of room, a kitchenette, a dining area, a couch and of course, a queen size bed (really comfy).

The only down part was that the people that were staying in the room above us had children. We could hear them running around at 6 AM... So the room ceilings and floors arent very sound proof!

The price is right for Québec city! I don't think you'll find something better for that amount of mula.

If we go back to Québec city, we will definately stay there again. But, this time, we'll make sure to be on the top floor!

Room Tip: Top floor is better if you don't want to hear people walking around.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ve_Lu_Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (805)
There are newer reviews for L'Hotel Port-Royal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 805 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2012

Within a short walk from the cruise ship terminal this little hotel offers nice, clean and comfortable suites at a good price for Quebec City. Our suite was a mid-level suite on the second floor that was large and had a small, well-equipped kitchenette which provided extra value. The lobby is small and there are not a lot of extras but everything was bright, clean and efficient. The rooms vary in size and function but are well-maintained and very clean with large TVs, desk, free wi-fi and good-size bathrooms.
In addition to being close to the cruise docks it is a short walk to the farmers market which is a must-see and offers craft beers and local wines. There is lots of good shopping in the area and it is not far to walk to the main Lower-Town sites, shopping and restaurants. We found it to be an excellent place to stay and to have as a base of operation to enjoy the best of old Quebec City. We also felt very safe in the area.
The hotel is small so book ahead and look for special rates through the Internet.

Room Tip: North-facing rooms have a nice view of the small plaza and fountain as well as Old Quebec, especiall...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelOshawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Tiny hallways, small closed in elevator and poor lighting were a concern with surprise steps making it a bit dangerous at times. Everything re-modelled but still rather dark. Good location for restaurants and Old Quebec.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank worktotravel092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We LOVED this hotel for many reasons. It is the absolute best location for sightseeing in Old Quebec City; the rooms are eclectic and modern and beautiful. But the best reason of all is the INCREDIBLE staff!!! We had a mishap - I'd booked Le Port-Royal via an online booking service, and accidentally put in the dates for the weekend prior to our arrival. Soooo - we had no reservation for the days we were actually in Quebec (yikes!). The staff managed to provide us a fabulous room for the night of our arrival, but were fully booked for the following night. I got up the next morning and went downstairs to use the house computer to find another hotel, but the task had already been done for us by the staff! They had been researching nearby hotels and found us a room just up the street on the Rue de Saint-Paul! When we made the move to the new hotel, we inadvertently left behind a piece of luggage at Le Port-Royal. Before we knew it was missing, the bellman from Le Port-Royal walked it all the way down the street to the give it to us at the new hotel! Service was above and beyond, and I recommend this wonderful hotel to anyone and everyone!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babs_GP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Our family of 3 had recently finished a cruise from New York and we were looking for a hotel close to the port.Well what a godsend this hotel was.With rain falling and a mother in-law in a wheelchair it was great to only have to go a few hundred metres to the sanctity of the hotel.The rooms are large and have all you need.Great selection of restaurants within walking distance.The staff could not have been more helpful and ensured our stay in this most wonderful city was a memorable one.One of the highlites was a welcoming choir of four girls in costume singing in French.A lovely welcome.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnW1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Four couples in our group stayed at Le Port-Royal recently and all were very impressed with our spacious well appointed rooms. Rooms had dishes, glasses and untensils with range and small frig. We didn't use our kitchens because the local quaint restaurants were so inviting ...and really good. Le Port-Royal hotels classical large stone and wood contruction gives you the feeling of being in a castle. There's a nice bar and restaurant connected to the hotel. The bar had live entertainment the night we were there that was quite good. We booked online and got an excellent rate too. Excellent location in lower Quebec City will provide you an excellent launching point for city exploration. Would not hesitate to return to Le Port-Royal.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

I arrived quite late after and evening arrival in Quebec City, and check-in was very quick. My first room, 203b, was quite adequate - comfortable queen sized bed, well stocked bathroom and a bay window . . overlooking the gas station next door! Though convenient for picking up supplies, it was quite noisy during the night. I asked that night if there was the possibility of changing to the front of the hotel (as I was staying for another three nights) and was advised to ask again in the morning. This I did, and was invited to look at a room on the first floor, 101, looking outwards to the front of the hotel and towards the Old City. The new room was incredible - a definite upgrade! King sized bed, full kitchen with island bench, microwave and dishwasher, sitting area, large work desk and bathroom. There was plenty of space with a real feel of luxury. The hotel was very conveniently located in the port area, almost across from the Image Mill. It was walkable to both the Lower and Upper Towns, close to plenty of lovely restaurants, antique shops, galleries and boutique shops and the Gare du Palais. The hotel staff were most helpful in offering advice regarding bookings for tours, and especially in the assistance and willingness in changing rooms. My few days in Quebec City were amazing - the city surpassed all my expectations. This was definitely assisted by this superb accommodation at Hotel Port-Royal. Thanks you for such wonderful memories - I will most certainly return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel - a beautiful view. My room was above one of the bars and I...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maree1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 102 in Quebec City
1,369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#11 of 102 in Quebec City
1,708 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#34 of 102 in Quebec City
2,776 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palace Royal
Hotel Palace Royal
#36 of 102 in Quebec City
754 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hotel Port-Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotel Port-Royal

Address: 144 rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8N8, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#19 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#25 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#30 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £102 - £572 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hotel Port-Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern Old Quebec hotel is a 5-minute walk from the Notre Dame de Quebec Cathedral and 2 blocks from the Museum of Civilization. It features on-site dining. A full kitchen with oven, stovetop, and refrigerator is part of each suite at Hotel Port-Royal. Hardwood in all the suites. The living area is furnished with a sofa and cable TV. Free Wi-Fi is provided. In the morning, guests can have elaborated continental breakfast at the Pub du Vieux port or delivered to their room if requested. The contemporary Pub du Vieux port boasts stone walls and plenty of seating. The Citadelle of Quebec is within a 15-minute walk of the Port-Royal Hotel. The shore of the Saint Lawrence River is only 1 block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your L'Hotel Port-Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Port-Royal Quebec City
L'Hotel Port-Royal Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing