We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was ok”
Review of L'Hotel Port-Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
L'Hotel Port-Royal
Ranked #30 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It was ok”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Hotel's location is a bit of walk to the heart of Quebec area. We stayed in a deluxe suite so the rooms weren't too bad, bathroom though small, but it was nicely decorated. Wifi was free but the signal was very poor inside the room. Hotel's interiors need some sprucing, age was showing in the corridors and lobby. Overall it was ok.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABHINAV G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    293
    74
    37
    15
See reviews for
223
371
18
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We stayed here for five days off season. Coming from CT, we checked in late. The service desk provided us with a cart and we wheeled our luggage into the room. The first room was spacious but we soon found out it was muggy, the sink did not drain, and the fridge was broken (it was generating heat, really).

We addressed the issue the next night (the fridge was the last straw) with the front desk and were quickly accommodated. They switched us into another room that was beautiful--except the door did not work properly. You had to make sure it was pulled tightly into its sweet spot which required extra force. Lastly, the deadbolt did not work. The man, Guy, that helped us was extremely helpful and kind--he came back to address the door and told us no one would be able to force it open even without the deadbolt and he even brought us ice water from the bar.

However, not everyone was kind. Some of the front desk staff can be quite cold while other employees were warm. Housekeeping will always say hi and smile. They also promptly changed our sheets when requested.

When you come in they give you a free drink ticket for the bar next door. It's for a specific cocktail --which is fine. However, both bartenders were rude. We wanted a certain drink and were fine paying for it but they weren't friendly. They didn't acknowledge us or had any awareness of the liquors they stocked (we asked what whiskeys they carried and were promptly told just to read the menu--there were only three people at the bar other than us).

Across the hall you will find Le 48 which is a gem! It's not your usual hotel restaurant where the food is over priced and average tasting. You get innovative dishes for a reasonable price and everyone on staff is spectacular! We tried breakfast, lunch, and dinner on different days and were never disappointed. The service is always five star even if there's a line out the door.

The hotel is located in a wonderful spot. You can walk out the door and the port is your backyard. Parking is outdoors and we would imagine it being difficult during peak season since the lot is limited. $15 a day parking really is a steal for peace of mind. Laurie Raphael is an amazing dining experience and it's right across the street.

We rated this place average because we loved the location and the restaurant. The rooms are cozy and offer a kitchen with pots and pans. However, half the staff can be rude and the rooms really need maintenance before the season begins. For folks that are sensitive to the smell of gasoline there is a gas station next door. The smell rushes in if you open the window, nothing you can do, just close the window. The walls are also thin.

We made some friends and are planning a trip back in August/Sept. Before the stay, we thought it was steal when we found it online for $130 a night. After our stay, we're convinced we overpaid.

Not sure if we would stay here again or recommend it unless the hotel price drops.

Room Tip: Third floor is sunny and you don't need to worry about footsteps. Second floor is dim and yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Everything was magnificent, except 3 things. English is very limited , construction in the room next door at literally 6:30 Am, laying hardwood. And the last but not least, the floors are very squeaky even the bed. Don't be surprised to hear your neighbor walk around or get intimate, the walls are not thick at all.

Only downfalls though, the 2 dining locations on site are wonderful for breakfast lunch dinner. You can beat price for location. I'd go back in a second regardless of the negatives!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeTravelsTooMuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sicklerville, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We stayed a couple days here and we were very satisfied with the experience. The parking lot outside is relatively small, though there were a few open spots. The front desk was friendly and accommodating to our limited French and even spoke to us in English which was very helpful.

Our room was on the First Floor, which is actually the second floor and overlooked the neighboring gas station and mini-mart. But as a hotel in the city what can you expect? The room was very well equipped and even came with a little kitchenette area (fridge, stovetop, sink). The decor was relatively new and the brick/stone wall added some unique character to the room. Space was tight, but given the size and location of the hotel, that's what I would have expected.

The road noise was a bit loud, and there was a little bit of a repetitive clicking noise through the night (not sure what from), but for the price we paid, this Hotel was a great value.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 268ChrisH268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

This hotel was recommended by friends and I wasn't disappointed. Its located near the port and The Rue St. Paul, which is a charming shopping street. Very nice staff and varied hotel rooms. The restaurant in the hotel is worth checking out.

Room Tip: The rooms are all very different so the choice of room can make a difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontrealNetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Where to begin? At the beginning, I suppose.

When we arrived at our room, it was not at all how it looked on the website. It was small and dark and the exposed pipes made my young son nervous (I think he was expecting spiders to be dropping off them, or something).

One of the lights did not work. The sofa bed had food remnants (nuts) in it. When we moved a notepad on the desk, we discovered that the desk was damaged. I went to reception and told them and then when I went back upstairs, I moved the phone to put a bag there and discovered another hole. There were also hairs on the bathroom floor and the utensils in the kitchen were a bit dirty.

The next morning, we left the "do not change sheets" card on the bed, but on the second and third mornings we did not. The sheets were still not changed. The room was also a bit noisy, as we could often hear people above and beside us making noise.

I can't say it as terrible, but it was certainly not good, either and it definitely did not match the impression we got from the website. From the other comments posted here, I am left thinking that there is a tremendous difference in the quality of the various rooms.

I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We rented a suite and did not regret one second!
Everything is perfect.
Clean, well located in petit champlain sector. wi fi is free but costs for parking.
I loved the view, we could see chateau frontenac . best location in an historical building. The fireplace was absolutely wonderful. We would return to this hotel anytime! Bell person and reception people very nice.Overall great service! Congradulation

Room Tip: suites are incredible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
0.1 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palace Royal
Hotel Palace Royal
#32 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hotel Port-Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotel Port-Royal

Property: L'Hotel Port-Royal
Address: 144 rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8N8, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#19 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#25 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#30 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hotel Port-Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern Old Quebec hotel is a 5-minute walk from the Notre Dame de Quebec Cathedral and 2 blocks from the Museum of Civilization. It features on-site dining. A full kitchen with oven, stovetop, and refrigerator is part of each suite at Hotel Port-Royal. Hardwood in all the suites. The living area is furnished with a sofa and cable TV. Free Wi-Fi is provided. In the morning, guests can have elaborated continental breakfast at the Pub du Vieux port or delivered to their room if requested. The contemporary Pub du Vieux port boasts stone walls and plenty of seating. The Citadelle of Quebec is within a 15-minute walk of the Port-Royal Hotel. The shore of the Saint Lawrence River is only 1 block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your L'Hotel Port-Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Port-Royal Quebec City
L'Hotel Port-Royal Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing