We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royally pleased”
Review of L'Hotel Port-Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
L'Hotel Port-Royal
Ranked #30 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
So Cal
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Royally pleased”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Since we were about to board a cruise ship, we chose this hotel only a block from the cruise port. Did not expect all the other perks. The location could not have been better for sight seeing. Large room with a kitchenette. Clean, pleasant staff. Internet.
LOVED IT. Restaurant adjacent was expensive and nothing to write home about. But there are many others nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoCalSailors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    297
    75
    38
    15
See reviews for
224
377
18
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Great location just below vieux ville, huge rooms, some with kitchens and separate bedrooms. Very friendly staff and onsite parking for reasonable rates (a must in this neighborhood). Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank breukelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I was only able to enjoy one night at this hotel as I was leaving on a cruise the next day. But, if I ever find myself back in Quebec I will stay there again. The rooms are large, have very comfy beds and a fully stocked kitchen-net. I had a corner room with a view of the street but it was very quiet. The building looked old and they did a great job of bring the old and new together in the interior design. There is a pub in the building and outside dining.It is with in walking distance of the cruise pier, only if you don't have to carry heavy suitcases.

Room Tip: corner room was L shaped and roomy except at the end of the bed, close to the wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Three of us stayed two nights at Le-Port Royal on a visit to Quebec City and I don't think we could have found a better place to stay. The rooms are large and great for up to four people The building is very old but yet very modern. We felt like we were in Paris! I think the building had at one time been renovated as condominiums and those condos are now hotel rooms with kitchenettes. Parking was no problem and internet worked great.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This hotel is perfect for "night before a cruise" because it is within walking distance of the cruise port. It is a unique old building that has been renovated into suites. The rooms are large and it is very clean. The desk staff was very helpful in suggesting places to eat and in giving directions.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Senior2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level Contributor
207 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Staff were very helpful - especially "Charles" a member of the porter staff. When we got there - he moved the car from a side street, unloaded it completely and touched base with us intermittently during our stay. When our toilet kept filling - he even came by to see if he could help! Even the plumber had problems with it - but was pleasant and professional. We did have a "noise" problem from outside on Saturday night - but otherwise our stay was good. We didn't need to use the car once while we were there - we walked everywhere - the location is that good! Lovely view of the castle from our window.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Anne32825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lihue, Hawaii
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed three nites here and loved the close vicinity to Old Quebec. We walked this part of the city daily, discovering the best little shops, cafes, restaurants and historical sites. Just accross the street is Le Brigantine Bistro--had our best meal there...and down the street a bit is Toast, the fancy, but unique and delicious dining experience you won't want to miss. And a cross from the little Notre Dame church is a fabulous place to get a latte and macaroons...just like the ones we loved in Paris. The room we had looked brand new...very modern and spacious. The only bad part was our room overlooked the gas station--which we could live with, but the garbage trucks collected the garbage on that street early in the morning--so very hard to sleep in. But that was okay, because I love to get up early and exercise. There was a small fitness room--lacked air conditioning and saniwipes for the equipment (the elliptical had no plug so there was just a treadmill, bench, free weights, and one pc of equipment with cables). Because the fitness room was such a disappointment, I gave the hotel a 4--I really love using the fitness center when I travel and see it as a huge perk; This one was used to store sound equipment so no more than 2 people could really get a work out there at the same time.

Still, the hotel room was big, the bed very comfortable, extra pillows, and the maid always made it comfy for us. We loved that we did not have to put a deposit down when we booked. The pub downstairs served popcorn with drinks in the late afternoon--hit the spot. And the best service--the staff used their personal cars to haul our luggage (there were about 12 of us in our group) to the port where we boarded the NCL ship Dawn. Hard to beat that! Would come back here again, but would not want to be on the gas station side of the hotel--dumpsters are noisy!

Room Tip: Our friends were right above the pub and could not sleep. The left side of the hotel is noisy becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincessPoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 102 in Quebec City
1,266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 102 in Quebec City
2,023 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palace Royal
Hotel Palace Royal
#33 of 102 in Quebec City
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#9 of 102 in Quebec City
1,639 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#10 of 102 in Quebec City
1,114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hotel Port-Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotel Port-Royal

Property: L'Hotel Port-Royal
Address: 144 rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8N8, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#19 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#25 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#30 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hotel Port-Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern Old Quebec hotel is a 5-minute walk from the Notre Dame de Quebec Cathedral and 2 blocks from the Museum of Civilization. It features on-site dining. A full kitchen with oven, stovetop, and refrigerator is part of each suite at Hotel Port-Royal. Hardwood in all the suites. The living area is furnished with a sofa and cable TV. Free Wi-Fi is provided. In the morning, guests can have elaborated continental breakfast at the Pub du Vieux port or delivered to their room if requested. The contemporary Pub du Vieux port boasts stone walls and plenty of seating. The Citadelle of Quebec is within a 15-minute walk of the Port-Royal Hotel. The shore of the Saint Lawrence River is only 1 block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your L'Hotel Port-Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Port-Royal Quebec City
L'Hotel Port-Royal Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing